We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda la Esperanza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda la Esperanza
Save
You added Hacienda la Esperanza to your Saves list
Barrio Titichon en Copan Ruinas, Copan 504, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #1 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
“It's about people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Staying at Hacienda la Esperanza was like staying with friends or family for us. Rodger made us feel at home from the first moment on. Everything easy and relaxed.
My impression was: It's about people, not money. You pay a fair price for wounderful accommodation and food, and the money you spend goes to a hospital that helps local children for free. In otherwords: It's a place full of good vibration :).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi Mr.T,

I use that name because the guidelines of Trip Advisor tell us not to use your real name, so I just want to thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, it is not about the money. It is about making our guests feel like they have made a new friend rather than just stayed at some Bed and Breakfast.

We are driven to do our best for our clients because so much depends on it. Blessings to you and your family. I hope we see you again.

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
44
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A couple of friends rode their motorcycles from Mexico and the US to visit me in Honduras this past month. They are fantastic hosts when I ride to their countries so I wanted to show them a special time while in Honduras. Of course hotel selection was crucial and Hacienda La Esperanza did not disappoint. Rodger´s hospitality is unmatched. It is really like being part of the family. Beautiful property plus you get the best breakfast and homemade bread in Copan. Like the title says we only wish we could have stayed more days. If you are looking for a special place to stay while in Copan this is it. If theme hotels are your idea of special then there´s a Clarion right in front of the ruins.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hello mi amigo,

The only person, other than yourself who wanted you to stay more days than you did, was us.

You guys were great. TA does not allow me to say your names, but please tell the others in your party that we enjoyed them staying with us as much as you enjoyed visiting with us. I have always said that a stranger/guest is just a friend that you haven't met yet, and you proved it.

We will always remember you and I hope we see you again on your next visit to Copan.

Keep your lumber stacked neatly and be sure to keep dat bike between the ditches! Varooooom!

Your friend,

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

For the best in hospitality, delicious food, authenticity, and to bring additional meaningfulness to your time in Copan, stay at Hacienda la Esperanza. This B&B operates as a non-profit in partnership with the adjacent medical clinic and your stay helps fund this important work. Rodger is deeply invested in the Copan community and has a wealth of information and insight to share. We appreciated the tranquility and beautiful surroundings of the property while also being within walking distance of downtown. We immediately felt at home here and were welcomed with warmth and generosity in the homelike atmosphere. The rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed our time spent here as much as our time exploring the Copan area; it is not simply a place to sleep. Our only regret was not staying longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Ms "C"

Thanks so much for the great review. It means a lot to us to know that we have pleased you. If there is anything you ever need from us please do not hesitate to call. If in your future travels around the sun, you ever find your self on a course, to our part of the world, please know that you are truly a welcomed, and honored guest.

Blessings,

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have nothing but wonderful things to say about Hacienda la Esperanza and its owners, Rodger and Suyapa. First, its location is nice because is far enough away from the town center so that you don't get the noise and commotion, but close enough to walk there in a few minutes. The grounds are impeccable and gorgeous, as is the Spanish colonial-style house where we stayed. Our room was well appointed and the bed was comfortable. Breakfasts were wonderful - bowls of fresh fruit, eggs, beans, and juices. Aside from its layout, location, and food being ideal for us, the real value of this place is the incredible generosity of its owners. Rodger happily drove us around town, took us to a rural village, and generally went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. We felt like guests, not customers, and this really made a difference. Lastly, we appreciated the fact that our stay helped support the non-profit health clinic down the road, which Rodger founded and now serves as a critical component of the community there. We brought toys and stuffed animals for the children they serve. We highly recommend this place and hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for the kind review of the Hacienda. Since TA will not allow me to say your name I will just say how please we were to have you visit with us, and how much fun it was to take you into the mountains to the village.

Please, know that the clinic is doing well and we have a new doctor and that your vacation dollars went to a great cause. Just this last week we had a dia of compassion ( free clinic) and we treated many of the people you met in the mountains village for free. I only wish you could have been with us to see the good you created just by stopping by for a short visit.

If you ever find your way back down to our part of the world please know that you will be welcomed back , not only our guest, but as good friends as well.

Blessings,

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I chose this place mainly because of the mission, but I love it for many other reasons. I've never stayed at a B&B where the owners seem so genuinely excited to have guests - as Roger told me, most of their guests tend to be medical personnel and volunteers, so it's a bit of a big deal when they have guest-guests. Every time we mentioned we were going somewhere, Roger drove us, without charge, and even gave us his cell number and offered to pick us up if we had a hard time getting a cab back (we never did, but still so nice of him). Our first afternoon, after returning from the bird park, Roger showed us around and offered us a cup of coffee thinking they had some made. When they didn't, his wife made a pot and offered us a snack, and Roger gave us a bag of the coffee (which he imports to the US to raise money for the clinic) as a souvenir. Breakfast was so delicious and huge - each night they asked us what time we wanted breakfast and if we had any special requests. Also, I love a hot, strong shower, and this shower almost left me a melted mess plastered on the wall (I mean that entirely as a good thing).

Some things to know: The windows in the bedrooms are basically screens with slats, which seemed to be the norm in most of the places we stayed in Honduras, but with the layout of the hotel could make romance awkward. All of the furniture and bedding are perfectly nice, but not by any means luxurious. They have Wifi, but neither of us were ever able to fully connect to it, and Roger didn't seem very tech savvy for troubleshooting - we ended up checking email over coffee and dessert at Cafe Welchez in town. We didn't find any of these things to be deal-breakers, but I think it's good to know what to expect.

Don't worry about the place being outside of town - it's a very easy walk if you're so inclined, and taxis are very cheap (usually US$1-2), easy to either catch on the street or find at the town square, and all know where the clinic is (which shares the same entrance as the hotel).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear "Guest guest",

Thanks so much for the kind review. It was great to serve you, and to make new friends. I say "guest guest" because I can't say your real names because TA does not allow it.

I am glad that you had such a great experience and I appreciate you pointing out the problems with the internet. We are and I guess will always be a work in progress, but we do listen to our guests and do everything in our power to make their stay as great as possible.

I talked to one of our volunteers who just so happens to be an Internet specialist about what you said about the slow wifi, and when he arrived he brought with him a bunch of signal amplifiers to improve our signal, so now the wifi problem seems to be solved.

He says part of the problem was the fact that the Hacienda is built too well. He pointed out that we used twice the amount of steel in the building than most people do, and so even though we are built to the highest standards, it has affected the quality of our wifi signal.

Anyway thanks for the tip and the advice and I hope that you two wonderful people can find your way back to visit us again.

Blessings,

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The building, the environment, the cause, everything is absolutely amazing, but Roger and his family are the true value of this hotel, they couldn't be better and make your stay more pleasant than they do. We left the place feeling homesick, we didn't want to leave, but I'm sure we will go back, this time to help and volunteer. The food is incredible, the best breakfast ever, the fountain in the middle makes your sleep so good you will never forget your stay there, the dogs are charming, i really loved staying there. We made new friends in hacienda la esperanza, i promise ill go back to pick up some more stones in rockolandia Roger!

Room Tip: For couples choose The Carlos room, is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Dimstar,

I know your real name but TA does not want us to say it. Just know that I remember you and your family, and that I sure hope you can find your way back to us again.

I hope all is going well with you. We found your child's shirt after you leftm and sent it back to you with a coworker who said we will get it to you. Thanks for sending them to us.

As I close this message I want you and your family to know that you will always be welcomed at the Hacienda La Esperanza. It is nice to have guests like you stay with us. Please let me know if you ever need any thing.

Blessings,

Rodger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is the best B&B we have seen in Honduras so far. The room is very clean, comfortable and country style. We like so much. Also, we are so impressed with the breakfast. it customized for me ,my husband and my little boy. My baby was so happy that he had his own set. The owner, Roger, is very friendly and gave us just what we need. I really recommend this B&B. And definitely will return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda la Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda la Esperanza

Address: Barrio Titichon en Copan Ruinas, Copan 504, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Esperanza (The hacienda of hope), the only bed and breakfast in all of Honduras, or perhaps the world, whose sole reason for existing is to help the indigenous poor of Honduras. Tourists who stay with us find that we are donating back 100% of all room revenues to support our medical clinic to treat the Mayan Chorti Indians of Central America, who are some of the poorest people on the planet. Indeed, Hacienda La Esperanza has a cause worth supporting. This Spanish Colonial Estate is a welcome relief for many travelers who come to Central America, and it is known for its incredible attention to detail. For example every component of the Hacienda had to be made by hand from authentic period materials From the hand crafted iron work, to the it lovely antique rustic furniture, you will feel as if transported back in time to the late part of 18th century Central America. As you look around you will discover that the Hacienda La Esperanza is filled with all sorts of period antiques, as well as original painting from some of the best artists in Honduras. Visitors are inspired by the peaceful setting of the Hacienda, and often remark about the way the way the world seems to take on a slower pace the moment they arrive. Abundant green vistas, lovely flowers, and numerous native birds, top off the picture perfect effect. With great attention to service, details, and a cause that helps others, you have the winning combination that defines the spirit of Hacienda La Esperanza. Ours is a mood of spirit, combined with a deep respect for our guests. The term "mi casa es su casa" is not a cliche at the Hacienda La Esperanza. We really mean it, and when you enter our gates you become a member of the family.. We care about your needs, and will do everything in our power to see that you are amazed and enchanted with everything about the Hacienda. The heart of the Hacienda is found in our Kitchen. Here we make the magic that you expect. Our breakfasts are famous, and our Honduras dishes and desserts will make your mouth water. All of our vegetables come either from our own organic gardens or from the local markets. All of our guests are free to enjoy our homemade bread at any time. Upon request we are always happy to brew you a cup of our special organic coffee that is grown in the mountains nearby. All of which is complimentary. If you seek, you will find that we are into wildlife and fauna. Here we value, and work in harmony with nature to bring an incredible experience to you. We are very popular with the birding set, and the Hacienda has been listed as a Central American hot spot with sighting of up to 36 different species of birds here on the estate grounds. We are located just outside of the town of Copan Ruinas. The walk into the town is 5 minutes and we offer complimentary rides to town as well as many of the sites. The advantage of this is the serene quietness and great sleep that our guests talk about. The entire Hacienda is enclosed private and gated, with secure parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda la Esperanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.