We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Footing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda la Esperanza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda la Esperanza
Save
You added Hacienda la Esperanza to your Saves list
Barrio Titichon en Copan Ruinas, Copan 504, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Ranked #1 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Solid Footing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When you travel a great deal, you meet and remember good people. This happened at Hacienda Esperanza with Rodger, who runs the place. He is such a character and such a storyteller--he is the perfect foil and fit for a morning breakfast chat before embarking into the timeless smile of Copan Ruinas. The facilities were modern and roomy. The doors were unique and secure. The fountain kept a soothing and methodical gurgle in the background. The breakfast by Siappa was homemade and delicious. The dog--Jack--barked a little too much for my taste in the night, but he was just doing his job on a Saturday night. And 100% of all room rentals go to support the medical clinic for the poor that is located on the premises. Copan is a marvelous place to visit, and you will be on solid footing when choosing to stay at Hacienda Esperanza

Room Tip: La Chacha was near the fountain and the bed was comfortable for my wife and me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
44
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Hacienda is a very cool place that has the look and feel of a step back in time. Difference being it has all the upgrades and conveniences of a modern building. Hot and cold water in shower and sink, which is rare in Central America. From the time we were met at the bus station, by Rodger, till the time we left if felt like visiting with family. We had our choice of breakfast content and the time we wanted to eat. Everything was great!! I have not had a better nights sleep in quite a while. It was very quiet and comfortable.
The fact that this B&B supports children care in Copan is also a great testiment to the owner and his commitment to the area. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone that is traveling to Copan Ruinas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My first time visiting Copan and it was awesome!!! Staying at Hacienda la Esperanza was very exciting- the place is very neat and organized, Roger and the girls were very attentive to us which made us feel at home all the time... The place it self has very unique lay out, clean, comfortable surroundings and extremely quit at night, makes you sleep like a baby the hole time your there. Delicious breakfast made by Rita and Yolani, (the girls that work there), with a good hot cup of Copan coffee. If you want a great place to stay, this is definately the one!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Could not ask for more- this is the place to stay in Copán. Apart from the perfect location- a tranquil walk into town, or a walk along the copán river (right next to the place), which you can follow up into the "sapos" walking or by horse, this place rocked for us. We had a great new year's stay, and the sincere care was great.
Ask Rodger to play a tune or two on guitar ans singing. You'll be pleasantly surprised!
Of course, it's great to stay where you know you're supporting paramedics for children and Clinica La Esperanza.
Until next time!!!
Jon

Room Tip: Just get in touch with them- since it is a "boutique" the rooms are few, special, and wel...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We really enjoyed Hacienda la Esperanza! it's a quiet, comfortable, clean bed and breakfast about a ten minute walk from town and about a five minute drive from the Copan ruins. The details in the rooms, and the Hacienda in general, are beautiful, with a focus on local materials and craftsmanship.
Roger and his staff couldn't be more helpful, and the location is great, because even though you're in a quiet place, surrounded by trees and birds, if you don't want to walk or drive somewhere, you can pick up a tiny "taxi" almost right outside the gate, and they are very inexpensive.
Knowing that the proceeds go to such a good cause is a big plus, too!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

La Hacienda is amazing. The food is delicious and plentiful. It was as if we had traveled back in time - to a much simpler and less hurried life. We were here the week after Christmas - the sites and sounds are all very typical of Honduras. You awake to rooters and birds in the mornings as well as the gentle breezes.

We too participated in some of the projects supported by Paramedics for Children. Our family went and planted fruit trees at the homes of some of the local indians. There are less expensive places to stay in Copan (and I have stayed in a couple of these places in years past) but there is no place more beautiful nor more congruent to it's surroundings than Hacienda La Esperanza!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxcritter, Owner at Hacienda la Esperanza, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Wendy,

Thanks for the kind review. I want you to know how very grateful we are for all the wonderful things you donated to the poor children of Honduras. You and your family are very special in so many ways. When I first came to Honduras it was to change the lives of the needy and poor only to find that it was "them" that changed me. You and your incredible family are now one of "those special guests who have made such a postive effect on my life through your demonstration of God's love for the poor children of Honduras. There will always be a place here for you and your family.

Blessings,

Rodger Harrison
Hacienda La Esperanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a wonderful, peaceful place and safe place to stay within a ten minute walk of downtown Copan. The staff are warm and welcoming, and the breakfast was delicious. They bake their own bread, and each guest is welcomed with a loaf on arrival. The rooms are spotless and well furnished. That in itself is enough to give Hacienda la Esperanza an excellent recommendation, but in addition to the quality of service is the true mission of this B&B. The sole purpose of the B&B is to provide support for the Clinica La Esperanza, a medical clinic providing support to the indigenous population of Copan. All profits go to supporting Paramedics for Children. This is an opportunity to stay in a beautiful spot, while knowing that your dollars are going to address a great local need.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and face an open courtyard. Rodger, your host, makes sure the bird feeders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda la Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda la Esperanza

Address: Barrio Titichon en Copan Ruinas, Copan 504, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Esperanza (The hacienda of hope), the only bed and breakfast in all of Honduras, or perhaps the world, whose sole reason for existing is to help the indigenous poor of Honduras. Tourists who stay with us find that we are donating back 100% of all room revenues to support our medical clinic to treat the Mayan Chorti Indians of Central America, who are some of the poorest people on the planet. Indeed, Hacienda La Esperanza has a cause worth supporting. This Spanish Colonial Estate is a welcome relief for many travelers who come to Central America, and it is known for its incredible attention to detail. For example every component of the Hacienda had to be made by hand from authentic period materials From the hand crafted iron work, to the it lovely antique rustic furniture, you will feel as if transported back in time to the late part of 18th century Central America. As you look around you will discover that the Hacienda La Esperanza is filled with all sorts of period antiques, as well as original painting from some of the best artists in Honduras. Visitors are inspired by the peaceful setting of the Hacienda, and often remark about the way the way the world seems to take on a slower pace the moment they arrive. Abundant green vistas, lovely flowers, and numerous native birds, top off the picture perfect effect. With great attention to service, details, and a cause that helps others, you have the winning combination that defines the spirit of Hacienda La Esperanza. Ours is a mood of spirit, combined with a deep respect for our guests. The term "mi casa es su casa" is not a cliche at the Hacienda La Esperanza. We really mean it, and when you enter our gates you become a member of the family.. We care about your needs, and will do everything in our power to see that you are amazed and enchanted with everything about the Hacienda. The heart of the Hacienda is found in our Kitchen. Here we make the magic that you expect. Our breakfasts are famous, and our Honduras dishes and desserts will make your mouth water. All of our vegetables come either from our own organic gardens or from the local markets. All of our guests are free to enjoy our homemade bread at any time. Upon request we are always happy to brew you a cup of our special organic coffee that is grown in the mountains nearby. All of which is complimentary. If you seek, you will find that we are into wildlife and fauna. Here we value, and work in harmony with nature to bring an incredible experience to you. We are very popular with the birding set, and the Hacienda has been listed as a Central American hot spot with sighting of up to 36 different species of birds here on the estate grounds. We are located just outside of the town of Copan Ruinas. The walk into the town is 5 minutes and we offer complimentary rides to town as well as many of the sites. The advantage of this is the serene quietness and great sleep that our guests talk about. The entire Hacienda is enclosed private and gated, with secure parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda la Esperanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.