We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean, good service and DONT miss out on the massage!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Azul
Save
You added Iguana Azul to your Saves list
Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blocks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Basic but clean, good service and DONT miss out on the massage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Stayed here for two nights and it`s a nice little house feeling hostal with 3 private rooms and two doorms. We stayd in one of the private rooms and its clean and noise free! Nice hot showers and all in all good value for the $14 pr night. I also had the massage done by Lucia and its only $25 pr hour and it was the most fantastic massage ever! Do it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    36
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
38
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights as we travelled from Guatamala to the Bay Islands. It was perfect for us as we just wanted somewhere simple, which wouldn't cost too much. This place is fairly basic, but it has everything you need including lots of information about tours.

The room itself was very clean, with shutters which we liked. The one thing that is probably a problem for the whole city is the cockerels. They started calling at about 2am and didn't stop all night. Obviously this is nothing to do with the hostal, but worth knowing about...

If you stay here, it's well worth visiting Macaw Mountain as well as the ruins. This bird sanctuary is really nice and peaceful and has a sound ethos too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Iguana Azul hostel was a great find. After being swarmed by people citing the best hotel in town, we followed another traveller's recommendation and went to the Iguana Azul on the far side of Copan Ruinas, Honduras (a pretty small town). The private room ($11/night) we got was clean and comfortable, they have hot showers and a nice yard, and the entire staff is friendly and helpful. The price for a private room cannot be beat, and the beds in the dorm looked clean and comfortable for a really cheap price.

The hostel is owned and operated by the same person that runs the B&B right next to it, the more expensive and luxurious Casa de Cafe. The owner, Howard, speaks both spanish and english, and was incredibly helpful when my cellphone was stolen while in town (my own fault, had nothing to do with the hotel).

If you are backpacking through Honduras and are going to be in Copan Ruinas, there is no other choice. Stay at the Iguana Azul.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

This hostel is the best value for the money we have found in Europe or the Americas. We always stay the in private rooms. We have stayed here for years, when we take guests to see the ruins.
It is far enough away from the park so that the noise from the bars does not disturb your sleep.
The hot water is not from the normal "Electric Suicide Shower", so you can relax when you reach up to wash your hair.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

This hostel is likely one of the best deals I've encountered. Beautiful rooms at an extraordinarily cheap price.

FREE WATER!!!
- alone this will save you money to buying numerous bottles each day

In the LP guide, this place is described as a bit of a trek from and it looks reasonably far on a map. However, the walk into the center of town is an easy, pleasant 5 minute stroll so don't worry about not being close to everything.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I went with a friend and we booked 2 beds in the dorm room (5$ each). For the price we expected a dump but we were very impressed. We were surprised to find: comfortable beds; Hot showers; clean toilets/beds; all the signs/information were in english (good for me, bad for the spain-ian that stayed there); everyone was INCREDIBLY friendly (guests and staff); the location was far enough away from town to be peaceful, but close enough for a very short walk to the action; and free purified water! I highly recommend the Iguana Azul Hostel. The power did go out one morning, and we had to wait for it to return before taking showers, but that is to be expected in central america. We waited about 1 hour and the staff were helpful and patient.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Iguana Azul is superb value for money, spotlessly clean, full of local info, real hot showers, friendly staff, great place to meet other travellers, great location just out of town center by a couple of blocks so quiet but only a few minutes by foot from the action. Would recommend to anyone travelling to Copan Ruinas!! Many thanks!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#8 of 22 in Copan
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 22 in Copan
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#6 of 22 in Copan
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Hostal Berakah
Hotel-Hostal Berakah
#7 of 23 in Copan
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda la Esperanza
0.7 mi away
Casa Dona Elena B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Azul

Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blocks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997 Iguana Azul is Copan's first & best hostel. Featuring 2 bunk rooms, 4 private rooms, all w/shared bath, great showers w/ piping hot H2O, all you can drink free purified drinking water, fast wifi, bulletin board, garden/sitting area, book exchange, funky colonial ambiance, best breakfasts in town, yummy homemade snacks,laundry area, refrigerator for exclusive use of guests, great bilingual staff, sparkling clean, and the downright comfiest prices in the village. Just a few blocks to the center of town & all restaurants, cafes, bars and museums. Just tell your friends, I Slept with the Blue Iguana Last Night! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Azul Hotel Copan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.