We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect - you won't find a better stay in Copan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Azul
Save
You added Iguana Azul to your Saves list
Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blocks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Almost perfect - you won't find a better stay in Copan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My sister and I stayed 2 nights in Copan, at Iguana Azul. This hostel is by far the best option to stay in Copan.

Getting there was easy - we took a tuktuk from the bus stop which was like, $2USD. I think the rate is a flate rate anywhere in the area, from what I remember. It's 5-6 blocks from town, as others have said, but it takes less than 10m to walk from the hostel into the town centre (as the town is so small) and the outlying streets are some of the most beautiful that we saw in our month long trip in Central America.

The hostel itself it quite small. If you are looking for a private room, I suggest booking ahead. We did, and got one of the rooms (I believe there are only 2 privates at the hostel), but there was a girl who was on our bus who requested one as well, and didn't get one. The room was simple and clean, the sheets were changed daily. There WERE a lot of bugs. What do you expect though in Central America? We had a giant beetle/junebug in our room, and some other creepy-crawlies but not a lot compared to other places we went. It can't be avoided. The cleaning ladies were very helpful and nice - definitely the friendliest on our stay. They do come into the room, like a hotel, and clean - we were unaware of this on our first day, and felt bad because we left most of our things on the bed. They organized them and put everything back on the bed - including cash, electronics, etc. The room was bright and airy and the neighbourhood is quiet so we got a good night's sleep.

The bathrooms were clean - which was surprising considering they're their own sort-of outside structure (you would expect bugs). The showers were hot with good water pressure.

There is free filtered water, and a nicely organized small communal area with information about local things to do/restos/getting out. The hostel wasn't the most social, as the common area and hostel itself is quite small, but we didn't mind. Wifi was good, and strong enough for a skype conversation in the common area (I tried in the room and it worked but it was a bit choppy and cut out a few times).

Two things we found were not so good:
1) it felt a bit bare bones - the staff were almost always on the B&B side, so it felt a bit weird being in the hostel alone. As others said, it did feel a bit cast-off but it wasn't a big deal. It was definitely had a hotel versus hostel vibe though.
2) the management were not on-site and they had someone (staff) covering for them. We were two females traveling alone, and we found him a bit...too friendly. He was pretty blatent about it. At this point we'd been traveling for a few weeks, and we were used to some unwanted male attention, and although we felt that he was quite helpful, we also felt he was a bit inappropriate as an employee representing the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    27
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
34
30
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great price-value hostel. The facilities are cosy, clean and safe. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect.
And if you have been travelling for a long time in Central America, you will be happy to take a WARM shower in a very clean bathroom !
There is nothing bad to say about this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

After reading the reviews of this place there was no doubt this was the best option to stay in Copán and yes it didn´t deceive us. We stayed in a private room and although it was small, it was just perfect. You can just notice when people care and they pay attention to details. The showers and toiletts were probably the cleanest in all our trip. They were also really helpful with information. There are other options available in Copán but if we went back, we would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Probably the best option for backpackers in Copán Ruinas. Location is just a few blocks outside of the main plaza -- not a big deal. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful with everything. Wi-fi was surprisingly good, and the place is clean. Electronic devices took forever to charge, but I don't think this is the hostel's fault. Seemed like the entire town had some issues with power quality and stability.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Iguana Azul is the best place to stay in Copan. The service is unbelievable, it is extremely clean and well kept. I would definitely stay here again on another trip to Copan. It is located just outside of the city center so you don't have to deal with the noise of the center, but it is only a few blocks off - so everything is still easily accessible. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our charity, Bless the Children, booked in advance & Howard (the owner) was a real gem helping us get our stay set up over email. He greeted us upon arrival & helped us get settled. Although our trek by bus from La Esperanza took much longer than expected and we were about 2 hours later than we'd said, Howard was still really nice and welcoming, and soon we were having a great & needed dinner!

In total there were 21 in our group - our director and myself, 12 pre-med students, a professional photographer & his daughter, a paramedic & ER nurse, our driver and 2 others. We rented the full hostel - 2 dorm rooms & 3 private rooms - and it was absolutely perfect! Everything about Iguana Azul was charming (great décor!) & clean, with fresh towels for all of us, loads of purified water & even a community sitting area.

Everyone loved that we had "our own hotel", so to speak! There were numerous showers...all with HOT water and terrific water pressure! (YAY!) The outdoor garden area was nice for group chatting. Dinner & breakfast were perfect at their restaurant next door, La Casa de Café. The décor here was just right, with such a lovely view and everyone loved the hammock! This is definitely the kind of place that makes you want to move to Copan!

All my concerns about safety/cleanliness/etc. of staying at a hostel fell away the instant we arrived. We will definitely be staying at the Blue Iguana for all our future trips to Copan and I suggest anyone traveling to Copan book at least one night here. There are also B&B rooms that are in the best idyllic setting. I can say with confidence that a woman traveling alone would feel very safe and happy staying at the B&B. Really, this can't be overstated. If you've ever dreamed of a solo getaway to relax and regroup, go to Iguana Azul!

Iguana Azul is close to the center of town, just a few blocks away, and just far enough that it's not noisy outside your room. But it is close enough so you can get where you want to be quickly and the Ruins are very close too! You can take a little taxi for super cheap. And Howard has all sorts of information about other adventures you can do close by on the cheap. Don't miss this place!

Thank you Howard & Angela! You took great care of all of us! We look forward to coming again soon!

Rebecca

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here three times now. If you are looking for a peaceful, sunny, clean, friendly place, this is one of the best I have experienced. The rooms have a lot of light and space, clean and comfy beds, and you even get a fresh towel to use in the spacious and (actually) hot showers! They provide you with free locks for lockers, drinking water, and at the restaurant area in the adjoining bed and breakfast you look out over a fantastic mountain valley view. All of their food is organic, with fresh made bread. They also support the sale of locally grown coffee. The hosts become like family, helping you with whatever you need - from lost bags to offering an excellent discount if you need to move rooms on a rare occasion, to providing loads of advice on various activites depending on your budget. As a solo female traveller I felt safe and cared for. They even wrote me a lovely thank you email after I left! You really can see why it has won the awards it has. You will love your stay in Copan!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Azul

Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blocks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997 Iguana Azul is Copan's first & best hostel. Featuring 2 bunk rooms, 4 private rooms, all w/shared bath, great showers w/ piping hot H2O, all you can drink free purified drinking water, fast wifi, bulletin board, garden/sitting area, book exchange, funky colonial ambiance, best breakfasts in town, yummy homemade snacks,laundry area, refrigerator for exclusive use of guests, great bilingual staff, sparkling clean, and the downright comfiest prices in the village. Just a few blocks to the center of town & all restaurants, cafes, bars and museums. Just tell your friends, I Slept with the Blue Iguana Last Night! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Azul Hotel Copan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.