We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay (and apologies for spurring a negative review!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Azul
Save
You added Iguana Azul to your Saves list
Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blocks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place to stay (and apologies for spurring a negative review!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I guess I should respond to Stefanie G's review blasting of Iguana Azul because the room she had reserved was not ready. We were the guests who did not see the note on our door for two days, that's because we felt comfortable enough with the security and price of the room that we left our belongings in the room and truck parked out front and took a bus to Tikal. Ironically, if Stefanie had come twenty minutes later, the room would have been hers. Timing is everything and I'm sure they found another occupant, but I don't like to inconvenience anyone.

Iguana was an excellent option and even though we tend not to stay in places with shared bathrooms/showers, they were plentiful and kept very clean at all times and were were had no complaints. Yes, they're outside, but it's just a few feet and not a problem. Really, if this is your biggest complaint in Central America, you are doing great! The rooms were large, the beds were comfortable (we got a double rather than staying in one of the dorms, which looked nice enough), the owners were very pleasant as was the entire staff. Hot water, wifi, fan, security during the night-time hours and secure during the day, we left with absolutely no complaints after a week or so off and on in the hostel.

Copan is a very nice little town and Iguana is within walking distance to everything, but not located where noise is going to be an issue. We would be more than happy to stay there again and apologize to the owners and to Stefanie for not having made clear our plans to keep the room (or make other arrangements) even while we were gone for a couple days. Hope this helps make up for the bad review and experience by the other traveler—it really is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    33
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
36
38
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Iguana Azul has been voted one of the best hostels in the world....it's an almost deserved accolade.
Rooms and dorms are clean with comfortable mattresses, it's quiet, there's a good sitting area, decent wi-fi, excellent hot showers and spotless toilets and lots of useful information and help to visit the ruins and other nearby attractions. Only small grumbles...why can't I be trusted with my own key? And we really like to wake up and smell the coffee. It's not everyone's top priority, but for us to feel at home in a hostel we really love to have a kitchen area where we can make a drink in the morning rather than have to get ready and walk into town. But don't let my petty grumbles put you off...Iguana Azul is an excellent hostel at the right price in a wonderful town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Perfexct place to stay. Just out of the busy part of town but walking distance (a whole 2 blocks). Large rooms, large common area and nice outdoor space. Provides lockers with locks for valuables and a security guard at night. Newer looking and a great facility. Bring soap for hand washing, the only down side.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Quiet location. A short stroll to the center down a newly paved beehive stone street. The bed was a little dusty. Advertised wifi, but did not work.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copanhonduras, Owner at Iguana Azul, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your review.

A couple of comments here to clarify two points you make:

The month of April is known for 3 things in this part of the world; very hot temperatures w/ daytime temps typically hitting the 100F mark, a distinct lack of rain & farmers who burn their fields in preparation for the planting season which begins w/ the upcoming rainy season which begins in June/July. As a result of the high temps, lack of rain & the burning of nearby fields, there is always haze, smoke & ash in the air during the month of April. The " dust " you experienced on your bed, is nothing more than the ash which hangs in the air throughout Central America during this time of the year.

Regarding our wifi, there were a number of days thus far in April when the electricity if the entire village of Copan & as well as most of Western Honduras was temporarily cut by the Natl Electircity Company, this was the most likely cause of the internet temporarily being down during your stay w/ us.

We take great pride in providing a sparkling clean & well run hostel, with 24/7 free wireless internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Iguana Azul is clean, quiet, well-maintained, with good management, and amenities. It is an ideal hostal for those looking for a place away from the nightlife of Copan without spending a lot. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Nice clean place run by an expat from New York. My favorite part is it is close to the center of town (about 4 blocks from the plaza) but not in the center so it is quiet. The room was cheap and clean and they were very accomodating to us. We booked only the night before and they were not only able to get two rooms for us, but they even put in an extra bed for our son. They have a guard on duty and they lock the front doors at night which is really nice. Being family run it is a lot more laid back as a hostal (no crazy drunk people).

Room Tip: Call ahead because they do fill up. Bring a flashlight with you. The hotel will supply candles to li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We spent our Christmas holidays here and it was great. The hostel was really well maintained. Location was just off the busy streets. The host was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguana Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Azul

Address: Barrio Las Vegas | 5 blocks West of Central Park, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997 Iguana Azul is Copan's first & best hostel. Featuring 2 bunk rooms, 4 private rooms, all w/shared bath, great showers w/ piping hot H2O, all you can drink free purified drinking water, fast wifi, bulletin board, garden/sitting area, book exchange, funky colonial ambiance, best breakfasts in town, yummy homemade snacks,laundry area, refrigerator for exclusive use of guests, great bilingual staff, sparkling clean, and the downright comfiest prices in the village. Just a few blocks to the center of town & all restaurants, cafes, bars and museums. Just tell your friends, I Slept with the Blue Iguana Last Night! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Azul Hotel Copan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.