We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT Food & Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twisted Tanya's Restaurant & Bar

Twisted Tanya's Restaurant & Bar
Just south and right from the park | Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
504 2651 4182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Copan
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Over looking the lush mountains, upstairs from copan connections for all you travel info. Up scale, but with a backpackers special every night ranging from $6 / $10Great for group bookings and parts.2 for 1 cocktail from 3 till 6, and good food specials. Great for birthday party's, order a home made cake from Tanya. Good music and football games.We're now open on Sundays, and for lunch Tuesday to Saturday.
Roatan, Honduras
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Food & Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I go to Copan a couple of times a year. I find it one of the most relaxing places in the world. I always go to Twisted Tanya's at least once and usually a couple of times each visit. Tanya and Garnell have been doing great food for years. It's one of the most fun places you can visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    54
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't do it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Went here as part of a group of 7 after looking at reviews on lonely planet expecting good things.
We were really let down.
Although they do advertise a backpackers menu for cheap prices,the portion sizes are tiny -especially the salad option as a main course. You'll be hungry leaving.
This,however, took a back seat compared to the horrendous service.
4 of the group had ordered off the backpacker menu and had eaten their starter and main before the first pizza was brought out. We then had to wait ANOTHER 25 minutes before the next pizza. After an hour and a half of waiting for the 3rd pizza one of our group decided she didn't want it as it had taken so long. When she explained this ,instead of apologising,the waitress responded 'that's fine' before coming out with the pizza and giving it,free,to a group of men known by the staff...when I asked for the owner I was told to go into the kitchen to speak to him where he barely offered an apology,telling me the waitress was his best.
Good service starts from the top down and the waitress was obviously mirroring the poor, unfriendly attitude of the owner. Average food with one of the worst customer service I've ever experienced.
Not impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noball, Owner at Twisted Tanya's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We try and we try, just not good enought for some people, FREE EVERYTHING would be the way too go. Sorry you had to wait, some days it's just really busy. And we only have one oven for these huge pizza specials. Fast food in always available on the street. I'm sure we just try harder for the fast food crowd. But we do cook fresh food as orderd, and I really don't want to do a rush job, not our style.
Have a great trip, but stick to the fast food places for less stress!
Thanks for coming Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Ometepe, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good vibes and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The owner was friendly and the food was so good!! A bit pricey but if you like to treat yourself once in a while I'd say you won't regret it... I'm a backpacker on a budget but sometimes i need a quick break from street food. The food was creative, delicious and worth a try. The atmosphere was chill and I heard some hip hop which it's been a while.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good meal and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food is ok, non-native, European fair. The price is high and may not be worth it. The drinks are good and the brownie and ice cream is a must for dessert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had on our month long adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My sister and I spent a month backpacking Central America this spring, and we fondly talked about the meal we had at Twisted Tanya's (most often while suffering beans and rice on the road). We picked off of the set backpacker menu - of which there are many different combinations (I think there were 4). There was also a happy hour menu of drinks - which I suggest if you like very strong, and very well made drinks.

We both started with soup (I believe it was potato leak) with an amazing fresh bun. My main was chicken with a creamy asparagus-type sauce that our waiter told us was a local specialty. It was devine - seriously. My sister had a pasta with a scratch sauce, if I remember correctly. Dessert was another perfect course of layered carrot cake.

Our waiter was phenomenal, and provided what was probably the best service we experienced at home or abroad. He had perfect timing, was friendly but not intrusive, and you could tell he cared about what was being served. I believe the owner was there was well, and she was warm and welcoming and asked us how the food was as we headed out. The restaurant was cute, and personal with a great vibe and a comfortable atmosphere. It was a pleasure eating there, and I do not hesitate to suggest the restaurant as somewhere to stop in Copan.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Tanya's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Twisted Tanya's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twisted Tanya's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.