We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...not much else to say.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Calle la Independencia | Barrio el Centro, Copan, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Copan
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Excellent...not much else to say.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel with a friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. When I arrived, the manager and I presume owner said he had two room he would like me to look at, despite having reserved a specific one for me. He thought I might like a different room that was available, which I did, and he changed my reservation without changing th price we had agreed on. Service like that is incredibly hard to find, if you ask me.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is excellent. One Queen bed, and two singel bed "couches." There's a tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
99
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I can hardly say enough for Yat B'alam (Jaguar in Mayan). Rina, Hugo, and the entire staff made our stay perfect. This is a four room, boutique hotel with an open air cafe, office and shops on the street level. Everyone went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. The windows in our room were fairly soundproof, which is good since the streets are cobblestone, and trucks rumbling off to the coffee plantations early in the morning can make quite a racket. The ladies working in the cafe make great omelets, and of course you can't beat the coffee. They surprised us several times in the evenings bringing to our rooms plates of fresh fruit. Most nights before dinner we'd sit out in the terraced breezeway and enjoy a bottle of wine and some locally made cheese bought from nearby shops. We've done a lot of traveling. This is my new favorite hotel. You can keep big, posh and pretentious. I'll take this anytime.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger, street side rooms. They have small balconies and a couple of extra couches t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I wasn't sure of what to expect from this hotel because I booked it largely based on the many positive reviews.
For starters, Copan is super quaint and beautiful. It is some way off the beaten track and you feel like you've stepped through a time warp or into some old western and Yat Balam helps to complete this picture.
The service from the moment of my arrival was warm and attentive. Rina and her team cant do enough to settle you in and ensure that you are welcome. I have a room with a balcony of which there are only 2 but it looks out over and down the street of this cute little town and worth booking if youre coming here.
The room itself has all the comforts that one would expect, AC, wifi, large shower, comfortable bed, TV etc etc and the hotel has a great little café that serves fresh coffee and food all day until 7pm.
To be clear, this is no glitzy 5 star establishment but it gets top points from me for behaving like one. Well done Yat Balam.

Room Tip: Room 1!!! Best view in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

For central Copan this is THE ONLY truly amazing place to stay as far as we are concerned. We were there on our honeymoon and Rina and all her staff could not have done more for us or been more attentive. Noth being able to find out too much info about Honduras from our Uk side base, Rina was there for us every step of the way - from advising us about the best time to travel to copan, to recommending drivers, to suggesting amazing places to make sure we took in during our stay. I can't sing their praises or thank them enough. There is no conceivable way you can be disappointed booking this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed here several times, only 4 rooms, but very nice and singular each one. Both terraces are relaxing. The little stores on the first floor have nice things. Tha staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived in Copan Ruinas after a difficult bus trip and checked into this wonderful hotel. When we arose in the morning, we discovered a lovely patio above the street. We had breakfast there every morning which included fabulous coffee. The shower was great, really good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The staff treated us to platters of fresh fruit delivered to our room and provided plenty of great advice about things to see and do. I especially want to thank Rina and Ana for making us feel like family. It was a great visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. Although we had some issues getting to and from Copan this had nothing to do with the hotel. Once we arrived we were greated with friendly smiles. When we got to our room, it was amazing with a balcony above the street we could sit on, a/c, a fantastic shower with great water pressure and the most comfy bed we had slept on in almost 2 weeks! The owner helped us find transportation to get us to the airport in San Pedro Sula when Hedman Atlas bus cancelled their 10am bus and put everyone on their 2pm bus, it cost us more than we wanted but the driver was very pleasant and all in all, we made it to the airport on time with a trusted source from the owner of the hotel. Copan is a beautiful little town (that is actually quite bigger than I had expected) but the streets are charming and the people were the friendliest yet! Glad we stayed at this hotel as I couldn't have pictured anything better than what we had at the Yat B'alam! (a small pool would have been nice as it was very very hot when we were there, but a cold shower worked) ;) Oh if you want to go to Macaw Mountain, go to Via Via and buy you ticket there, it's $10 and includes a tuk tuk to and from, it was alright, there was no way we were getting into the very murky swimming hole as we had no idea what was in there... The ruins were great! We had never seen any before so we can't compare, but we found very neat. If we had more time we would have went to the hot springs as we heard it was nice there as well.

Room Tip: room 2 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camino Maya
Hotel Camino Maya
#8 of 22 in Copan
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Gabriela
Hotel Casa Gabriela
#6 of 22 in Copan
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Copan Ruinas
Clarion Copan Ruinas
#4 of 22 in Copan
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Copan
Hotel Plaza Copan
#17 of 22 in Copan
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda El Jaral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Graditas Mayas
Hotel Graditas Mayas
#21 of 22 in Copan
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle la Independencia | Barrio el Centro, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Copan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Copan
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 6 rooms. Our cafeteria serves delicious breakfasts, great coffee and homemade cakes. For lunch we offer tasty pitabread sandwiches and salads. The hotel also has an excellent souvenir store with local handicrafts, jewerly of the highest quality. Our rooms have hot water all day, A/C, refrigerator, ceiling fan, cable TV, DVD player with free movies, and soundproofed windows. The hotel offers free WiFi, a generator, laundry service, a reading lounge, and private parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yat b Alam Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yat B'alam Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.