We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lighthouse
Save
You added The Lighthouse to your Saves list
Main St, Utilia Bay Islands, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Blue Ridge Summit, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I did quite a bit of research before going to Utila, and I am glad to have found the Lighthouse. My research pales in comparison to "Utila 101" or Miss Thelma's basic instructions on Utila survival.If you require a clean,comfortable room, secure surroundings at a very reasonable price, this place is for you.It's an easy walk to anywhere in town, but when you are at the Lighthouse, you are in a little oasis. I will stay there again and would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
75
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poland , NY USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not a lot we can add to the glowing reviews that this place consistently receives.
The location IS exceptional. The rooms ARE spotless. The prices ARE a great deal.
Thelma and O'Neill ARE extremely helpful and full of valuable information about the island.
The only thing I have to suggest is ; if you are the type to party hard and loud in your room until the wee hours of the morning....this may not be the place for you. (There are other places in town more conducive to that) For all the rest of us, THIS is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor , with a bay view room and it was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

What a value for US $53/night! My experience staying at the Lighthouse was nothing less than wonderful. The property was built by the proprietors (who have long family roots in Utila).Their attention to detail in all aspects is impressive. Rooms are spotless, comfortable, and a perfect island experience with sliding patio doors and ceiling fans. AC is available, as are fridge, microwave, place settings for two, TV, and private full bath. The proprietors are gracious and offered information that fit the travel wishes I described to them. Rooms are also more soundproof than most, which is important given the all-night parties with loud music (even if across town, music carries across the water).

Typically I prefer camping/lodging in seclusion on trips, but staying at the Lighthouse enhanced my scuba certification visit: the simply lovely accommodations were close to all the places/activities I planned to partake in. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I had the fortunate opportunity to stay at the Lighthouse Hotel on Utila Island, Honduras on January 19-26, 2014 with four other friends. Thelma, the owner, and her team made our stay very enjoyable. We had bay view rooms on the second floor and had THE BEST views on the entire island. From our balcony, we watched rays, sharks, and all sorts of fish swim around below. Three words for me describe the property...safety, comfort, and convenience. The property was well secured including an overnight guard that kept watch on everything. The rooms were well appointed and impeccably clean. Loved the very hot shower, kitchenette, and the fridge. The hotel had an amazing location convenient to everything. The Lighthouse is a must stay for anyone traveling to Utila that is not on a backpackers budget.

Room Tip: Get a bay view room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, the owners are very helpful and really take care of their business and customers.

The rooms are extremely clean, it is a safe hotel and the views are just stunning. From seeing options around utila this is by far the best
Choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough about Thelma the proprietor. She is a peach. Warm and kind. The rooms are extremely clean, comfortable, and bright. The staff is friendly and reliable. We spent 10 days here in January 2014. Rainy weather was not a problem because our accommodations were so comfortable.

Back to Thelma...I highly recommend that you listen to her arrival speech as it proved important many times while we were there. Her best advise..."Take advantage of everything you can right now. You never know what will happen tomorrow." Words to live by.

If you are a big partier this is not the place for you. There are plenty of places on the island for that. The Lighthouse is a place to enjoy awesome hospitality in a beautiful, calm and quiet environment.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

super clean, wonderful location, wifi was not good, had to sit outside to get it but what can you do, super friendly owners, would not stay anywhere else on Utila. There is a great burger place almost across the street. Buy the water from the owner, better deal then from the supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse

Address: Main St, Utilia Bay Islands, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Utila
Lighthouse Hotel Utila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.