We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vacation to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Utopia Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utopia Village
Save
You added Utopia Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle De Suenos | Bay Islands, 34201, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Year-end Specials
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Vacation to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I just got back from a week at Utopia and wanted to share what a wonderful experience my husband and I had.

The resort is on a very tranquil part of the island - far from the noise of motorized vehicles (that swarm Utila Town). For the most part, all you hear is the noise of the waves at night and the patter of crabs traveling to and from the water.

The service we received was excellent, with both on-site staff and the dive team going out of their way to cater to our individual needs. Food was plentiful, varied and delicious - a cooked breakfast and always 2 entrée options for lunch and dinner. Also, we were served tasty cocktails at the bar and some great wine (I am a bit of a wino and was preparing cheap and nasty).

Diving was incredible - like being in a warm, tropical fish tank. We were lucky to snorkel and dive with dolphins on separate occasions! The dive masters were patient with us less experienced divers, while still making things interesting for those who are more advanced.

As many have already remarked, the sand flies are ravenous on this part of the island, and while some people escaped relatively unscathed, I got covered in bites. I was later advised that applying baby oil before going out or a week of anti-histamines prior to the trip are good methods of prevention. You just have to be super vigilant in spraying the Deet.

Bites aside, we both have very fond memories of our time at Utopia and would highly recommend the resort to anyone wanting a quiet and very diving-focused vacation.

Room Tip: We were right on the ocean in M4 - wonderful - but did have a room above us, which I guess would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    31
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
148
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and i were excited to take an adventure to a different country. We found Utopia Village on groupon and decided to take a chance on traveling to Utila. We had never heard of this little island but decided to try it out. We are really happy to say that everything there exceeded our expectation. The staff is amazing, the food is unbeatable, and the management does whatever they can to make the stay with them the best it can be.

Halfway throught the stay, my wife came down with something. She didnt feel well at all and the staff there did whatever they could to make sure she was happy, they changed the menu so that my wife could order anything she was craving. Such an amazing thing. They cater to your every need!

I would strongly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to vacation.

It is a dive resort, and my wife and i dont dive. Even if you dont dive there is plenty to do, Debbie is amazing in helping set up any trip you want to go on. Even if you dont dive its worth a trip, the snkorling is amazing and they offer a Discover Scuba Dive that i would highly recommend if you have ever wanted to try scuba.

Room Tip: No bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved our stay at Utopia.

The dive op is first rate (we got Juan Carlos, aka Juca, who was back for a short stint on his way to Roatan - and his great diving g'friend as another DM in the package).

The suite we had was decent sized and we were able to make the AC as icy cold as we could stand and there were never bugs in the room (provided we kept the door closed). Housekeeping was excellent as well.

The food was good with multiple breakfast options (fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes, etc.) and then two options for lunch and dinner. We had one very picky eater and he was okay with one of the two entrees every time. It's not super-high-end cooking but it is good and they are cooking it with love.

The only down side: bugs, most notably extremely small no-see-ums. (They rake the sand every day so the sand flies aren't bad out on the sand). little b*st*rds are TINY but they bite like something much larger - they bite like deer flies. None of the bug spray options we brought worked very well - we had 100% DEET as well as some of the newer, "just as effective as DEET!" concoctions.

HOWEVER what worked extremely well was bug-blocker clothes - which we brought and wore whenever we were going to be outside for any length of time. That PLUS a little bug dope on the remaining areas meant that we were usually nursing a couple of bites (not a big deal) while some other people staying there were nursing hundreds. (This had as much to do with drinking as preparation - more than once people out in the bar would rather keep drinking than go inside to one of the meshed-in areas.)

So: go to Ex Officio or REI, get some bug blocker clothes, and come visit here. It's really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from another visit after visiting Utopia 4 years ago. If you want details about Utopia and the diving in general there are lots of reviews out there so I'm going to review it as a return customer.

When we went 4 years ago it was obvious the owners were passionate and enthusiastic about Utopia. However, there were hick-ups and issues, which can be seen in the older reviews, that exposed the management team's lack of extensive hospitality experience. When we booked our trip this time the question was whether Utopia would be better, or worse. The verdict: they're firing on all cylinders now. Utopia still has the laid-back casual atmosphere we enjoyed but they've added world-class service and operations to make it well worth going back.

Some new things we liked:

1.The rope walkway to enter the water for shore dives. Makes it much easier to enter and exit after shore dives.
2. The boat docks just west of Utopia during rough weather instead of near town in the lagoon. This cuts the jungle bus ride down substantially. A much better location for the boat.
3. Ping-pong table to go along with the pool table. And plenty of chalk for pool. We had some good tournaments.
4. Electricity, water, and A/C all worked great the whole time. Wifi was also much better this time.
5. Kitchen was very well run. Food was on time and each course was ready quickly. It was also delicious. We have a special diet and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us, which was greatly appreciated.


Still the same:
1. The sand flies are still there. Make sure you bring Deet and long pants/shirts. When the wind was blowing it was fine but when it was calm they were out in force. They put in a mesh screen for the tiki bar but it didn't help. They didn't bother me but they loved my wife.
2. It's still a long day to get there. However, there's a new airline out of San Pedro Sula called CM that is great. 16-seat planes and very professionally run.
3. The dive operations and rooms were great, just like the first time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Utopia the last week of July 2013. We were looking for quiet location to dive and relax. We found the perfect location.

Living in Dallas, we flew to Roatan through Houston on United. Upon arrival in Roatan, it was a short puddle jumper to Utila, where we took a short taxi ride and boat trip to the other end of the island. There is no need to worry about travel, as the Utopia Village Team lays it all out for you when you make reservations. Utopia handles the travel from the time you pick up your bags in Roatan. Relax and enjoy. Getting there is well worth it!!!

When we arrived at Utopia, we were introduced to the staff and while our bags were delivered to our room. After unpacking, there was time for a drink at the Dive Bar before dinner and the opportunity to meet the other guests.

We stayed in M4, which was very comfortable for the week. The AC worked great, the bed and pillows were comfortable, and the shower was hot. Water from the shower and faucet is collected rainwater, so filtered drinking water is provided in each room. Tea and other non-carbonated, non-alcoholic beverages are always available in the dining room a few steps always. The Dive Bar is, of course, available once the diving is done for the day.

The food was very good. A standard breakfast menu starts the day, with two selections each for lunch and dinner. Many times, couples ordered one of each to try everything. Special requests were promptly handled. There was not a choice all week that I would not have selected again.

The reef in Utila provides a lot of fun dive locations. The wind and surf were up a little during our week, so a lot of the diving was done on the north side of the island, but don’t worry. The Utopia dive boat, Miss U, was renamed the “Kick [--] Dive Boat” by the guests our week. The boat rides extremely well and is fast, getting you quickly to and from the dive sites. The boat dives and night dive are guided, which allows you to concentrate on the coral, sponges and sea life. There were a lot of great photo and video opportunities. My wife opted for a guided shore dive and a night dive at the house reef, which has a 100” wall a few meters out in the water. Through the week, you’ll see other dive boats moored there as well. We saw a lot of variety, but not a lot of big fish, with the exception of the large pod of dolphins that raced along with the boat on day and allowed everyone to hop in a snorkel with them. While we did not see any whale sharks, video has been posted of two encounters in the two week following our visit.

We relaxed one afternoon at Water Cay, and had dinner and we toured the fishing village on Pigeon Key one evening, where we were entertained by Mr. Herman telling the history of the island and fishing stories. It was a truly enjoyable evening. On Friday, a non-diving day, we went to Utila Town to soak up the local culture. Most afternoons, however, were spent relaxing in the hammock, laying out in the sun, or lounging at the open air Dive Bar. Stress does not exist at Utopia Village.

While the accommodations, food and diving are great, it’s the staff that makes Utopia Village. From arrival to departure, they handled each and every request with a smile. By the end of the week, we felt like we had met several new friends.

On our trip back home, we ran into several divers we met on the trip down who were headed to other resorts. In trading stories, it was clear that we had made the best choice in the Bay Islands! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place to spend our honeymoon. The resort itself is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The staff is amazing! They are extremely friendly and attentive to the daily operations and your needs. The food is delicious and the chef creates wonderful Honduran dishes each day. The rooms are very cute and comforting with a nice "islandy" feel. And of course, there's the diving!! Not enough can be said about the beauty of the reef there. The water is warm and clear and the plant and marine life are beautiful. We also had a once in a lifetime up-close swim with a whale shark! (check out our video: (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGpmeGx923Q) There are several other activities to enjoy there as well, such as kayaking, volleyball, snorkeling, games, etc. It was the perfect combination of activities and private time to make it an amazing honeymoon. We were so sad to leave. We hope to return sometime in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 3 days diving, eating great food and enjoying great service and people. The dive teams, lodging, and logistics were awesome. Not a lot else to do but that is what we wanted, to dive and relax. Fishing was possible too.

We hope to return soon and next will spend a whole week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
2.0 mi away
Laguna Beach Resort
Laguna Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Utila
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
2.9 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#9 of 9 in Utila
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Indura Beach And Golf Resort
0.9 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 16 in Utila
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Village

Address: Calle De Suenos | Bay Islands, 34201, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopia Village 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful location, exceptional service, fantastic diving and one of the best places in the world to have a chance to see and swim with whale sharks and dolphins. Casually elegant, beachfront dive and spa resort. All rooms are oceanview or oceanfront and have air conditioning, ceiling fans and spacious balconies with views of the ocean and mainland mountains. Full service dive shop, beach bar, lounge and on-site restaurant with table service. All meals are included in weekly package rates. Pool, hot tub and dive pool as well as fitness room and massage room are among the great amenities added during our recent renovations. Rates are per person, double occupancy. Utica is easily accessed by island-hopper flights from Roatan and San Pedro Sula. One bedroom oceanfront bungalows with separate living areas and small refrigerators are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Utopia Dive Village Utila
Utopia Dive Village Hotel Utila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utopia Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.