We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat for scuba diving, relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Utopia Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utopia Village
Save
You added Utopia Village to your Saves list
Calle De Suenos | Bay Islands, 34201, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy One Get One $500 Off
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami Shores, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat for scuba diving, relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Many positive things to say about our recent visit. Debbie from the resort was helpful with arranging the transfer from San Pedro Sula to Utila. Utila town is a small village, everyone knows everyone. We took a boat to the dock near the resort, then a truck to the resort.

The resort is well designed architecturally. The use of natural colors, wood, and rock complements the setting. We were greeted personally by the staff, there were only 8 of us staying that week. All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. There is a small beach with a house reef that other divers said was excellent (I didn't do a shore dive). There are beach chairs, a bar, and a nice common area. This is not a fine powdery white sand beach, if you go in the surf bring your dive booties or Aqua Socks so you don't cut your feet.

Room: large room with armoire, 4 poster bed, roomy bath. If you want a giant flat screen TV, this is not the place for you. Free Wifi will connect you to the outside world if needed. Room was always spotless. Free filtered drinking water was provided. They use natural rain water for showers, so if pressure is low, just tell them to change the cistern and it will be fine.

Food: Was consistently delicious. Full breakfast made to order, the chef has 2 options daily. I don't eat seafood and there was always a non seafood option available. Iced tea and hibiscus tea were included, if you wanted soft drinks or mixed drinks, they were available from the bar. The bartenders Kerri and Josue were friendly and pleasant. Had one minor misstep on first day, pork was kind of tough, so you may want to choose the other option that day.

Diving: The diving was well done. We had a great divemaster, Federico, who explained the dives well. We were on the Miss U, a large dive boat, so had plenty of room. All the equipment was new, we rented Cressy BCs which were comfortable. The rental prices were a little high, but all the equipment was in perfect condition, and the dive staff rinsed and hauled everything for you.

Activities: We did the Pigeon Key excursion, it is a small village on a cay with British pirate descendants. Saw the local wooden fishing boats and had dinner at a local restaurant. Nice diversion, however if you want touristy kitsch, not a place for you. Also went to Water Key for a nice BBQ on the beach. It is a private little island. You can snorkel and relax in hammocks. I was a little upset that some people did not pick up their trash, and you could see prior of evidence of a humungous music festival that had occurred. I did Autumn's yoga class every time offered, she is a great and patient instructor. Usually takes place on a rooftop with the sounds of the surf crashing and birds singing, very relaxing natural setting. The yoga classes also helped me use less air on the dives due to better breath control. We also took Autumn's suggestion to try the Float Utila, which we enjoyed (see separate review).

Overall, an excellent trip. It is not cheap, but was right up our alley for scuba diving and relaxing. Would recommend unless you want a typical free booze cheesy resort experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    29
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
137
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We can't speak highly enough about this place. There is not too much to add to what others have said. We bought the Groupon diving package and spent seven days here recently. The staff is genuine, attentive, caring, and fun. The food is creative and delicious. The rooms are pretty and well kept. The diving is truly remarkable and you will see some amazing things. The other activities are really fun, from kayaking to water cay, to beach volleyball, to bonfires, to snorkeling, to massages. The staff genuinely cares about its guests and the quality of their stay. Overall just a really great experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Let me start by saying how great of a trip we had to Utopia Dive Village. The specifics:

Service:
We were originally scheduled to go to Utila/Utopia in early April. Due to a passport issue at the airport, we had to cancel that reservation at the last minute.. While that may have been an issue at other resorts, Utopia went out of their way to find us another week that worked and moved the reservation at no cost to us.

Rooms:
Rarely in the rooms other than when we were sleeping, but they were very comfortable. Can get pretty hot in there if you don't turn the air conditioning on before bed. I would recommend putting it on before dinner so it is cooler when you are ready to sleep.

Food:
We had a lot of fun hanging out with Chef Paul. His food was also great. If you are a picky eater, make sure to let them know prior to your trip so they can plan ahead.

Staff:
The staff was one of the best parts of the trip. We really enjoyed hanging out with Kerri at the Dive Bar. Josue and Autumn were also really nice. They all went well out of their ways to make sure the guests were comfortable.

Diving:
Diving was superb! Was really the core focus of our trip. Freddy was our dive master and he was knowledgeable and made the group very comfortable. Great guy.

Swimming with whale sharks was the primary reason we decided to go to Utila and we didn't see any on Sunday - Thursday. Given we don't dive on Fridays, a few of the guests and Roxane (one of the owners) went out on a whale shark excursion. We ended up seeing two whale sharks on multiple jumps for a truly once in a lifetime experience (made better by the fact that it was Roxane's birthday!).

Strongly recommend Utopia Dive Village if you are planning your next dive trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked our week to this unknown destination through Groupon. The price seemed too good to believe, making us rather nervous. We couldn't have been happier with our risky choice. The travel arrangements from Roatan to the resort went smoothly except for a long delay at the dock in Utila Town (a miscommunication, not normal). We loved being in a small, secluded resort where the staff anticipated or fulfilled all our expectations. All we had to do was get up, eat breakfast, get on the dive boat, enjoy beautiful waters with healthy corals and enough fish to keep up happy, relax, eat delicious lunches and dinners, visit with new friends at the beachside bar, and sleep in clean, nicely appointed rooms. The staff is excellent and hard-working.

Room Tip: I checked Location as a 4 just because it's a long day getting from the states to Roatan and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Our trip started with a flight delay that forced us to miss the final flight from Ruatan to Utila. Being in an unfamiliar place and needing a place to stay and a flight for the next day could be daunting. The local "fixer" for the resort got us a hotel room,cab and rebooked flight - barely causing a bump in our travel plans.

And it was worth the wait! The location is idyllic: the setting is paradise; rooms are lovely and romantic; facilities are well appointed; staff is attentive; and food is delicious.

We are not scuba divers, but this was a perfect escape!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddpg1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would highly recommend this resort. We like to stay in smaller, more personable resorts (if you're looking for a huge, Marriott-style resort this is not it) and Utopia fits the bill perfectly!

Chef Paul whipped up terrific eats as well as accomodating my wife's gluten-free diet. Autumn was always available to answer any questions we had. Josue and Kerri were equally helpful bussing tables or mixing up a cold cocktail. And Roxane (one of the owners) was readily available if we needed anything.

The diving was superb! Request Anke as your dive guide - she's the best! However the whole dive team went out of their way to ensure safe, fun and adventurous dives. We also obtained our AOW certification while we were there - I would highly recommend additional certifications while there due to the reduced cost compared to doing it Stateside.

Their house reefs rivals anything Bonaire puts out! We dove it four times and just scratched the surface of sealife. Definitely do a night dive or two while you're there - it's worth it!

I would not recommend this resort for children. There isn't a pool or a kid-friendly beach. There are sand flies out at dawn and dusk (fairly typical for most of Central America) - would recommend bringing a bottle of bug spray.

If you're looking for a secluded dive location or someplace to just get away from it all, I highly recommend Utopia Village. Oh, yea, in case you did need to stay connected, there is a very fast WIFI connection in the main dining/lounge area.

Room Tip: Room M8 is has the best view; Any room on the second floor b/c they have vaulted ceilings. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Super caring staff without any patronizing; just deep, heart-felt full effort to make sure everything was just as one wanted. Personalized and professional to the max! Transfers could have been complicated but Utopia has this down to a science for a smooth coordinated transfer (puddle jumper to car to boat) once we left the airport. We had a top floor corner unit with adequate AC plus separate fan so it was quiet and cool enough for us- as we are very light sleepers. I got lots of sand flee/no see um bites even though my husband did not so would advise bringing something for the itching. Dining room was occasionally a little warm but the ocean breeze was always there to help. Food was very fresh and good but if the day's choices weren't appropriate, they would make something up to your liking so no problems here. We all loved the 4pm snacks too! Diving was as good as the area could provide and Fedi is a top notch DM. We missed the whale sharks as this was the tail end of the season but they went out of their way to try and find one. We had1-2 sitings but they eluded us when we prepped to go in. Ditto the comments on Water Cay and Utilia town. We lucked out as all divers and staff during our visit came together like a big family. Very, very enjoyable! You would just love this whole experience.

Room Tip: We didn't have the ocean view room but we asked for a quiet room and were very happy with our up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Utopia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Village

Address: Calle De Suenos | Bay Islands, 34201, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually elegant, beachfront dive and spa resort. All rooms are oceanview or oceanfront and have air conditioning, ceiling fans and spacious balconies with views of the ocean and mainland mountains. Full service dive shop, beach bar, lounge and on-site restaurant with table service. All meals are included in weekly package rates. Pool, hot tub and dive pool as well as fitness room and spa treatment room are among the great amenities added during our recent renovations. Rates are per person, double occupancy. We can arrange island connections from Honduras or the neighboring island of Roatan. One bedroom oceanfront bungalows with separate living areas and small refrigerators are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Utopia Dive Village Utila
Utopia Dive Village Hotel Utila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utopia Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.