We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Utila Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utila Lodge
Save
You added Utila Lodge to your Saves list
Main Street, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Yes, Tranquila Bar is a few doors down. But I never heard the noise from their dock, maybe our room was strategically place? But anyway, we really liked this place. It was nextdoor to BICD (Bay Islands College of Diving), whom we dived with (and they were very excellent too, if you are looking for a great dive shop!).

We got a discount on the room for diving with BICD so I thought we would probably get a "discount" room... our room was just beautiful, and well equipped with TV, a pitcher of potabile water, AC, fan, solid electricity and hot running water, and we even had a little screened in porch (no mosquitoes!) with a hammock that had a spectacular view of sunset on the water.

Management was kind and helpful. The other guests here were great people- this is the kind of place that attracts nice quiet folks- we know how to enjoy a few drinks out on the beach bars but we like to call it a night at a reasonable time with diving in mind for the next morning, and Utila Lodge was a nice quiet place to come home to.

We only ate one meal here which was breakfast, which was nothing to write home about, but we enjoyed the hot tub and the honor system at the bar- the sense of trust is really nice, and sipping a rum punch in the hot tub at sunset was a great way to kick off our stay in Utila.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
31
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Don't be fooled because Utila Lodge "only" has 8 rooms. This place is roomy and comfortable. Dive master Josh and boat captian Willie treat you to good dives and keep you laughing. Queen Ann keeps things running smooth topside. The owner, Kisty, has put together a great crew that makes sure your stay is a pleasurable one.
Go to Utila lodge and be prpared to dive, eat, laugh and feel welcome.

Tell them "Robert Goulet" sent you.

Phil

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This was my first time bringing a group to Utila and Utila Lodge, but it certainly will not be the last. It is kind of a hassle to get to the Bay Islands, but the diving makes it worth it. Utila Lodges rooms were clean and spaciaous. Since they were literally over the water, we were lulled to sleep each night by the sound of the ocean.
Food was included in our package and it was prepared fresh with many locally produced ingredients. One really nice touch, which I am sorely missing now that I am home, is that they delivered fresh coffee right to our rooms each morning. It was a welcome wake-me-up. The dive boats were roomy and the crew helpful, patient and FUN!!!! I had a couple of divers who needed a little extra help because of back and knee problems. the crew helped them and made it easy for them to get on and off the boat. That was really appreciated. I liked that they had a separate camera tank on the boat and in the wash out area by the locked equipment room.
My group also enjoyed the Red river horse ride through the jungle. The guide was very knowledgable about the local flora and fauna. The tour included a visti to a cave with facinating formations. Well worth the time and (small) cost.
The resort staff was attentive to us and very genuinely friendly and accomodating. Many of them joined us at the bar for karaoke night and were really good singers!
We found this trip to be a very good value!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

From the greeting at the airstrip until we had to say goodbye, this is a fantastic place to stay. Everything was seen to and the staff at Utila Lodge will make you feel like you are at home.
Great food, great diving with a dive master and boat captain that make your surface time as much fun as your time under water. The hot chocolate aboard after a night dive was a welcome touch.
We would like to thank everyone at the lodge again and you can expect to see us again.
Robert & Peggy

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Utila Lodge last week. We arrived at the lodge at around 5:00 pm after a very long day of traveling. We are from the Washington DC area. We were greeted by Josh, our divemaster, who quickly helped us with our luggage and drove us to the lodge. At the entrance to the resort we were happily greeted by Kisty, the owner and Queen Anne, the headmaster. They immediately showed us around and briefed us on everything we needed to know for the week...times of diving, meal times, etc. They showed us to our room...we had a wonderful view of the water from our screened porch. Waiting for us was a bottle of wine which I thought was a really nice touch. They bring filtered water to your room every night. We also had our own hammock which I loved to relax on while reading my book or just taking a nap at the end of a long day of diving. The resort is very close to town so you can easily take a walk to buy souvenirs or just to take a stroll. Everyone on the island either drives golf carts or motorcycles. The meals are delicious and served buffet, homestyle 3 times a day. Everything from toast and cereal to pancakes, waffles, sausage, bacon and eggs (any style) for breakfast. Lunch was a great variety...I think we had hamburgers and fish burgers one day, quesadillas, spaghetti and dinners were anything from chicken, fish and meat dishes. Definitely all home cooked and delicious. They also served a variety of wonderful desserts...home baked...all of it yummy! We got a chance to talk to Kisty and relax with her and her family...her daughter, son, and grandson. Her son and daughter all work at the resort which helps to give it that "homey" atmosphere. We definitely miss the resort and everyone there. Queen Anne is such a sweetheart always willing to help out whenever she can. They have an "honor system" at the bar where you go in and write down whatever you take next to your name...that's if no one is there to help you. It makes it so that the bar is always open to the guests. Josh is a fantastic divemaster, very relaxed and slow-paced which makes it very enjoyable. He takes your gear and sets it up for you every day so the guest never has to do anything with it. Seth, the boat captain was very friendly as well...sitting down and talking to us. Josh and Seth took us (on their motorcycles) to their favorite barbecue place on our last evening there. That was a lot of fun...it gave us a chance to see how the locals live. All in all it was one of the best vacation spots for diving and just relaxing. We can't wait to go back to Utila Lodge!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The family and staff that run Utila lodge is absolutely the best in the business. I was nervous about going to such a remote location alone with my 12 year old daughter who had only 20 dives. I am not a diver myself. These folks were fantastic with her. The knowledge, safety and security of the Bay islands College of Diving and Utilia Lodge are exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Just got back from a trip to Utila Lodge. It was the perfect dive, eat and relax vacation. We more or less just picked it out from the reviews in Trip Advisor and the online photos and hoped that what we saw online was accurate. It was. From the beginning of our stay in Utila, when we unfolded out of the 19 seat SOSA plane on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, to the end of the week, which was a much sadder early Saturday AM, we were treated like old friends.

We arrived on the Utila airstrip on Saturday afternoon and were promptly picked up and delivered to the Lodge, where we were met by staff, especially the beautiful Alice and QueenAnn, bartender extraordinaire. We were given the lay of the land (and water) and escorted to our room. As there are only 8, everything is very close. We chose upstairs to get a better view of the water and island. The entire Lodge is over the water, so if you are a snorkler (or a diver between dives) be sure and spend a little time swimming under the hotel. There are a lot of fish down there.

The Lodge Rooms: much nicer than we expected. Bigger too, with a twin and a double bed. There was a very nice screened in porch with chairs, a fan, a table and a hammock, all of which we made good use of. It also had plenty of hooks to hang wet clothes. There were 2 sinks and a large shower stall. The room is nicer than a lot of other places I've stayed, with all wooden walls and trim instead of sheetrock or plaster. It looks and feels well built and sturdy too, in case you are worried about that.

The Food: Excellent! Every meal was served hot, delicious and on time. By Wednesday I was salivating everytime I heard the food bell ring. The cook alway checked with us to see if we had any specific dietary restrictions or preferences. Over the course of the week for dinner we had burgers, bbq chicken and pork, spaghetti a couple different ways, shrimp, veggies, salads and cakes and cookies. Breakfast was varied and tasty, and lunch was always served just a few minutes after we got back from the 2nd morning dive. One of the features we really liked is that the 2 night dives were preceeded by snacks and followed by dinner, so we didn't feel that we had to hurry through dinner to get back into the water.

Kisty, the owner, sat with us for most of the dinners and some lunches. It was a pleasure to have her around to chat with, telling us a little about the island (she's been there 16 years), herself, the Lodge, the Diving College next door and other varied topics. Be sure and ask her about any barnacles she might have "issues" with. Lets just say that she doesn't sit still long enough to develop any.

Diving: Again, excellent. Josh is the divemaster and Marvin (aka Borat) is the captain, and the two of them work well together. Sometimes it seemed like I was in the middle of a comedy routine, so the surface intervals were always interesting. There are walls, pinnacles, swimthoughs, canyons, etc. Plenty to keep you occupied for a week. Two of our favorites were Airport Caves, which had lots of little canyons to follow, and Black Hills, which is a pinnacle just teaming with life and has at least 1 free swimming moray (could have been 3, or the same one 3 times. Never could figure it out). But there are many other great sites. Unfortunately, there isn't as much fish life as some of the other places I've dived. This is probably from overfishing and it seems that the Utila government is finally starting to to do something about it. But the corals, sponges and other reef life is plentful and healthy. As the College of Diving is next door and they sometimes share a boat, we did several dives with prospective Divemasters and Dive Instructors. That was entertaining as well. A great bunch of kids learning a great job.

The island: its good. Didn't spend any time exploring anything other than the main street. If I were 25 or 30 again that main street at night would have been a blast. I missed it by a few (or more than a few) years. Seems as if there was at least 1 party place every night. And they party late. But, if it gets too loud just close up the room and put on the air conditioning. We did some nights with AC (works well, by the way) and some with open windows. The town is concentrated on one street and all the buildings are squeezed together on both sides. Take a look at satellite photos to get an idea. Apparently there are about 5,000 people on the island, so that gives you an idea of the size.

The weather: we were there in July 2010 and it rained several times while we were there, sometimes even hard, but never for long and it didn't have much impact on our plans. They are called July Squalls by the locals (ask QueenAnn) and they come and go.

Kisty, Alice, Josh QueenAnn and the rest showed us a great week. Can't wait to go back. Maybe next time we'll try horseback riding.

You'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
1.0 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach Resort
Laguna Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Utila
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#9 of 9 in Utila
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 16 in Utila
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utila Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utila Lodge

Address: Main Street, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise as it was intended! Set out over the turquoise Caribbean waters in the calm Utila Bay, surrounded by spectacular coral reefs, Utila Lodge is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway or adventure vacation. Let us greet you with personalized service and five star hospitality! Come and experience the casual charm of this family owned and operated resort. Purchased in 1993 by Jim and Kisty Engel, Utila Lodge has been transformed into the warm and welcoming haven that it is today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Utila Hotel Utila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utila Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.