We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utila Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Utila Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utila Lodge
Save
You added Utila Lodge to your Saves list
Main Street, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Utila Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had a great time at Utila Lodge. They took excellent care of me and my friends. Every room has a screened in porch and a hammock. Excellent sleeping in the hammock. I also recommend their dive shop. They took very good care of us and my diving and snorkeling buddies. Can walk to the beach in 20 minutes and the clubs don't close till 4AM. It's great; If you fly to the island, be prepared to dodge potholes on the runway. If you take the ferry, don't get seasick. They hand out trashbags when you get on. I love UTILA. Go if you possibly can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
26
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We travelled back to Utila Lodge in Feb. and had another fabulous stay! Willie our dive master was masterful as always at finding marine life! The sea horses and whale sharks were my personal favorites! Snorkelling with 2 different Whale Sharks was a first for me and filled me with awe at the gentleness of these magnificent creatures!! I did 33 dives over our 2 week stay and the diving was relaxing and unique!! Albert and Seth did a great job as our boat captains!
All the staff at Utila Lodge are wonderful and treated me with friendship and I honestly feel like each and every one of them do a great job! The kitchen staff was masterful at providing me with gluten and dairy free meals that were delicious! On Valentine's Day, the staff decorated our table with candles and flowers and gave us a special gift! Our room was spotless and I loved the coffee delivered to our room in the morning! Thank you Utila Lodge for providing us with a wonderful holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The resort staff was pleasant and helpful from Queen Ann (bartender) to the chef and other resort staff. AM coffee brought to your room to star the day, wonderful desserts to finish each meal.

We did three dives each day and two night dives. Dive Master Willie Waterhouse is excellent at finding and pointing out small common, and uncommon, marine life found on various dive sites on the island. Capt'n Albert & Molly handled the boat expertly and assisted divers in and out of the water - paying special attention to those with cameras.

One day we had the option of trading a second a.m. dive for a chance to swim with a Whale shark, and we all jumped at the chance. Good thing we did - we actually swam with three different Whale sharks that morning.

Utilia is a divers island (no cruise ships, casinos or shopping malls) and Utila Lodge is like "Dive Camp"… we were located conveniently to downtown Utila Town… good snorkeling near by for non-divers.

If you are new(er) diver and want to get some dives under your belt (or in your log book) IMO this is one of the best places to do so.

Room Tip: There's only two rooms that have a somewhat blocked view, D on the bottom floor is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Willie is one of the most knowledgeable and entertaining divemasters we have had!! He was easy going, honest and very entertaining, Willie found things we would have never seen! Queen Ann was another joy! She ensured that we all got treated special! She was also very entertaining. The rooms I loved and they kept them clean. The food was just wonderful and the girls in the kitchen spoiled us rotten, catering to our food allergies. Willie and Queen Ann will be missed by the crew from Seguin's Scuba Center in New York!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I booked Utila Lodge for our Spring Break trip. We used Roatan Charters to make all the arrangements. This was not my first trip to the Lodge, but for 14 in our group it as a fantastic week. The staff at the Lodge were great. Our group was so large that we had two divemasters on the boat. We were blessed with weather that allowed trips to the North side, absolutely great dives! The highlight of our week was the whale shark encounter. We had the opportunity to swim with the whale shark multiple times. Everyone got to see the whale shark. The kitchen staff was great about our dining schedule, more than once we had a very late lunch. We also had snacks before our night dives. Everyone in the group agreed that this would be a trip to do again, but we want to add more days. 7 days is not enough diving days to see all the dive sites.
Great job Utila Lodge, and thanks for a great spring break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Utila Lodge, and there will definitely be a fifth in our future. This is not a 5-star luxury dive resort, but it IS a clean, comfortable, friendly lodge for divers and snorkelers. You will not ever need to wear even flip-flops while you're on the property. Rooms are big enough for ALL your gear- nice screened in porches have a small table, chairs and a hammock to rest in after a tough day diving. Beds very comfortable, pillows a bit lumpy. Showers have enough hot water even when the boat returns and everyone runs to shower before lunch/dinner. Kisty and Alice (owner and manager respectively) are very helpful, as are all the girls in the office. Queen Ann, the bartender (and so much more) is a major part of the lodge, and goes out of her way to make you comfortable and happy. Upon arrival, you are provided with a welcome drink (Queen Ann's rum punch is fabulous) while you are given a briefing for how the days/dives/meals work and provide your C card/DAN info. A welcome bottle of red wine will be in your room- if you like red wine, ask Queenie to exchange it for white- seriously. The lodge is only a 3-10 minute walk to town (through town?...there are stores all along the 'road'- just be aware of the golf carts/moped/scooters). Meals are buffet style- good home cooking and plenty of it. There is no pool, but there is a deck with chairs/hot tub, and ladder into water, where you can swim or snorkel.

Now for the diving- WOW WOW WOW. This is pretty easy diving, so is good for beginners. But it is also incredible diving, so just as good for advanced. It's a great place to improve your photography as there is macro as well as some bigger life (turtles, barracuda, ...). We had a snorkeler on our boat, and he said the snorkeling was excellent (a few times he saw just as much as we did!). Our dive masters this year were Dan and Little Willie. Boat captain Albert took over as dive master a couple times. You can't go wrong with any of them- they know where to find 'stuff', they are extremely safety conscious and they all have personality plus. The first day you set up your own gear, and after that dive masters will change over tanks if you want them to. At end of day's diving, you are only responsible for rinsing/hanging your wet suit. Dive masters rinse all other gear and store in locked area overnight, then set it back up in your 'spot' on the boat in the morning.
To sum up, we LOVE this place- everything about it- I can't think of one negative (other than that red wine and the pillows...)

Room Tip: Staying on bottom floor is easier to cart gear. Room A has great view of water (they all have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

First let me say this was my 8th time to stay at Utila Lodge, but my first time to take my boys who are newer divers (13 and 11). We continue to go back to Utila Lodge as the staff is amazing and your stay is very consistant.
You will get GREAT diving, both due to the locations selected and the amazing divemasters.
You will get good food that the kids LOVED, that has healthy choices and a lot of diversity.
You will get a very friendly staff all with the desire to ensure you are enjoying your trip.
We were worried if there would be enough for the boys to do. When the weather was great this was not an issue at all, from kayak rides, to fishing, jumping off the peer and amazing diving. When the weather was challenging, they became pool experts thanks to some kind guests willing to give them a lesson or two.
The diving is set up where the younger one and I could easily stay above the group and have just as good of a dive as the ones down deep.
We have dove a lot of locations and in very few can you find seahorses, rays, wide variety of fish, banded coral shrimp and dolphins. It was a memorable experience for all of us.
Kisty the owner and her family are dedicated to ensuring the best experience for their guest. If you need anything just ask.
Remember to bring some skin so soft, it is an island that has bugs, but with the skin so soft we did not have issues.
If you are a family and our concerned about this being in Honduras, it is not that type of experience since it is a small island. We never had any worries over our safety or the safety of our boys.
It is hard to find the diving trip that is great for all level of divers, Utila Lodge is that location and one where we will be going back to in the near future.
Oh and if you find yourself there at Thanksgiving (like we were), you will enjoy a full turkey meal which was lovely. I actually felt under dressed for the ocassion.

Room Tip: All the rooms are over the water so you can enjoy the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Utila Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utila Lodge

Address: Main Street, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise as it was intended! Set out over the turquoise Caribbean waters in the calm Utila Bay, surrounded by spectacular coral reefs, Utila Lodge is the perfect place for a relaxing getaway or adventure vacation. Let us greet you with personalized service and five star hospitality! Come and experience the casual charm of this family owned and operated resort. Purchased in 1993 by Jim and Kisty Engel, Utila Lodge has been transformed into the warm and welcoming haven that it is today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Utila Hotel Utila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utila Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.