We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute get away from it all bliss.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Laguna Beach Resort to your Saves list
Laguna Beach Resort
Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Absolute get away from it all bliss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Laguna Beach is idyllic. If you want to get away, with no clocks, no TV, no internet and just the most amazing views and the most bend over backwards staff, then this place is for you. We stayed in the beach house, a two bedroom cottage, directly on the beach and separate from most of the other rooms. It's great for a family, both the rooms are ensuite. There's not a lot to do apart from dive, but that's why most people come, and the dive school is awesome. The boats are big Newton 42s and the skipper to aim for if possible is Kerry, he found us huge numbers of dolphins every day and we snorkeled with them - truly magical. Kerry's mum made us baked goods, magnificent and Belle the divemaster found everything from the smallest lettuce slug to the largest turtles. It really was a great trip. Bring a clock radio or something for the room so that you stand a chance of making it to the dive on time, though the sun pouring in at 5.30 is likely to help wake you. Oh - and the food was superb, buffet style and really really tasty and some of the best soups I've ever had. I've not been to any of the other resorts on Utila, but I can pretty much guarantee that this is the best! (Oh - and the trip over on the small plane was fabulous as well. Best bar in town with lovely view - Tranquillo. Worth seeing - cos it's so bizarre - Treetonices bar at Jade's Seahorse - that place is something else!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here with a group one night before a week long trip on the Utila Agressor. I am thinking we paid over $300 for the two of us for one night. We were told it was all inclusive and that is true for the food but drinks, including soft drinks, were extra. If the diving is included in the price, which it may be, the price is probably not so out of line for the folks who are staying there to dive. Since we were just relaxing before our trip we didn't dive and feel the price paid was too much for the services received.

We arrived and were welcomed by a friendly staff and treated to chips and salsa. Our rooms were assigned for our group of appx. 16 people. None of us had air conditioning on in the rooms and they were very hot. We had to figure out for ourselves how to operate the units but later on that night we were sufficiently cool. Also several of us had no hot water and figured out on our own, (after reporting to the desk the problem with no results) that the breakers were cut off. Cut them on and an hour later had hot water. If we were staying for several days this may be tolerable but for one night with a large group it seems as if they would have had our a/c and hot water on when we arrived.

The food was adequate but not spectacular and the Friday night barbeque was average at best. We only had BBQ chicken and a few sides to choose from. I must say that Utila is a very poor island and this is the nicest place to stay that we saw there. You really don't have much choice unless you stay in one of the mom/pop places which would probably offer you more for less but without the atmosphere. If I were diving from the island and doing a long trip I would probably return. For an overnight trip I would figure something else out.

Also the resort is not really adjacent to anything and you have to take the water taxi to the inhabited part of the island. If you are a non diver you would probably get bored here. Several of us were out of things to do on Saturday AM waiting on time to board the Agressor. The wireless internet works good in the commons area. The hammocks and private docks over the lagoon are a plus and if you want to just chill the place is perfect. There are no phones or TV's in the rooms. We liked the atmosphere but again had we been most anywhere else could have been in alot better accomodations for the money spent.

Room Tip: Any room "O" or greater will be a long walk to the restraunt, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton OH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great place to dive and relax. Solid boats, capable and friendly staff, and plenty of enjoyable dive locations. Captain Wagner and Dive Master Adam are a great team. If everything else on the resort had been just so-so, their ability to bring us great dives would make the trip worthwhile. They bring a great combination knowledge, skill, and humor to produce daily dives that are enjoyable and educational. Adam is able to explain a dive plan better than any dive master I (and most of our experienced group) has ever seen. Plenty of marine life to be seen (including dolphin).

Add to the diving, comfortable rooms, very good food, beautiful sunrises and sunsets and you have a great experience.

Bring plenty of sun screen and the strongest repellant you can handle as the no-see-ums are plentiful.

First night's sleep may be tough because of the loud music from across the lagoon, but that is just for a night or two.

Stick with water, coffee and beer and you won't go wrong for beverages.

Great trip, well worth the price!

Room Tip: Just check the A/C as soon as you get your room. Aside from that, all cabins seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently spent a week at Laguna and really feel it best not to say the diving was some of the best I have experienced as I would rather keep the location as a secret. The reefs were unspoiled to say the least. If your a sea horse fan this location is sure to please - we saw a "herd" at one site alone (five horses) and also saw a lined sea horse and a pipe horse. While we did not see a whale shark we were fortunate to come across a pod of dolphins and were able to enjoy time in the water with them. Adam was our divemaster and he is one the best I have experienced. Wagner was the boat captain and again a total pro.
We had a duplex room with two doubles for the three of us and it was plenty roomy. The shower is big and there is lots of hot water. Food served was very good, and as it was a buffet you could have as much as you wanted. You may find better food at other resorts but not likely at this price range.
All in all our only regret was a week wasn't long enough to enjoy Laguna Beach and I am already planning my return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had heard about Laguna Beach Resort from undercurrent.org and were not
disappointed! Nice airconditioned cabins over the water, great water
pressure, jugs of drinking water in each room. Dive staff, especially
Adam, was outstanding! Took the time to show us the "little
stuff"..."herd of seahorses", tiny shrimp, nudibranchs, etc.
Captain went looking for whalesharks while on surface interval. One day
came across 12 dolphin swimming with the boat, the captain said to jump in
with mask, fins and snorkles on, so we did and in minutes were surrounded
by dolphin swimming past us! Awesome! Food was local and tasty, always
plenty to eat! Bartender, Manuel, was polite and professional. Bring lots
of bug spray! Only downside was the no-see-um's and mosquitos!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Laguna Beach Resort for four nights in June, 2012. We had Bungalow Q which was the 2nd from the far end (I am not sure why they put us way down there when other closer bunglaows were available.) The room was nicely furnished with a very comfortable king size bed (however the first night we did not have a blanket, only a sheet.) The shower was small but functional. The air conditioning worked well as well as the ceiling fan. The room faced the west and hence nice sunset views. The meals were very well done, plentiful with many choices. They had a nice bar with many drink selections. The eating room area was very large and warm as they only had the air conditioning on once in the evening during our stay. The other times the windows were open, but still a bit uncomfortably warm. They were still working on the upstairs tv room when we were there, once completed it will be a nice addition for those wanting to catch up with news, sports, etc. The pool was wonderful, very large and clean. As snorkelers, our package include two snorkel trips a day. Sometimes we went out with the divers and sometimes alone as we were the only snorkelers there at that time. But at all times, we had our own designated snorkel guide (Maria, very great). The boats were very clean and well maintained with great drivers. The snorkeling was great. Unfortunately we had some wind during the last half of our trip which made the seas a bit rough and we had to cancel two snorkel trips. Special staff recognition to Greg who was working there temporarily while we were there. Always friendly and helpful. Part time bartender, painter and jack of all trades. Had read about the bad sand flies on this island, but only had a few bites while we were there (used baby oil and mosquito spray.) Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

we had a great week at LBR. The resort is definitely oriented toward diving, but there are things to do if you're not a diver (kayaking, horseback riding, poolside sunning). the diving wass awesome, as was our DM, bel, and our boat captain, Kerry. Manwell was in charge of the bar, and made sure we wanted for nothing. our room was well-kept. the food was great---very local, with great fruit and amazing pickled onions. we dove nitrox, which costs extra, but they let you know beforehand, so no problem there. my only issue about the island was the bugs: omg. I got chewed up wearing an organic repellent when the wind was up. And when the wind died down and the island went still, even DEET wasn't enough. the only other issue I had was with the way luggage was transported from Utila to Roatan---my party of 4 had to wait 2 hours for our baggage to catch up with us. A minor gripe, but one that could have been avoided if the transport schedule had been managed better. all in all, a very decent experience. two thumbs up, divers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Resort

Address: Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Laguna Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Utila
Laguna Beach Utila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.