We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catering to those looking for a quiet peaceful escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Laguna Beach Resort to your Saves list
Laguna Beach Resort
Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Catering to those looking for a quiet peaceful escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The time spent was wonderfully relaxing. It was quiet and well supported by the staff. We spent time relaxing at the pool and snorkelling in the reef surrounding the Resort. While the Resort is set well apart from the the town we were always just a quick boat ride away from town, which was easily arranged.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    36
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Eight of us stayed, 6 divers, 2 non. Staff was the best! Felicia, Amanda, Liza, Erin, Franklin, DM, Adam and Sheena, and our favorite, Wagner, the boat captain. The two cooks did an outstanding job, every meal was hot and delicious. They even served appetizers when we went to the bar after the afternoon dive. The accommodations are simple but comfortable. A/C was good, housekeeping good. Pool was clean but unfortunately with the hot weather not too refreshing but felt good after dives and snorkling. Umbrellas by the pool would be nice. Because of other people throwing garbage in ocean it would come ashore but they were resolving that with putting large rocks on the breakwater. Snorkeling was great. The bugs and sand flies? Not much they can do. Just spray yourself down, especially your feet and legs before you leave your cabin. Keep up the good work LBR

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at LBR for one week in late August. LBR is probably one of, if not the, nicest places to stay on undeveloped Utila. The staff at the resort were so accommodating - special thanks to Felicia, Adam, and Wagner, for making our dive vacation unforgettable. For those looking for a luxurious pampered experience, look elsewhere. Utila is all about the diving. The accommodations were comfortable and private, but not pampering. The grounds were ok, but the resort could use about 500 tons of sand to replenish what storms have undoutedly washed-away. The food was filling, though not terribly exotic or from-the-sea (ate a surprising amount of chicken or beef for being on an island). Dinner is served a bit early for our tastes, but we had a small group at the resort that week (10), so meals were truly like just hanging out with friends. Drinks are a bit expensive when compared to what things cost in Utila Town. Our recommendation is to buy a bottle of rum or two and stash in your room. It makes for easy mixing with sodas/juices, and ice is easy to obtain from the bar.

We recommend this resort more for its' dive operations than anything else. Make sure you visit when Adam is working your boat - he's without a doubt the best DiveMaster on the island!

Room Tip: Several of the cabins have been recently renovated. Ask for one of those cabins. Make sure you com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed for one week here as part of our honeymoon. We also stayed in Utila's main street area too so we got to know the area and expore the main part of the island well.

FIRST IMPRESSION was a very warm welcome as soon as we arrived to Utila's main jetty (we arrived by boat) and from there transport was arranged instantly. Utila is a tiny island with a big atmospere, a lot safer, easy to get around and more friendly than Roatan. Everyone seems to know each other too.

THE RESORT has the sea on one side, a river fed lagoon on the other so you feel away from it all. Yet there are plenty of options which I will list in the next section. Laguna Bay Resort is kept clean and I saw people consistantly working on the sand and pool. Fresh water shower right next to it and the beach is great. Gear we were supplied was clean. Rooms were clean and nice little touches like fresh flowers and how the towels were folded different and artistically each day made us smile! Best of all the resort was nto too busy or crowded at all, numbers are limited and this means you can choose to be with or away from others as you wish when you wish.

THE PEOPLE the staff and owners themselves were helpful, going out of their way to make us feel welcome. updated on information, local advice because we like to explore, taking us to and from the resort by boat when requested, organising custom trips by boat, getting gear ready for the next day and so on. Ten out of ten.

INSECTS I have read some comments about insects. I am an experienced traveller and do not expect "away" to be like "home." When in an exotic place I wear long, cool thin material trousers to shade my legs from the sun and to make it impossible to be bitten, or i wear ankle covering socks when using shorts and expect a few bites on my legs unless I wear repellent (which is sold in the resort if you forget it)

Seeing the wonderful wildlife - two types of iguana including a rare indigenous one only found in Utila, gekos and so on more than makes up for having to use common sense and/or repellent. Spot the iguanas by walking slowly around the resort or watchign the rocks by the pool!

DINING was always something to look forward to at Laguna. A home made selection that will please everyone is sserved as a buffet allowing you to pick and choose... and come back for more! Even homeade cookies. Sometimes we ate outside under the shelter of the beach house, or usually in the airconditioned restaurant. Fantastic food.

ACTIVITIES can be relaxing like spend a day by pool, on the beach reading, in the shade of the beach bar socialising with the few others, taking the boat to Utila's main street to wander and see the sights and try restaurants (many excellent ones there of all types of food) or take a free single or double canoe on the lagoon and even up the river to cross the whole island on a full day adventure. A lounge area in the restaurant has plenty of books and magazines to relax and read or borrow - a very nice touch.

Yet there is plenty to do if you wish to, like scuba dive, which seems to be highly organised and refined as they do it there every day, several times a day! However we could also snorkel at leisure from the peir there and observe plenty of exciting fish and plants. Trips to see the whale sharks are a must and you can get into the water and obserbve them and have the thrill of your life watching these 50foot long ones catch huge tuna.

We had a very enjoyable time in this little resort which has a lot to offer and is very hospitable. Heaven for divers too. Relax, and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had a Great Time…….. But

We have just returned from a wonderful dive holiday at Laguna Beach Resort in Utila and for the most part were very pleased with the resort. There is a very relaxed atmosphere and everyone is on Island Time, so when we were told that dinner was to be served at 7:00 pm we could always expect to eat slightly later than that. The meals were very good and had a homemade feel to them so it made up for the wait, it also gave us more time to get to know the other guests. We were on holiday so we didn’t really care. I give kudos to the kitchen staff, the boat captains, the dive staff, who all went out of their way to make sure that we received everything that we asked for and made our holiday awesome. And a special thanks to Felecia (hope I spelled it right) whom we feel went above and beyond the call of duty to keep the resort operating properly. Don't really know when she slept!

We had beautiful weather (80 deg + every day) and had the opportunity to meet some great people from all over!

Our Divemaster and Boat captain were amazing as they had us off of the docks and into the water quicker than the other boats, so we got to choose the best dive sites and return to the resort earlier than everybody else. There weren't a huge number of larger fish to look at but our dives were always entertaining and we did manage to find something on every dive to chase after to get pictures of. Unfortunately we missed the Whale Sharks but that just gives us a reason to return.

Having made this resort sound like paradise, we were not without our share of unexpected and unwanted situations that put us off a little throughout our stay. As other reviewers have stated, the travel in and out of the resort will try your patience fully if you allow it to.

Arrival
We arrived in Roatan and were told that someone would meet us to take us to Utila, we were in a group of eight guests who sat in the airport for roughly 2 hours, and the only communication we had with the resort was through a Porter in the airport. We were told that they couldn’t find the pilot to come and get us? This seemed odd as the resort was aware of our time of arrival months in advance and we had assumed arrangements would have been made for the charter flights. We finally arrived but our luggage didn’t come with us because we were shuttled to Utila in a plane that squeezed in only 3 people with one sitting up front in the co-pilots seat. The luggage later arrived on a boat, which is understandable considering the size of the shuttle planes, but it would have been less stressful had we been informed about the procedure for luggage transfer prior to arrival. Walking away from your luggage and dive gear in a foreign country is a bit disconcerting to say the least.
Departure
We did not receive notification of our departure times until late Friday night when we were walking over to enjoy dinner. (6:45 pm) We had gone into Utila town earlier in the day to enjoy some final hours in "town" after diving so we were not on the property earlier in the day to be told when to be ready to go. We were told that we had to be packed and have our luggage out on the deck of our cottage by 9:00 pm that night for pickup so that it could make the boat in the morning It was a toss up as to whether we should go eat ...or pack up. We chose to go eat...and pack later. We took our luggage to the dock ourselves. When we asked why we weren't informed earlier as to how they handled luggage at departure we were told that the resort didn’t have our departure information therefore couldn't plan the schedule until the last minute. Say what? Again we confirmed our stay months in advance and the contact in the US that we dealt with seemed to have everything organized...it just didn't seem to translate to the manager in Utila???? Nobody wants to think about departure when you are just arriving but the details of how the departure is handled could easily be made available much sooner in the week and people could plan accordingly. This "surprise" created a very stressful evening for us. The resort hosts a wonderful going way meal for its guests on Friday night outside in the pavilion but the general feeling was not one of celebration but one of panic and frustration. What could have been an amazing and enjoyable night turned into a night of frustration. There weren’t very many guests that could stay and enjoy the evening because they had to rush off to frantically try and get luggage ready for pick up that evening. The luggage was not leaving the island that evening just being shuttled to the dock to wait for the boat that would take it in the morning.(a mere minute walk from any of the cabins on the peninsula)...the transfer to the boat was actually happening early in the morning Saturday. It would have been a simple thing to ask people to have their luggage on the docks early the next morning. We are all capable of carrying our luggage a few hundred yards!

It is my opinion that the trials that the guests were put through for arrival and departures did not need to occur, and that the manager responsible for the travel and accommodation at the resort could do a better job if she was more organized (or at least cared - she was mostly absent in terms of interacting with guests the whole week and when she did interact it was with a mood of crabbiness - I guess even in paradise you can be a grouch). The group of people at the resort our week all were very easy going and fun to be around so the manager had absolutely NO REASON to be a grouch. It occurs to us that there are guests arriving and leaving the resort weekly and a system should already be in place to make the transfers more efficient. I can only assume that if the local companies that supply the travel for the resort receive the same attitude that I observed some of the guests receive from this manager, the cooperation level from them would be non-existent. We paid for a "charter flight" so were some of the last guests to leave the resort on departure day...the guests that had been shuffled off much earlier that morning were still waiting on the tarmac when we arrived at the airport to be put directly on our charter. What in the world was the rush to get those guests off the resort?!?!?! They sat at the airport for hours! I realize that the staff need a day off as well as time to prepare for the next week's guests but...really such a sad way to end a wonderful week.

Just be prepared for some of these hiccups...the diving was fabulous and the week really was great.

“poor planning on your part, does not constitute an emergency on my part”

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We spent a week at LBR with a group of 24 from our local dive shop. The reef life was excellent with an abundance of corals and fish. We only we able to dive one night due to wind. The resort made the decision to limit our dives and didn't offer any compensation in return. The pool was green and dirty, it was worked on most days but still it didn't get any better. The rooms were clean and comfortable. My husband and I didn't experience the bug problem that some of the others in our group did. The wind seemed to keep most of the bugs away, when it wasn't windy we used a natural bug repellent and we slept the the a.c. on and the windows closed. The meals were good, but there was no effort to keep the food hot (or cold). We didn't get a hot meal all week, especially if we were late for a meal or last in line. The gear room, rinse tanks and drying racks were well setup. We had a pleasant stay, but still we won't rush back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

A group of 9 of us just returned from a week at the Laguna Beach Resort. I wouldn't really call it a "resort" - it's more like staying in a friend's comfortable cabin...Although it's basic in terms of accomodations, it is exactly what I expected. The staff works hard to accomodate guests and everyone is very friendly. The divers in our group enjoyed the diving but were slightly frustrated with their "first week on the job" dive master which was unfortunate.

Positives: The kitchen staff did a great job - food was basic but good, the resort staff shuttled us to town by boat whenever we asked, and the diving in terms of marine life and coral was outstanding.

Annoyances: Getting to the resort itself was challenging as the person assinged to greet us in San Pedro really did not seem to have a clue as what she was doing or where we should be going and was good at disappearing in the airport (leaving us hanging) only to reappear later still clueless - this went on for two-plus hours before we finally boarded the prop plane for the 30 minute ride to the island. It was VERY frustrating - particularly after traveling all day.

Communication was oftentimes contradictory and changed depending upon whom you spoke with. The pool was NEVER really clean eventhough staff worked on it every day - not sure what the problem was, the grounds were semi-clean but there was a lot of debris in and near the water such as shoes, diapers, plastic bottles and all sorts of gross stuff. There were individuals who attempted to maintain the grounds but would do things like rake the beach then leave the piles of junk near the water - then when the tide came in it would pull it all back out to sea - this happened every day as we watched in amazement, talk about "job security"!

Summary: The diving was great, the food was ok, the pool and grounds REALLY need work. If Laguna Beach wants repeat visitors, the resort management needs to be reassessed and they need to start running a tighter ship ASAP. Unfortunately for them, there are way too many less expensive, easier-to-get-to locations in the world - the general concensus of our group is that we would not hurry back...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
1.1 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
1.1 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#9 of 9 in Utila
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
24.7 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.1 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 16 in Utila
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nightland Cabins at JadeSeahorse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Resort

Address: Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Laguna Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Utila
Laguna Beach Utila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.