We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De-li-cious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foo King Wok

Foo King Wok
Main Street | In Front of Tranquila Bar, Honduras
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Utila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“De-li-cious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First, I wasn't very keen on eating Chinese food in Utila since I usually prefer having local food wherever I travel but it was definitely the right plan! We had a delicious dinner there! The food was just excellent and plates were abundant: we were warned beforehand so we had 3 different dishes that we shared between 5 and still we had more than enough. And the service was very good too, I would definitely recommend it!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utila, Honduras
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“This is our go-to place on Utila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I live on Utila with my two kids and this is our favorite place in town for dinner! Yes, it costs a little more than many of the other places, but they use fresh ingredients and we order two dishes for the three of us and can not finish them and have leftovers every time for lunch the next day (a lot of leftovers!). The curry is always great!! The bill for us usually runs $25-$30 USD for everything (food, drinks, tip)- which I find very reasonable for what we get. They open at 6 (only on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday) and there is usually a line, so get there early. Plan on an hour and a half or so for dinner. Enjoy a beer and chill out!! They make each dish to order and it takes a while- well worth the wait. BTW- they have the best iced tea on the island. I really can't believe this place is ranked #8 in Utila- it should be in the top 3 IMHO.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great food and very plentiful once we received it. We were the first into the restaurant when it opened but there seemed to be preference given to the locals for getting their food out first.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent food but pricey and a LONG wait!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ate here tonight after reading the rave reviews on TripAdvisor and developing a craving for some Chinese!
The place was busy with people even eating outside however we were lucky enough to strike the last empty table and were talking to one of the two friendly waitresses within 10 mins. When seeing the size of the dishes coming out we decided on one appetiser and one main to share.
The takeaway line got so long that at one point it was out the door, however it turns out that Take Away seemed to be the fastest option. As we sat and waited, two large groups (roughly 6 in each) sat down and ordered and they too began to wait.
After an hour of waiting and still no sign of food we ordered another drink. After the two groups had been waiting roughly an hour they both cancelled their orders and took off in search of food elsewhere.
After over an hour and a half wait we were finally served our meal which was a welcome break from the typical Central American cuisine but nothing to write home about.
Then the bill arrived and were a little shocked to realise that an apertiser, a main and two sodas cost 440Lps (US$22)!
Overall, decent food but the wait was outrageous and cost was ridiculously high for what you get in relation to other restaurants on the island.
PS the restaurant is only open Mon, Wed and Fri.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is next to parrots dive shop and tranquila and the smell radiates out like an invitation.
I visited on one of the days they were not open normally and so it was specially for an event we had.
I was the only vegetarian and they made me a special stirfry that could have happily have served 2 people, as well as 2 types of rice.
Absolutely amazing! The staff are genuine and friendly, it was a pleasure to eat here and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foo King Wok also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to Foo King Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foo King Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.