We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of France in The Middle of Nowhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Lola

Chez Lola
Pinepoint Beach, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chez Lola est situe au sud d'Utila, a Pine Point. Apres une ballade en bateau d'environ 15 minutes, vous decouvrirez une plage de sable blanc ou Lola et Sebastien vous accueuilleront dans une ambiance detendue et elegante. Vous pourrez profiter du couche de soleil avec un aperitif, puis vous serez invite a vous assoire a LA table d'hote nappee et dressee a la francaise. Vous pourrez deguster les mets du chef prepares grace a une selection de produits locaux . Un large choix de vins, spiritueux et cigars sont a votre disposition. Vous pourrez les apprecier pres des feux de bois sous les etoiles.
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Taste of France in The Middle of Nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just when you think you've reached paradise...bags are unpacked, you've dipped your toes in the surprisingly warm water, and you're eagerly anticipating another spectacular sunset here on the tiny Western Caribbean island of Utila, you find an unexpected gem in an already rich treasure chest: Chez Lola.

If you're fortunate enough to be vacationing on the South Shore of Utila, or across the protected strait on the charming Utila Cays, Chef Sebastian will personally tool up in his custom-made catamaran for the fifteen minute trip at sunset (where you may be accompanied by a pod of dolphins), to the secluded little combination house/restaurant in which he and his lovely wife Lola live and work, preparing the most surprising and luscious food on the island, if not in all of Honduras.

Reasonably priced, your sumptuous and beautifully-presented meal includes a cocktail or glass of wine, appetizer, main and dessert courses. What makes the whole experience unique is the setting...on the beach, under a lighted canopy, on rustic hand-made tables and seating. It's not a walk-in kind of place, so be prepared to meet new and interesting folks from all over the world, all of whom want to be there.

If you're staying in Utila town, you can arrange your transporation at Bush's Market, on Main Street.

You're already staying in a one-of-a-kind place in Utila, you really shouldn't miss an opportunity to dine, really dine, under the stars at Chez Lola.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    4
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Elegance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our local friends took us to Chez Lola for dinner a couple of days ago while on a diving trip in Utila. The chef, Sebastian came and picked us and other guests up on his nice boat and took us to Chez Lola. The restaurant is located on a beautiful beach where there was an elegant table awaiting us. They served drinks while the finishing touches where made on our 3 course meal. The food was amazing and so fresh! The lobster was pulled out of a cage right when we arrived. We had red snapper, chicken and lobster. I watched chef Sebastian fillet the fresh snapper and prepare some of the other food. The service was top notch and the food delicious! We could warm ourselves by the fire while others finished their meal. When everyone was done Sebastian took us back home. Truly an amazing meal and everyone who visits Utila should experience Chez Lola!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a magical experience! And a culinary delight! Seated under the stars, on a beautiful beach, at a single table, eating some of the best food I have ever eaten. Sebastian and Lola know how to not only prepare a Delicious meal, but how to present it. If you visit Utila, you must eat at least once at Chez Lola. It is one of my fondest memory's of my visit to the island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first night in Utila was made magical by our dining experience at Lola's. Every moment was wonderful, from Sebastien's smiling and adroit navigation of his boat all the way to his expert skills and flare putting finishing touches on dessert (the best crepe suzette I have ever eaten). The meal highlighted fresh, local foods (we had a french style preparation of sushimi, I am salivating remembering it), an enticing selection of beverages, and then the sauces....sigh. All this on a gorgeous beach after a spectacular sunset, with wonderful hosts. If you are in the area, do not miss the chance to dine there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent & Memorable Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sebastien and Lola have got THE most wonderful dining experience in Utila - possibly the entire Western Hemisphere! We caught a boat behind Bush's grocery in town that took us to Sebastien in his "signature" white boat with the red pontoons to transport us the few final shallow feet to the hand-built dock. There, we met Gordon (beautiful white French Bulldog with the most excellent manners) and Lola, greeting us with open arms and lovely smiles.
We were invited to explore their oasis while waiting for the evening's catch. Lola explained how they built their home and restaurant with the help of their "adopted 'local Dad.'" They even generate their own electricity and provide their own water! The entire area is breathtaking.
Sebastien began preparing the "starters" for us and Lola helped us select a great wine while a few of our group (there were 10 of us in all) spotted a ray in the water at the dock. We enjoyed the ray and a spectacular sunset before Lola and Sebastien called us to the table set on the beach under the stars.
As we began our starters, Sebastien went to meet the boat captain bringing in our main course. Not even halfway through the starters, Sebastien was standing before us, introducing us to the beautiful Red Hind (grouper) he was about to prepare!
The meal was fabulous, and topped off with flaming Crepe Suzette, prepared on a stove brought out onto the deck so we could watch the final preparations as Sebastien poured the flaming sauce onto the crepes.
Later, as we reluctantly headed back to the boat, Sebastien and Lola bid us farewell, and said "don't forget to look at the stars!" We did and we saw the perfect ending to a perfect night - billions of stars in sky - more than I have ever seen! The view was truly amazing.
I highly recommend Chez Lola, but must warn you - there is one (1) table at Chez Lola that will hold up to 12 people. This limited seating arrangment insures a feeling of exclusivity and incomparable personal attention. You MUST book your visit, as Chez Lola has up to this point, been Utila's best kept secret. Not for long.
The evening was also surprisingly affordable: 300 Lempira (about $15 USD) for the boat ride from town, and 500 Lempira (about $25 USD for the meal), plus beverages and tips. They could easily charge much more for this truly unique and memorable experience, but they don't want to.
I feel incredibly honored and blessed to have experienced this evening, and when I make my next trip to Utila, I will be sure to book my Chez Lola reservation immediately. Even if I have to move my flights around to make sure I get a seat at the banquet table of Sebastien and Lola (and Gordon, of course)!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezLola, Owner at Chez Lola, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for supporting us, we were very happy to welcome you.

With your help we are how n: 1 .

Thank you again, we Will be the same,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Lola also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to Chez Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Lola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.