We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and quiet part of town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margarita Bay

Hotel Margarita Bay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Margarita Bay
Sandy Bay, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very Clean and quiet part of town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The only complaint I have is that the bed was not comfy but that is personal preference. Carmen speaks English well and is so sweet and kind. She was sewing a ton of purple material for curtains on the wrap around porch. It was nice to have a room with CLEAN window coverings. One cover was a net for bugs. Windows had screens but still those tiny bugs get thru. But they really worked pretty well. The only grimy thing was the light switch cover which I don't understand how it was overlooked as it was pretty dirty. The shower was hot.

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the back so we had lots of windows. Did not need AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was our first time to Utila and we stayed at the Margarita Bay Hotel's cabin on the ocean. The view was outstanding. The cabin clean and wonderful. Carmen was very hospitable. I recommend this hotel over others in Utila due to the location!

Room Tip: I suggest the cabin on the ocean over their others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good price compering to other i checkd in utila ,for 2 persones,its location is around 10 to 15 minutes from the center but on the other hand its one minute from the beach,rooms are very compty and with space oweners nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottenbach, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Margarita Villa Bay resort is a lovely Caribean pink house with a huge Balcony all around were you can sit and enjoy the lovely view at the sea or the lagoon. It is next to the public beach and the closest for a walk to the snorkellocation at Coral view. Bessie is a helpfull lady and every morning coffee is served downstairs for the guest. The rooms ans beds are very basic and you have to improvise to get your fan on the right place and so on.The bathroom is not so clean but the shower is hot. The Wifi is working well. We visited the bay islands in February, in the "no-see-ums" period ... so you can imagine that there were a lot of bugs flying around. In march, when the wind picks up, these ugly animals are gone. Fact is that I was eaten by No-see-ums on the normal moskito places but also had like 40 bites at the back of my body and legs, in my hair and back of my neck. This happened after we changed room from the back to the front (the lock was broken and we could not open the door anymore from the inside). Even now, after a long thought I suspect Bedbugs in the last room and I am still washing and cleaning all my stuff at home, because it was awful. My husband had no moskito or bugbites at all, I must say. Bessie promised to clean and spray the room and I'm sure she did so.. Apart from the bugissue the Margarita Ville is a cheap and nice place to stay..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend. It is basic however for $19 a night you definetly can't go wrong. There were three beds in our room air conditioning and the best hot water I have found since leaving canada 2 months ago. The hosts were pleasant and willing to go find little extra's for you. The view was great and the restaurant across the way was delicious huge portions and cheap. Definetly would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days at the end of December. On the plus side the Margarita Bay is away from all the bars and hubbub of downtown Utila. The proprietors, Carmen and Bessie, are very pleasant. That said, this is an extremely basic hotel. It's clean but be advised it's almost like camping indoors. Towels are thread bare. The bathroom sink has only cold water. There are no reading lights next to the beds. Our room had a tiny closet in the bathroom. The hotel is also located next to a lagoon which makes for buggy evenings.
If you are going to spend all your time diving and just come here to sleep and don't want to spend money, go for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Margarita Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margarita Bay

Address: Sandy Bay, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Utila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margarita Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Margarita Bay to your Saves list