We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best fish in Utila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RJ's Barbecue

RJ's Barbecue
Main Street, East Side before the Lagoon Bridge | Across from Alton's Dive Shop, Honduras
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Utila
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean, Barbecue, Central American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best fish in Utila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great place. They have great choice of fishes. Plate comes with potato, cole saw and rice I think. Large portions. And it is only 135L. Pork and stake are good as well, but little more expensive

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    21
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fantastic food and very reasonably priced for what it is. Generally around $6 for chicken, fish etc., or about $8 for steak.

When we went there, they even had some lamb on the menu, and this was practically the first time that we had seen lamb in Central America. Other options included steak, barracuda, king fish, snapper, tuna, chicken, hamburger ($5). All come with a mountain of sides, including rice, baked beans, garlic bread, salad and sweetcorn.

You should arrive early if you haven't booked, i.e. before 6.30pm.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant is only open three nights a week and the nights it's open it packs out. We went early to get a table (6pm) as we were told it gets so busy and they run out of food. You pick your seafood, pork, chicken or steak that you want and it comes with lots of sides: pasta salad, corn, rice, baked beans and bread. I got the snapper and it was so delicious, grilled on a BBQ out the back. This is one of the more moist seafoods, one of the group got the Wahu and it was quite dry. Good value for money but get there early. Also the bathroom is very clean.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great grill place for fresh fish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a well known local restaurant famous for the grilled fish. They are not open every day, but the dishes are grilled fresh caught fish, but they also have a pork chop and steak.
They do list all the dishes on a large black board and as they ran out, they are scratch.
We had a King fish and a Snapper, they were both great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One word...Rumanades!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Let me start by saying that I never EVER eat at a restaurant more than once on vacation. I went to RJ's 3, count em...3...times in one week. The food is fresh and the best value you will find on the island. Aside from the amazing food, the Rumanades were to die for!!! They go down deceptively easy for the excessive amount of rum and splash of lemonade that is in them. Just be careful if you are planning and early morning dive :) The staff is friendly and efficient. Yummmmmmmmmm!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RJ's Barbecue also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to RJ's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RJ's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.