We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last...a hamburger not made from shoe sole !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Mama's Cafe

Big Mama's Cafe
The Point of Utila, Honduras
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 27 Restaurants in Utila
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary, Central American
Restaurant details
Stephenville, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“At last...a hamburger not made from shoe sole !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Popped into Big Mama's today because I was told it was the islands best burger. So far, I must agree. The meat was flavorful and tender.... WHAT ? On Utila ? LOL !
It wasn't overcooked but it wasn't an American style burger. The tomato was diced as was the lettuce. No pickles and onion and slathered in ketchup. I told them how it should be prepared and will see what happens. The world is goofy when it comes to reinventing the wheel. It was clean and friendly and based on all that I ranked it above average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Nice place ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We popped in to have a snack and the food was pretty good.
I had a veggie burrito ($2) and my wife had the green salad ($2) and we both enjoyed our food.
Service was pretty quick and the place has a cool little setup.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“My go-to place in Utila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place is awesome. The staff are lovely, and the food is great. Its a quiet little cafe-looking spot on the main street. The prices are very good, although the portions could have been a tiny bt bigger, but still good for the price.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland , NY USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Real Homemade Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Utila is full of paces to get inexpensive bar food and "American-style" fare.
Big Mama's is frequented by locals, as well as visitors, because they provide a menu of regional favorites. Inexpensive & tasty.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Baleadas for lunch - yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Reliable, friendly, and inexpensive - great choices for lunches (never did get there for dinner, too bad): my favourite was the (regular) baleada with chicken -but have the "super" baleada if you are extra extra hungry!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mama's Cafe also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to Big Mama's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Mama's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.