We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Jimmy Buffet would come here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Cafe

Driftwood Cafe
Sandy Bay, Honduras
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Utila
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Driftwood Cafe Bar and Grill sits over the Caribbean Sea. The East Wind is usually always blowing. There is an outside Dock and Open Veranda to enjoy. We seat up to 75 people. A Great place to watch a sunset, swim, snokel or dive.The Food is Awesome and we have a great staff..Come enjoy the day with us, or dinner or hang out at the Bar.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Feels like Jimmy Buffet would come here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a couple of good meals here during our recent visit to Utila. The food is American-style, tasty and reasonably priced - I had a big burger for around $6 and a very generous portion of fish and chips for around $10. Can't beat the oceanfront view, and it was kind of fun find ourselves singing along to "Low Places" and "Wagon Wheel." Seems like a popular hangout for ex-pat locals - the crowd at the bar looked like they would have had a lot of stories to tell of their time on Utila.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    35
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This bay front restaurant has a wonderful location directly over the sea. The open air concept lets the breeze blow through all the time. We enjoyed the margaritas and had the nachos and the fresh fish special. Really good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Geat sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great location on a pier where you can watch sun go down.I believe it's american owned and the menue is very americanized.Service was great and food very good,price reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great food and cold beer. All served on a dock over the sea. Great prices and a good place to make new friends

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I loved every meal I had there. All the ingredients are really fresh and the portions are very generous.

I was a bit uptset that they don't prepare soft portions. If you don't wanna share a dish, probably you will spent a little more than you would like to.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Cafe also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to Driftwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.