We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great porkchops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Cafe

Driftwood Cafe
Sandy Bay, Honduras
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 36 Restaurants in Utila
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Description: Driftwood Cafe Bar and Grill sits over the Caribbean Sea. The East Wind is usually always blowing. There is an outside Dock and Open Veranda to enjoy. We seat up to 75 people. A Great place to watch a sunset, swim, snokel or dive.The Food is Awesome and we have a great staff..Come enjoy the day with us, or dinner or hang out at the Bar.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
“Great views, great porkchops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had a few meals at Driftwood during my recent visit to Utila, and each one was terrific. The superstar, for me, were the pork chops (enormous and perfectly seasoned), but the mashed potatoes weren't far behind, and the fish fingers are also very good. The staff is nice and friendly, and its a great place to spend a few hours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    41
    17
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great dinner great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Utila is a really interesting island. Very simple and charming. The Driftwood is an open air dining spot and bar. We had wonderful fish and great burgers. The ribs were excellent. We went there several times during our 12 days on Utila and enjoyed it each time

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite hangout in Utila.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great affordable food,(esp the fish sandwich) and drink,great friendly people.Great service.Open air with the ocean under you.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited Utila for the weekend ( we were a group of 20 visiting from Roatán) . Enjoyed two meal at the driftwood cafe during our stationery. The garlic shrimp and fish burger were fantastic. Very fresh and portion size were very big. Lots of choices for well drinks and upper shelf as well.

We celebrated 3 birthdays while we were in Utila. They allowed us to bring in a cake and everything.
Will definitely be back on out next trip to Utila!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honduras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“meanest burgers in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

in life one comes across many burgers. Some of them are sloppy, most of them are alright, and very few are wicked good. The burgers at Driftwood Café fall on the latter category. They're pricey -for Utila's standards, but they are GOOD.

Also try: fish steak burgers, fish filets, chicken fingers, nachos, etc. Everything is good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Driftwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.