We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

THE PINEAPPLE HOUSE, TRIPADVISOR # 1 UTILA RENTAL

The Pineapple House, on the beach and only 60ft from the water.
The Pineapple House, on the beach and only 60ft from the water.
The Pineapple House, on the beach and only 60ft from the water.
the Pineapple House at Treasure Beach
you can't get much closer to the caribbean sea than this
living room
living room
Utila
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
StaceyNDe...
Larue, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This place is gorgeous! The house and the surrounding country, is picture perfect. Walk out of the house, into the water start snorkeling. We loved our time there and are already planning a trip back. Trish and Dave were wonderful and couldn’t have been more accommodating and fun. But you’ve read all the reviews (all true) and of course you can see the pictures; however, I’m going to tell you what I’m planning on doing differently when we come back in order to avoid some issues so that others might benefit. Use a sun block with an insect repellant such as Bull Frog Mosquito Coast, SPF 30. KEEP APPLYING!! Sunburn, sand fleas & mosquitoes were our main issue, but if you keep up a constant defense, you’ll be fine. While snorkeling, I fell into coral trying to get into my kayak covering my body in coral rash and my husband didn’t keep his sun block applied and burned his backside. This time, when stocking the house for us, I’ll be asking for vinegar to help deactivate the toxins from the coral in case this happens again. I’ll also be bringing ibuprofen, Benadryl & cortisone cream to help with the reactions to all of the above. Pack multiple sarongs. There is nothing better when either burned or covered in coral rash, to hang out in. My husband wore nothing but my sarongs all week! When getting off the catamaran to go the airport, ask the cab drivers “how much” for the ride in front of the drivers and make them haggle or you’ll be paying a lot more than you should once you get to the airport. DO NOT MISS YOUR FLIGHT. There are limited flights out of Atlanta to Honduras and you’ll end up spending a lot of money trying to get re-routed and miss valuable relaxation time. Thanks so much to the Pineapple House team for helping us when we missed our flight!! We loved our week there and can’t wait to get back!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Snorkeling & Skid Row!!
Liked least: Sand fleas & Mosquitos
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Michael S
New York City, New York
1 review
“Nature;s Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

As our boat made it's way to our private dock, we knew it was perfect: The sand beneath our afeet, fresh salt in the air, and not a neighbor in site. The Pineapple House is warm and As As our boat made it's way to our private dock, we knew it was paradise: The sand beneath our feet, fresh salt in the air, and not a neighbor in site. The Pineapple House is warm and inviting, as we entered the kitchen area with fresh fruit displayed ever so elegantly. Each bedroom was spacious and serene; Tranquility in its purest form. Treasure Beach is your ideal Island; a home away from home. Crystal waters and barrier reefs for miles; Nature at it's best. Dave & Trisch are two amazing caretakers who will make your trip worth traveling. We had an ideal balance of privacy & "fun in the sun". From site seeing on the main island of Roatan, to Lion Fish Hunting along the shores of Utila; we never found ourselves without an adventure! Whether you like to cook your own meals or have a chef at your every beck and call; The Pineapple House caters to your every need. Dave & Trisch made our stay so memorable; a trip we would never forget! Not to mention that Dave cooked an AMAZING dinner for us our last night. With that said, stay at your own risk, cause I’m sure you you'd want to stay forever.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The balance of privacy and interactions with the locals.
Liked least: The bugs =)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DeniseWho
Laurel Highlands, PA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private tropical paradise with excellent hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had a spectacular week at Pineapple House. Beautiful beach, gorgeous blue water just as it looks in the photos. The snorkeling is amazing- right from the beach or even better from the dock. Dave & Trish were awesome! Their help & availability made the trip much better than if we were on our own. And they are great company also! We learned so much more about the area from talking to them. Dave & Trish know so many people and it was fun to hang out with some of the locals & hear some interesting stories. As a singer/songwriter, I appreciated Dave going way beyond the call of duty by getting me booked at the Tranquil Bar in Utila town & access to a guitar so I didn't have to drag mine along on planes, boats, & taxis.
Our kids were able to experience a culture quite different from ours. That's just not possible in a tourist area. In my opinion, the people of the Bay Islands are friendly, welcoming, and hard-working (though most are extremely poor). Aside from the crystal clear water, white sand, and beautiful house, the bustling Utila town was an interesting place. We visited iquana station & Jade Seahorse. Dave also arranged a taxi for us when we stepped off the ferry in La Ceiba on our way to Copan Ruinas. It gave us great peace of mind while being in a foreign land & not speaking the language. We were feeling very lost and worried because of problems with bus tickets to San Pedro and Dave & Trish made a valiant effort to help with that. We can't thank them enough!!!! What makes Treasure Beach so very special is that it's not as easily accessible as most vacation spots but it is worth the extra traveling to reap the benefits. And the water is PERFECT for comfortable snorkeling!!!! I forgot to mention we saw a whale shark before ever getting to the property.
*The questions about directions and key pickup under the 'booking and arrival' section below are NA because from minute you set foot on Utila, you are personally escorted to the property & handed the key.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The reef!
Liked least: Bugs though if you were careful with repellant & time of day, it wasn't horrible.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
London
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2012
many thanks sam, looking forward to seeing you again next year !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SUSANA L
LIMA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A marvelous place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We just spent five days at the Pineapple House with my husband, daughters, son-in-law and grandchildren. I have no words to describe the quality of the time we spent there. It is not only a beautiful place with a wonderful and comfortable house. It is amazingly peaceful! We enjoyed everything: snorkeling in the coral reefs, kajaking, and also fishing with a local fisher! Highly recomended.

5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
odouls
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I just spent a week at the Pineapple House with my husband and our 2 girls (ages 2 & 4). It was an amazing experience for all us!! We had wanted to totally escape and relax and this was certainly achieved!! The house was amazing - even nicer than the pictures portrayed. The coral reefs right off the dock provided hours of entertainment for our entire family...water is so clear that we could see all the marine life without even getting in the water. We watched an octopus for 20 minutes from the dock- and that is something we will never forget!! We took the kayaks out, and that was easy to do even with small children (we brought our own life jackets).

Dave and Trish were great!! They definitely took care of us and were genuinely concerned about us and wanted to do everything possible to make sure we were having a good time. We had a little plumbing issue, and that was care of promptly. Peter, the boat driver, was also great. He was very professional and showed up when he said he would be there. And he delivered us fresh fish to our doorstep everyday for only $10...AWESOME!!

I would definitely recommend this house if you are looking to escape your everyday life and want to completely relax.

We will be coming back!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Seclusion
Liked least: The bugs
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ben S
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is what every vacation should be like!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
3
people found this review helpful

It is my pleasure to leave a review for the Pineapple House on Treasure Beach. My wife and I spent the holidays there with another couple and had one of the best vacations in recent memory. From the moment that we booked the house, the property managers (Dave and Trish) were quick in making sure that our arrival would be as comfortable as possible. Dave helped us book our flights to and from the island from San Pedro Sula, schedule activities, stocked the fridge with our pre-ordered provisions (Flor de Cana is a must), and acted as the general travel ambassador for the island which was great. Upon arriving at the house, it was very clean and comfortable and we instantly felt at home. The most difficult decision that we had to make each day was to kayak and visit the cays, snorkel in the great reef off the dock, or read a book on the porch- all a great break from the normally hectic life we have in the States. There was plenty to keep us busy if we wanted- we ended up going into town several times via boat (Peter, one of the caretakers, lives on the cays across from the house and is more than happy to take you into town or bring fresh fish from the cays for a reasonable price), deep sea fished for Wahoo, hunted the invasive lionfish with Dave and the Bay Island Conservation Association, and frequently kayaked 20 minutes to Water Cay which has a great sand bar. All locals and ex-pats we met were extremely friendly, generous and more than willing to share their experience or give us advice on what to see during our short stay. To top it all off, we had 8 days of dry and sunny weather at the end of December! Because it was the end of the rainy season, sand fleas were an issue and I would recommend Off Deep Woods to keep them off. Some of us had worse reactions to them than others but it never ruined our time outside as long as we protected ourselves. To wrap it all up, STAY HERE, we WILL be back in the near future so we can relive one of the best vacations we have been on at Treasure Beach. Thank you to all who made that possible!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Isolation, snorkeling, kayaking, town, locals, location
Liked least: Sand fleas
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$286
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
laurence h
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2009
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing