We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Cute & Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubi's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rubi's Inn
Save
You added Rubi's Inn to your Saves list
Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Utila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Cute & Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been traveling around the world for a year now and was lucky to get a room to at Rubi's Inn for a week.
Tony and Rosa were always there to greet us in the morning and make recommendations on things to do, the local way. They quickly became family and Rubi's Inn, a home away from home. Well...maybe even better!
Our neighbors came from all corners of the world and the open landscape made getting to know them effortless, with the dock being the hub for all sorts of shenanigans.
We had many conversations over seis-packs (and rum drank) about schemes that could solve the world's problems and keep us all traveling forever. Until that day comes I will have to hold the Rubis' dock, those memories and the taste of a homemade Baleada in my heart, and daydream of returning one day soon to this magical place called Rubi's Inn.

http://www.rubisinn.com/index.php
Note: They aren't the techiest so go old school and call for a reservation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows which is great for getting a breeze. This is especially good to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
28
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed 7 days at rubies. great views, great showers. owner tony is laid back and keeps a good eye on the place. kids had a blast jumping off the jetty. (don't use the big jetty next door as the anal american who owns it will scold you) beware the sandflies who will suck you dry. fridges in the rooms are a welcome addition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I planned on staying in utila for 4 days. Upon arrival, we were shown around town and we really liked Rubi's inn. We ended up staying for two weeks due to taking a diving course and just loving utila and the inn. The rooms are very clean and spacious, with mini fridges and private bathrooms. The beds are comfortable. Our room was a little warm in the middle if the day but we were on the top floor. At all other times of the day, it was fine.

There is a shared kitchen which is small but well stocked. My favorite thing had to be the dock right on the property. The swimming is excellent and you can even see some sealife right under and around the dock. I saw an eel and many crabs, tangs and barracuda.
There is a small barbecue available as well as picnic tables and hammocks and lounge chairs.

Mr Rubi and his wife, Rosa, are the kindest people I met on Utila. Mr Rubi always offered help when we needed it and let us use his phone if we really needed it. They are just extremely friendly and welcoming. The price is excellent. He also rents snorkel gear which is great.

We ended up having to return to utila for dental work and were welcomed back with open arms. Thanks for a great three weeks!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the place is pretty awesome. Only $20 a night and cheaper when diving with Parrots Dive Centre. They have a cool dock to swim off and it is close to the supermarket etc...

The owners are really nice and helpful.

But the cleaner is the main selling point. We we out on the first day and left our stuff kind of thrown over the spare bed, all messy like. When we got back everything was organised. Girls and guys clothes piles. In order of size. Computer packed away, bathroom toiletries all to size in order, necklaces in order, everything! In all my time no cleaner has been anywhere near as good. Or honest.

I would honestly stay here just for the service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been to Utila 5 times, and every time I go I stay at Rubi's and am never disappointed. They have some of the best rooms on the island. They are clean and the staff is extremely helpful. Plus the dock is a great place to hand out during the day. The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I just spent 5 weeks at Rubi's and I couldn't be a happier guy! Tony and Rosa are fantastic people and the run a tight ship and they don't put up with any nonsense. This place is spotless! In my 5 weeks there wasn't a single incident of theft at Rubi's. Utila doesn't have much in the way of beaches, but at Rubi's, there is a beautiful dock, with a ladder, to swim off and lie in the sun. There are plenty of hammocks on the shade if you just want to veg with your laptop on their WiFi. There is a communal kitchen that you can use, but in 5 weeks I only cooked once! Food on the island is amazing with a full dinner consisting of two huge Baleada's, massive taco's, that I could barely finish for only $3.00 to $7.00 for an incredible seafood dinner of Marlin, Calamari, Snapper, Barracuda and much more! People showed up daily with their guidebooks in hand looking for a room and most were disappointed because it was mostly fully booked. Call Rosa ahead of time and make a reservation, don't send emails they're not tech savvy and you probably won't get a reply, phone. Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We loved this place. The owners were very nice and helpful. The chillout area was so relaxing and even though it was raining during our stay we had a great time reading books and just do nothing in the hammocks listening to the ocean. It was the most relaxed place we have been to during our travels throughout Central America . They will do yout laundry for you with a smile!
I cant recommend this place highly enough if you visit bay islands. Its totally worth its price!
They also have a nice kitchen were you can cook your own meals and save some money!

Room Tip: The room at the second floor with ocean view has it own hammock on a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.0 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.0 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#9 of 9 in Utila
3.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach Resort
Laguna Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Utila
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 16 in Utila
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopers Inn
Coopers Inn
#11 of 16 in Utila
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Utila
Hotel Utila
#13 of 16 in Utila
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubi's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubi's Inn

Address: Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubi's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.