We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th grade field trip!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbalimba Park

Gumbalimba Park
Honduras
914-9196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
colorado sprigns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4th grade field trip!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were disappointed in the park, reminded me of a tourist trap. Our guide was very nice though and I like the bus ride and viewing the area. This park is pretty much 100 percent man made, and there are no monkeys in Rotan so this is actually a pet zoo. I do think it would be a good attraction if you have children. I felt a little embarrassed when we went in the man made pirate cave and taking photos of the man made water fall, reminded me of a school field trip.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    138
    42
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coastal NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cruise Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We all absolutely loved this park. We had the treat of being one of the first to meet the newest addition a5 day old Caputian monkey. Mama was very proud. We loved interacting with the monkeys and the birds....especially the monkeys. It is a very beautiful park. We loved every thing about it. My only complaint was our guide rushed us when we were in the monkey habitat...that is the only reason we came....don't let them rush you. We did not have time to visit the beach, sadly. It was beautiful and we could have easily spent the entire day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time in the rain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our family has traveled internationally often and to some pretty cool parks. We read about Gumbalimba Park and thought our 6 year old son would love it. The day we arrived, we got to the gate only to find out the electricity had gone out and no credit cards would be accepted. We drove back to our hotel and they provided vouchers to the park,so the charges would appear on our bill. This was done at the park's suggestion.

We returned to the park and after going back and forth with the very incompetent clerk, we were let into the park. It had rained and was threatening to rain again. As we walked thru the butterfly exhibit with our guide, it started to pour. The guide told us that no monkeys had come down (except for the one that is kept in monkey jail) and the macaws were not nearby either. We walked back to the clerk and after wasting a bunch of time, they agreed to refund our money. I suggested the park have a sign for rainy days informing the patrons that monkeys are not seen and neither at the macaws (if it rains) and perhaps a No refund policy. The price to get into this park is ridiculous ($30pp). We wasted 1/2 trying to get this resolved and in the end we did, but it was annoying. Would not recommend. There are other ziplines that are better managed and safer up the road. They are also cheaper.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great park for families, zipline, pool, monkeys, macaws, etc.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The shuttle from Gumbalimba picked is up at our hotel (and brought us back too). When we got there, one of my daughters did the zip line and she had fun. We met at the end of it, near the beach. There is a pool in case you don't want to use the beach. Gumbalimba is between West End and West Bay.
For us, the best was to play with the monkeys and macaws. We loved them, and took lots of pictures and videos. There is also a butterfly museum and a pirate one, great in case you need a break from the heat as they are air conditioned. The restaurant was not very good though, and expensive. It was a great place to spend some 4 hours, but you definitely can spend more on it.
It was 40$ without zipline (55$ with zipline, if I remember correctly, and they take CC).
Without some many options in the island, Gumbalimba was a great one.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Monkeys!! And other stuff, too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a SNUBA excursion booked, but it got cancelled due to windy (and therefore no visibility) conditions. So we made a quick switch to Gumbalimba park, and it was nice. A very nice gal gave us a tour where she showed us the various plants in the area, big iguanas everywhere, hummingbirds, and we learned about cashew fruits whose toxic seeds become safe cashew nuts after roasting. We walked across a suspension bridge, through a pretend pirate hideout, saw beautiful red McCaws flying through the trees, got to put McCaws on our shoulders, and then played with Capuchin monkeys! The monkeys were so fun, and especially liked to all hop on the tallest guy in our group (maybe because he looked the most like a tree; or maybe he was a kindred spirit?). We walked down the shore to another beach to swim a bit, because there wasn't great snorkeling right there, and they say that on most days the snorkeling is fantastic! But alas, the wind reduced visibility to about 6 inches for us, so no fish for us. Then we went back to the park to play with the monkeys some more, and then rode the shuttle back to the cruise ship. It was a pleasant, relaxed day. $3 cash for a locker for the day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbalimba Park also viewed

 

Been to Gumbalimba Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbalimba Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.