We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cruise Excursion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbalimba Park

Gumbalimba Park
Honduras
914-9196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Roatan
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
coastal NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cruise Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We all absolutely loved this park. We had the treat of being one of the first to meet the newest addition a5 day old Caputian monkey. Mama was very proud. We loved interacting with the monkeys and the birds....especially the monkeys. It is a very beautiful park. We loved every thing about it. My only complaint was our guide rushed us when we were in the monkey habitat...that is the only reason we came....don't let them rush you. We did not have time to visit the beach, sadly. It was beautiful and we could have easily spent the entire day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    87
    31
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time in the rain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our family has traveled internationally often and to some pretty cool parks. We read about Gumbalimba Park and thought our 6 year old son would love it. The day we arrived, we got to the gate only to find out the electricity had gone out and no credit cards would be accepted. We drove back to our hotel and they provided vouchers to the park,so the charges would appear on our bill. This was done at the park's suggestion.

We returned to the park and after going back and forth with the very incompetent clerk, we were let into the park. It had rained and was threatening to rain again. As we walked thru the butterfly exhibit with our guide, it started to pour. The guide told us that no monkeys had come down (except for the one that is kept in monkey jail) and the macaws were not nearby either. We walked back to the clerk and after wasting a bunch of time, they agreed to refund our money. I suggested the park have a sign for rainy days informing the patrons that monkeys are not seen and neither at the macaws (if it rains) and perhaps a No refund policy. The price to get into this park is ridiculous ($30pp). We wasted 1/2 trying to get this resolved and in the end we did, but it was annoying. Would not recommend. There are other ziplines that are better managed and safer up the road. They are also cheaper.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great park for families, zipline, pool, monkeys, macaws, etc.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The shuttle from Gumbalimba picked is up at our hotel (and brought us back too). When we got there, one of my daughters did the zip line and she had fun. We met at the end of it, near the beach. There is a pool in case you don't want to use the beach. Gumbalimba is between West End and West Bay.
For us, the best was to play with the monkeys and macaws. We loved them, and took lots of pictures and videos. There is also a butterfly museum and a pirate one, great in case you need a break from the heat as they are air conditioned. The restaurant was not very good though, and expensive. It was a great place to spend some 4 hours, but you definitely can spend more on it.
It was 40$ without zipline (55$ with zipline, if I remember correctly, and they take CC).
Without some many options in the island, Gumbalimba was a great one.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Monkeys!! And other stuff, too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a SNUBA excursion booked, but it got cancelled due to windy (and therefore no visibility) conditions. So we made a quick switch to Gumbalimba park, and it was nice. A very nice gal gave us a tour where she showed us the various plants in the area, big iguanas everywhere, hummingbirds, and we learned about cashew fruits whose toxic seeds become safe cashew nuts after roasting. We walked across a suspension bridge, through a pretend pirate hideout, saw beautiful red McCaws flying through the trees, got to put McCaws on our shoulders, and then played with Capuchin monkeys! The monkeys were so fun, and especially liked to all hop on the tallest guy in our group (maybe because he looked the most like a tree; or maybe he was a kindred spirit?). We walked down the shore to another beach to swim a bit, because there wasn't great snorkeling right there, and they say that on most days the snorkeling is fantastic! But alas, the wind reduced visibility to about 6 inches for us, so no fish for us. Then we went back to the park to play with the monkeys some more, and then rode the shuttle back to the cruise ship. It was a pleasant, relaxed day. $3 cash for a locker for the day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Monkeys are great at Gumbalimba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was windy with rough seas when we went to Gumbalimba so our planned snuba excursion was cancelled. The waves were crashing like they do on California beaches. While that was disappointing the tour through the park was great. They require you to stow bags in a locker and the lockers are $3 (fit one large day pack). We enjoyed the historical information they shared about Roatan. Even better was the scenery and wildlife. We saw beautiful green hummingbirds, lots of iguanas, a lizard that stands on its back legs and runs (don't remember the name), turtles in their lake, bright colored birds including a red macaw that sat on our shoulders for photos, a funny little rodent with no tale, and best of all the capuchin monkeys. The monkeys were a hit. They came down and sat on our shoulders for photos. A few times two of them jumped on a member of our party so they could both get a treat from the trainers. Their fur was soft and didn't have a noticeable scent. It was cute to see them curl their tales around someone's neck to hold on. One guy was especially popular and the two monkeys that climbed on him kept stroking and rubbing his head. The trainer said they like sunscreen oils and were likely trying to get that on their fur. Their dining options didn't seem great and the prices were definitely resort prices. We walked down the beach looking for other food options and to see what else there was to see. To the right a ways (over a metal bridge) we found other houses (maybe vacation rentals), restaurants, bars and shops right on the water. We relaxed on the beach, a played in the surf (still disappointed we couldn't snorkel), perused the shops, talked to beach vendors, and a few ate at a bar (fantastic food they said but I don't remember the name). There were many people wearing white shirts that said "authorized vendor" selling various items on the beach from ice cream to massages. We bought a couple of trinkets from a guy with only one leg. He was very friendly and trying to support his family on the main land. And we bought a pretty bracelet for $5 - seemed well worth it. A friend bought a really nice hammock. Another got her hair braided. Then we went back to Gumbalimba and visited the monkeys again (they were that cool). A trainer walked up with us. Most of the monkeys were off playing in the trees but one came and entertained our group. I think the ladies would have adopted him. He snuggled up in their arms like a baby. His name was Diego and he put on a great show. If you're like my Grandma you'll want to know the condition of the restrooms. They were large and clean (men's side anyway - didn't visit the other). There were some great views on the drive over as well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbalimba Park also viewed

 

Been to Gumbalimba Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbalimba Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.