We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day Ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbalimba Park

Gumbalimba Park
Honduras
914-9196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 attractions in Roatan
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
New York City, New York, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Day Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked this excursion through the cruise line for 54.99 and was promised that monkeys would actually jump on you. They actually did!!!. It began with a 30 minute drive to the park and the site seeing was amazing. Roatan, Honduras is a beautiful island. There was trees and flowers and the buildings werent run down like most islands. We got to the park and the tour guide took us from spot to spot telling us about it. We got to hold a macaw and take our own pictures with them and there was a pirate bridge which was an old rope bride you could cross(if your dare) otherwise there was the chicken walk. Once we got to the monkeys they literally were all over the place jumping from person to person. A monkey even took a little girls hand. The park itself was beautiful as well. I really enjoyed myself and can not wait to go back and spend more time there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    74
    27
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

see some monkeys, birds hold them interesting facts about the island. OUr tour guide Ryan was full of knowledge

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LOved interacting with the monkeys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My bf and I went to the park and ziplined down first! Our guide was Nash, who was amazing and taught us a lot about the history of the island and a lot of neat details too! we went early and were the only ones there! it was great bc we could experience the park and animals without being crowded. the animals are free to roam too which I loved. (not being trapped). and there are tons of people around to help if you want to get up close and personal with the sweet little creatures there :) don't forget to look for the turtles in the pond!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very fun time!! These guys are great and safe!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our first time zip lining. There were 4 of us and we were unsure of the safety of zip lines. We were pretty nervous about going but that all went away once we got there. Our guides, Brian and Omar took all of our concerns away. These guys made us feel very safe and made us very comfortable with their sense of humor. Had a wonderful time and couldn't ask for more professional and friendly guides!! We did the park tour as well, the monkeys were very funny and friendly, lots of photo opportunities to show your family. The birds were awesome too, very colorful and well behaved!! Definitely make this a must do when visiting Roatan!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Zip Lines and monkeys...what more could you want?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were staying nearby the park and decided to pay the $55 each and go to Gumbalimba park. It starts off with zip lines where you make your way down to the beach. The zip lines were fun, not to intense or long. There are 13 of them and you switch between platforms while 2 guides assist, one ahead and one behind you. Ours were finding nemo and crazy curt. The guides were a lot of fun and very friendly. Once you finish zip lines you end up at the bottom where there is a pool and sitting area and a cafe. We decided not to lounge by the pool but it is a nice area if you want to spend more time at the park. We did grab some fries and a couple drinks at the cafe, resonable prices there. Next another guide takes you on a mini tour of an insectarium and a short pirate history of Honduras. Then the best part...playing with the monkeys. There are 14 monkeys and they get to roam around and play. They are trained and will climb right on you. They will also pull at anything loose you have! we had a lot of fun with the monkeys and there were 2 babies that was very sweet to see. Last you see the parrots and macaws for a photo. The park is very beautiful to walk through, tons of iguanas and wildlife. This park is good for everyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbalimba Park also viewed

 

Been to Gumbalimba Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbalimba Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gumbalimba Park to your Saves list