We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkeys were awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbalimba Park

Gumbalimba Park
Honduras
914-9196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Roatan
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Monkeys were awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A must see in roatan though there're are 25 acres and only three real attraction iguanas, macaws, and the monkeys. We paid our entry fee and then where told we should have a guide so a local guide took us around (for a tip of course) and explained the vegetation and all the animals in the park we got to play with the birds and monkey definitely the highlight of the trip. But be aware you will leave dirty the monkeys play in water and dirt then they climb on you so bring a spare shirt or something to change into if you are far from your hotel or ship.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    87
    31
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pirates, bird and monkeys of the Caribbean tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Monkey's and Birds were great experience, but where was the Pirates????? Very disappointed with this tour. If you go make sure you bring cash with you. They do not take Credit Cards, was not told this before hand, and for someone that does not like to carry cash, I could not get the pictures they took of use with the monkeys or rent a locker.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The monkey experience was awesome. They would sit and climb on us as we took pictures. We had a wonderful guide who was very knowledgable with all types of information on animals, lizards, insects, trees and foliage. Our teenagers enjoyed the zip line.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the monkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our favorite part of this trip were the monkeys that climbed on us. Did not like the sand flies on the beach. Take insect repellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“AMAZING & BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We went on our first cruise back in Feb 2012 and unsure about shore excursions we purchased everything through Royal Caribbean. This was by far the best one in my opinion and the most affordable. The park is wel kep, very clean and even gives you private beach access (I wish the cruiseline would of mentioned that in the description so we could of brought our beach clothes). The macaws are characters and one decided to eat my husbands hat button and spit it back at him. We were all laughing and the more we laughed the sillier the bird was so he was putting on a show. The white face monkeys were so gentle and interesting. It was a once in a lifetime experience I will never forget.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbalimba Park also viewed

 

Been to Gumbalimba Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbalimba Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.