We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect romantic getaway with great diving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Milton Bight, IB3100, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Learn to Dive Package
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Near perfect romantic getaway with great diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Turquoise Bay is a gem if you are looking for peace and quiet, stunning landscape and sea, excellent food and attentive, bilingual (Spanish-English)staff . It is perfect for a couple or families with small children wanting a safe beach. Diving is a must.
The rooms are simply furnished, scrupolously clean, the beach white and never crowded. There is a small pool for those who want one.
The restaurant serves delicious meals, the menu does not change much, but you can eat 2 meals a day for a week without having to eat the same thing twice.
The resort is fairly distant from towns where more action is to be found and it is difficult to move around, as taxis do not like to drive you that far , public transport is not reliable and renting cars is expensive.
The dive shop within the resort is just great, it runs a divemaster program and the students serve as very gracious hosts, everyone is knowledgeable, attentive, friendly and the dive sites exceptional.
Kudos to the hotel manager, Jesus, for his eagerness to please and accomodate guests, to the restaurant staff , young and enthusiastic, to the divemasters Emily and Brian for their knowledge and poise.
Beware (like in all of Roatan) of sandflies and mosquitos, omnipresent and quite obnoxious.
We had an amazing week at Turquoise Bay and look forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    89
    35
    14
    5
See reviews for
57
129
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful resort and would return in a minute. We were looking for someplace where we could relax and recharge. We did both at this wonderful resort. The staff is excellent and ready to serve you and go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The beach is beautiful but don't forget your babyoil to keep combat the sand fleas. That is the only thing we didn't care for.

The food is outstanding and we ate seafood for a solid week and enjoyed every bite. We had shrimp cocktails for lunch and dinner because the shrimp were so good. They will prepare the fish the way you like it . Lobster tails were eaten at least every other day and it was all inclusive. We Recommend Turquoise Bay Resort to everyone who wants to relax.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Turquoise Bay. If you are looking for a quieter resort on Roatan that is not as busy, this is the place. Beautiful views, very nice clean rooms, and staff that were very pleasant, and always eager to please. Excellent food on the ala cart menu available almost anytime. The owners are Honduran, and were very accomodating when the plans for the return trip to the mainland changed.

I would highly recommend this place, even just to stop by for lunch or dinner as many of the local families do. We drove to some of the other resorts on the island, found them much busier, and not as picturesque.

The dive master (fellow Canadian from Ottawa) and assistants at the adjoining Subway Watersports were top notch and provided a very personalized dive experience. And if you are snorkelling like me, they will take you out with the divers. The reefs on Roatan are truly amazing.

Cons: Phones and internet seldom work. Get a cell phone, they are incredibly cheap. Sand flies are plentiful - lather up with Baby Oil when on the beach, it seems to keep them off your skin. Although the resort was an all-inclusive they tried to charge us for some items on the last day? We didn’t end up paying but it was a bit offensive. They should keep in mind that the few extra dollars they may get out of you really isn’t worth ruining some positive testimonal advertising.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a quite mid-winter getaway. We chose it based on the incredibly positive reviews on this site, but we were a little worried that the reviews were too good to be true. Such worries were groundless -- the resort is fantastic! The grounds are beautiful, the beach is great, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the food is great, the adjacent dive/snorkeling shop was very well run by a friendly Canadian, the snorkeling was awesome. It was very uncrowded while we were there, which we liked, but we were a little amazed that such a great place seems to remain an inside secret.

The only warning we offer has nothing to do with the resort, but with the island. Roatan veterans know that insect bites (I think it is sand fleas) are a problem on this island. We knew this already but still were not quite diligent enough with the insect repellent (f you don't like Deet, there is an excellent organic local alternative on sale in the dive shop). Perhaps this is why Roatan in general is still so uncrowded. We still would take the insect bites to avoid the tourist hordes, but you can avoid both if you are religious about applying repellent. (One of us escaped the bites this way, but I won't tell you which one of us!)

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Sand fleas!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helens, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

This was my second stay at Turquoise Bay. My first was last May with a friend. We have stayed at Mayan Princess, Bananarama, and Paradise Beach, but Turquoise is definitely our favorite. We came this time with a missions team of 20 people, and only had a couple of nights on Roatan. This alone eliminates most of the others which will not even consider less than a week stay.

Our host, Jesus Reyes, speaks excellent English and was a perfect gentlemen, from email communications beforehand to helping me solve the problems due to forgetfulness (leaving our dive gear in the shop after hours and forgetting a passport in the room, which he had waiting for us in San Pedro).

The resort is owned by the same folks who own the beautiful new ferry. If you don't need to fly, or if you want to dive up to the end, I would strongly recommend ferry travel for the views and comfort. Our group was very impressed by the drivers picking us up right on time from the terminal.

There were sand fleas on the beach in May, as others mentioned, but they have since bombed for them and no one in our group had any problems at all. The food is delicious, with lobster or crab or whatever, and the resort is very clean.

I found the dive shop to be very accommodating, and the new manager Dave was outstanding and very skilled. One of the better dive shops on the Island. He went out of his way to make our groups snorkeling and diving a sheer joy.

We plan on returning at least once a year, and whether with groups or just a couple, Turquoise Bay will definitely be the stay of choice.

  • Liked — The views and the staff
  • Disliked — Lack of snorkling without a boat
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon SK Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

As an avid scuba diver, my husband was excited to travel to Roatan to explore the pristine reefs. As we searched for accomodations, our criteria was to find a PADI 5 star dive centre attached to a smaller, quieter resort. We found all that we had hoped for and more at Turquoise Bay. We were fortunate to fly directly from Toronto, Ontario Canada to Roatan with Conquest Vacations. As we prefer to steer clear of the larger resorts situated in the busier tourist areas, we opted for "air only" with Conquest and searched out our own resort. Turquoise Bay is situated away from the busy West End/West Bay area of the island and is located in the east end of Roatan's north shore. There are just 26 rooms at Turquoise Bay so even if the resort were full, you would never feel crowded. We were assigned Room 2 which provided a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. The room was spacious, tastefully appointed, and immaculately clean. There was ample closet and storage space with the only small missing feature being an in-room safe. The house keeping staff ensured that there was always fresh towels, toiletries replenished, and fresh cold water.
We opted for the "all inclusive package" and we were not disappointed, nor did we become bored of the food. Over the course of the week, we sampled most menu items as well as specials prepared by the chef, and it always rated as good as, if not better, than any high quality restaurant in North America. The staff at the resort were all amazing. Thank you to Jesus for ensuring that our needs were met, and what is more, sharing his time with us. We enjoyed the visits. At the risk of missing someone, we will not specifically name staff. However, we can assure you that EVERYONE was friendly and attentive. Turquoise Bay has a beautiful beach which is groomed daily (thanks to Erron!). In an effort to keep their guests comfortable, the resort diligently sprays for the sand fleas and mosquitoes. The grounds and gardens are amazing. I have wonderful pictures of hummingbirds feeding in the hibiscus by the dive shop. The resort employs its own security, and there was certainly never a concern that we were not safe. The resort offers peace and a quiet pace. Special thanks also to the folks at Subway Watersports - Vanessa, Dennis, Mindy, Delvin, Jason, Josh, Lisa and the captain. Wes was treated to an amazing dive experience and he will not soon if ever forget the people or the place (especially Dophin's Den)! Thank you Turquoise Bay and Subway Watersports for an amazing week. Wes and Karen Tzupa, Saskatoon, SK Canada

  • Liked — The quiet pace and wonderful staff.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

This resort has it all! To start, a wonderful and friendly staff, a beautiful location, fantastic food and fabulous prices. From the time we were picked up at the airport to the time we checked out, everyone was so attentive and friendly. They offer kayaks to paddle out to the reef, jet skis to play around on, even an area where the stingrays will come up to you and visit. There is an onsite Dive Shop that offers all the certifications and will also take you out for a snorkel trip. The rooms are very comfortable, the shower had a nice spray, and the private balconies all overlook the bay. What a way to wake up! I recommend this resort to anyone that wants to not be stuck in the middle of the hustle and bustle of West End or West Bay. Turquoise Bay is situated right in the middle of the island, not too far from anything you would want to do. It is a must.

  • Liked — private balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Address: Milton Bight, IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Roatan's Northeast shore Turquoise Bay is the only dive resort in this lush and remote area of the island providing you with the opportunity to dive uncrowded, pristine dive sites. The resort is set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views and a protected bay which makes the water calm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. Beach lovers will enjoy our private, tranquil, 500 ft white-sand beach.At Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort you will enjoy the very individual and personal service that only a small dive resort can offer. Our friendly local staff takes pride in getting to know our guests and making them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Bay Hotel Roatan
Turquoise Bay Roatan
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.