We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST HOTEL IN THE ISLAND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Milton Bight, IB3100, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FALL SUPER DIVE PLAN $869
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST HOTEL IN THE ISLAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We are so happy to have stayed at Tourquoise Bay, is the best service I ever had in a hotel even better than a 5 stars and the employees are so kind, the food is the best in the island.
Thanks for making our vacations a paradise, specially to Briseyda and Edwin they made our days wonderful!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    95
    39
    18
    5
See reviews for
63
141
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Returned home 2 days ago from Roatan. Had spent my first week in West End, and my second at Torquoise Bay. I was lucky enough to have an ocean view room with a beautiful view! Rooms are just fine - basic and neat and well cared for. Meals are great and the staff even better! Felt so relaxed while there. I met some wonderful people over the week. Most guests were there to dive and seemed really pleased with Subway Water sports dive shop which is directly beside the resort. I spent most of my time on the beach or by their pool. They have kayaks available for guest use, and tours are easily booked through the staff and front office. I highly recommend this resort, for a lovely restful holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Turquoise Bay Resort is one of those places that felt comfortable from the start. The staff was welcoming; the food excellent with a wide variety of delicious choices, the room was charming with amazing views from your own balcony, and the massage heaven after a long day of diving.
The staff remembered your name and food and drink preferences - no matter how many people they served each day. The dive staff went out of their way to accommodate and took care of everything for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our trip was a dive trip. We got all 18 dives in and enjoyed every moment of our surface interval when not diving. The noseeums are bad but if you prepare as mentioned in other reviews you will come out unscathed. We brought lotion and wipes with 35% deet and were fine. We put it on before we left the room and after we finished diving. When we failed to do so the first day, we got bit. I am susceptible to bites and ended up with only a few.

The staff at TBR is there to please and are a happy and pleasant group of people. They make you feel very welcome. Jesus, the manager is very friendly and wants you to have a great experience. The staff is laid back but attentive. The grounds are well maintained and the food is good. We are not meat eaters and have no complaints. The soup is incredible and the vegetables are plenty. We found with diving you do not need the unlimited drinks option. The dive shop will not let you dive if they find you drinking between your 2nd and 3rd dives. The dive shop is very good. We were assigned to a boat and dove with the same divers all week. Selvin was our divemaster did a great job. Great experience and enjoyable trip overall.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 12. It is the furthest from the dive shop but not a problem. The view is incredi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I've now completed two trips to Turquoise Bay in Roatan. I like consistent quality when I travel and was amazed at how similar both trips ended up.

First in foremost: the staff is fantastic. 5 Stars across the board. They are courteous, helpful and ready to please. Bring a few $5 bills for tipping, these folks earn every tip and work hard.

Rooms: Most importantly, the rooms are clean. The rooms are spacious and leave plenty of room for your luggage. Décor is typical of a mid-level dive resort in the Caribbean/Latin America. Nothing fancy, local colors and stylings, but filled with ambience. Definitely four stars unless your vacations are generally at the Four Seasons or Westins. But, if you are happy at Hilton, you will be very happy here.

Restaurant: I am not a fan of all inclusive food programs. However, the kitchen staff at Turquoise Bay goes out of their way to mix up the menu. Food is high quality and very tasty. Highlights for the week include local cuisine, pasta night, BBQ and more. Breakfast is generally hearty and lunch will fill you up. Plenty of food for even the healthiest of appetites. Try the soups, they are very good. A side note: if you have a specific dietary need or are looking for healthy options, many of your meals will be accommodated for in the general menu. However, if they are not, we found the staff was quick to accommodate special needs or requests. Don't be afraid to ask for something specific if your needs vary from the normal fair. Because of the quality and variety, I would give the restaurant an "all-inclusive 5 star rating:.

Facilities: Nice pool. Great looking grounds and cottage type rooms are great. The beach is beautiful and well taken care of. I would recommend bringing some reef shoes when on the beach as Roatan has a lot of reef around it and the under layer on the beach is hard coral. Not pleasant to walk on without reef shoes. Also, much like the rest of the Caribbean and Latin America, you need to bring something like Cactus Juice for the "no-see-ums". I will tell you the resort does actively spray the resort for bugs like most of the resorts in Roatan. TBR does a good job staying on top of it. I would rate the facilities at 4.5 stars.

Diving: I am going to write a review for Subway Watersports as well. The dive shop on site. However, the diving in Roatan is always great and world reknowned as a top dive destination. I have dove the South side of the Island, the West side of the Island and the North side of the Island. Most of the diving at TBR is on the North side. I will tell you that conditions are generally calm, visibility is generally fantastic and the reef is in the best shape on the island. The west side does have more turtles and the south side does have more seahorses. But, the architecture, sea life, and ease of diving is fantastic on the North side. Also, the dive shop will take you to the West side and/or South side on request. But, most divers come back and say the enjoy the north side more. Definitely 5 stars.

If you are looking for a five star experience. A great dive trip and plenty of good memories, Turquoise Bay Resort is a great choice. Looking forward to our third trip in April.

Last minute advice: Arrange transfers with the resort directly. Confirm and reconfirm. About a $30 cab ride to and from the resort.

Room Tip: Let the resort know if you have issues with stairs. There are a few rooms that require stairs. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Do not spend your money on this place! You will be disappointed. Although the views and location is beautiful, there is an abundance of better places on Roatan. My girlfriend and I decided to spend a night or two there in a whim. We checked in late and got the B&B package and not the
all inclusive. The beach and the view looked beautiful. But when we go to their beach, It was dirty. There were dirty food plates on most tables, the beach had not been groomed and there were mask-wearing personnel spraying down the beach with insecticide/pesticides while we and other guest were lounging there?? Worst of all, the water on this side of the island is FILTHY! You dont want to swim or snorkel here, the water is dirty & muddy and there is zero visibility...

Finally, we went to get our breakfast the next morning at exactly 9:50. We are not early risers and assumed we can have breakfast when we wanted, its a B&B!! Well, they had stopped serving breakfast already! We went to inquire about it at the front desk, and the lady said we had missed breakfast. When I told her that nobody told us that breakfast ended at 10 oclock, and besides, its 9:55 now, she just laughed at us!!! We checked out immediately and left! Do not waste your $$ with these people! If you are in Roatan, you deserve a better experience!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The best thing about the resort would be the staff - very nice and helpful. The all-inclusive dining was decent but very difficult if you have food allergies.

do not expect a comfortable night's sleep unless you are in a king bed - those are imported but the smaller sizes are clearly of local manufacture and suck.

the beach is nice with plenty of overhead cover, hammocks, and beach chairs. They also keep it very clean. the evening views are stunning.

unless you're very fit do not stay in rooms 12-17 (I think those are the numbers). there's a 50 step climb to get to those that was whipping people's butts. on the other hand, it's a great way to burn calories when you hike up there every couple hours.

The dive shop is really, really helpful and flexible. The dives are mostly between 10-15 minutes from the docks with some being even closer. one dive was 5 minutes from shore to water.

the dive shop has basically everything you need from regs to rashguards.

Room Tip: rooms 6-10 with a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
12.4 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
15.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parrot Tree Plantation
Parrot Tree Plantation
#1 of 1 in First Bight
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
15.4 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Address: Milton Bight, IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Roatan's Northeast shore Turquoise Bay is the only dive resort in this lush and remote area of the island providing you with the opportunity to dive uncrowded, pristine dive sites. The resort is set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views and a protected bay which makes the water calm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. Beach lovers will enjoy our private, tranquil, 500 ft white-sand beach.At Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort you will enjoy the very individual and personal service that only a small dive resort can offer. Our friendly local staff takes pride in getting to know our guests and making them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Bay Hotel Roatan
Turquoise Bay Roatan
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.