We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at Turquoise Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Milton Bight, IB3100, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
RoatanUnderwaterPhotoFest
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Helena MT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Time at Turquoise Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The resort, staff and meals were excellent. The dive staff was great and had us all taken care of.. The staff always was at hand to answer questions and take care of us. Everyone loved the bar tender, he was VERY creative with the drink of the day. I felt like we were being waited on and taken care of and to make our stay great. I will go back for sure, the diving was great. The week were were there we even got to see a whaleshark, which was the highlight for the majority of us. We had a large group (23) and everyone had a great time, the local entertainment was all great. Beautiful resort, away from all the noise, and other divers, we never had to fight over a dive site, and all had great experiences from seeing large groupers, toadfish, seahorses and then the whaleshark. Thanks for agreat time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    91
    37
    14
    5
See reviews for
59
136
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I am still here at Turquoise Bay Resort and I am disappointed with this hotel and dive shop. 1st all I want to say that the staff here are great! They have treated us so well and food is pretty decent. The problem I have here is that on their website, they never mention the dive shop is separate from the hotel. So what ever you do or purchase at the dive shop you have to pay seperatly from the hotel and if you don't pay in cash, they will charge you a 16 percent service charge to put on your credit card ( bring cash). Try to get cash from the hotel is another pain. They don't carry cash but will take me 20 minute away to an ATM to get cash. Every day, I go into the office to remind them I need to buy cash from my card, they told me no problem and it would cost a small fee which I didn't mind but when it came down to get the cash they told me I can't get any. Another disappointed issue is the dive boats we put on. No cover from rain or from sun, had to bring our own water bottle, too many interns on our trips. We are here on vacation and don't need to have interns on our very small boat. Resort are well kept but issues with our rooms are electricity would shut down for a bit, our toilet would keep running, water shut's off. Going into town would cost you 20 to 30 dollars per person. Was told cheaper to rent a car.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 to 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton NY
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loved the resort and resort staff except for vegetarian husband's meals. Don't get me wrong, the fresh fruits, vegetables, and FISH were the best I've had in the Caribbean, but substantial main courses for vegetarians could be improved. Some pasta and veggie burgers were offered, and a wonderful pasta bar was offered one night that put hubby over the moon! Resort staff were helpful and friendly, learning our names and preferences on the first day. Maid service was great. We purchased the 18-dive dive package, and the dive shop would only allow 2 morning dives on the last day. They would not consider allowing the guest/diver to make their own decision to dive the third dive on Friday pm before flying on Sat. Most guests fly Sat to Sat; there are only 3 direct flights on Sat, and those departure schedules must be familiar to both the resort and dive shop management. So, we were charged for 18 dives and only got to do 17. This policy/package offering should be revisited to offer 7 dives/week at a reduced rate OR allow the diver to decide their last dive prior to flying. Saw eagle rays, sting rays, nurse shark, and varied macros.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I just wanted to say that we had a wonderful time. We especially enjoyed the warm and friendly staff, who took the time to learn our names and were always pleasant and helpful. The resort is so beautiful and the grounds are so well kept. I never left the resort, except for excursions on the dive boat. There was no need to leave. The food was fabulous, the menu interesting and varied. I loved all of the fresh fruits, salads, and vegetables! And the entrees were superb. They also brought in local entertainment some evenings. The diving was excellent. The corals are beautiful and healthy. Not as much fish life as I've experienced at other destinations, but it was a laid back, helpful, easy to dive experience.

Room Tip: I would have liked a fitness center, but I ate very well and still lost 3 lbs. because of all the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I can't brag on this place enough. I'm sitting in my room right now killing my last hour here.

The most outstanding things about this resort are the service, food, beach, and views. Those are all 110% of what I had hoped they would be. The dive shop is only a few steps from the room. Every single person that I have interacted with has gone out of their way to make sure that I had anything that I wanted. If you tip based on quality of service, bring plenty of cash. You will want to tip a lot.

The rooms are modest but updated to modern standards and clean. I have no problem with wi-fi in my room but I hear that depends on what room you are in.

Downsides: it is a bit of a ride to get to any place off of the resort but that also makes it quiet and safe feeling. Bugs, yes, there are bugs, bring deet! They are going to be anywhere in this part of the world, it is not the fault of the resort.

I'm traveling with a group of 4 divers, including myself, and we have already tentatively made our plans to come back next year and have our price locked in for next Sept. That should tell you that we are happy with the resort and dive shop.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are very close to both the resturant and dive shop. None are very far but those are the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zekethesheik
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place was wonderful! The food was very, very good. The staff knew our names and drink preferences in 24 hours! We really liked the pool for post-dive relaxation. I'd go back tomorrow! Wish I could.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went with a group for a week for the diving. The rooms were nice, no major issues. Food was excellent. The staff could not be more friendly or more accommodating. I highly recommend Subway Diving. My wife does not dive and had a great time relaxing at the pool or on the beach

Room Tip: Rooms higher on the hill may not be desired if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Address: Milton Bight, IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Roatan's Northeast shore Turquoise Bay is the only dive resort in this lush and remote area of the island providing you with the opportunity to dive uncrowded, pristine dive sites. The resort is set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views and a protected bay which makes the water calm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. Beach lovers will enjoy our private, tranquil, 500 ft white-sand beach.At Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort you will enjoy the very individual and personal service that only a small dive resort can offer. Our friendly local staff takes pride in getting to know our guests and making them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Bay Hotel Roatan
Turquoise Bay Roatan
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.