We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem near West End” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villagio Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villagio Verde to your Saves list
Villagio Verde
Calle Principal | West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valentine Special
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem near West End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I truely recommand this awesome bed and breakfast for all people that look for a quiet place near the hustle and bustle of West End.
Why?
- The airport / ferry pick-up service was great and included
- The breakfast was served freshly every morning with a big smile on my private porch. Everyday it was different and the owners, Ton and Zilla, took time to have a small conversation. Very friendly!
- The environment was so quiet. There were a lot of beautiful birds, lizards and "monkey lala's" (go to find out what that is hihi). The lush tropical garden was very nice and spacious.
- The swimming pool was small but had seats in it so I could read my book while in the pool, how nice is that?! There were lots of loungers near the pool.
- The commun kitchen was very well equiped: filled fridge, microwave, ...
- There was plenty of privacy
- At night there was enough light, I think solar..
But.. The most of all I didn't love but adored my beautiful pink room!
The owners definately took a risk by choosing for pink walls and a sheep on the bed, combined with a sea-themed bright lightblue bathroom with shells but oh god, how much I liked that!!
You definately got to check out my picture of it ;-)
I truely recommand this place but only for those who want a quiet night after a busy day in the village or diving... Keep it natural & calm here... 100% Relaxed!

Room Tip: I loved my pink room! But there are only 4 rooms so you can't go bad here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
76
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We just recently returned from a stay with Ton and Zilla. The property is beautiful, lush, quiet and a very different setting than had we stayed on the beach. Ton and Zilla were good, helpful hosts. Breakfasts were excellent. The cabins are nice and the pool is lovely. We were also quite spoiled in that even full, there are only four cabins, so you don't have to share very much. They stock an honour bar fridge so there was always a cold beer available if you wanted it.
I would highly recommend staying here however you might want to assess what kind of vacation you are looking for. Taxis are plentiful, but they are $1 *per person* each way and that is if you were lucky enough to not argue with the taxi driver. Going into town this was rarely a problem, leaving it we could nearly never get this rate. It became a pretty big hassle actually. We'd head into town for diving in the morning, want to come back and get ready and rest a little before heading back down for dinner. In all, it added about $10 a day in costs for the taxis and I didn't feel free to come and go as I wanted.
In short then, the B & B is lovely, and having had the opportunity to wake to lizards and "jungle" was great, but there are draw backs. It all depends on what you are looking for.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for a week in early March including an overnight trip with Ton to Copan. Ton and Zilla are great hosts and the property is beautiful and well kept. They did their best to accommodate our vegan diet, which is not easy in Roatan. The property is about fifteen minutes on foot from town but there are taxis available. We enjoyed our visit and recommend the Villagio Verde.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Ton and Zilla for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is convenient (only a 15 walk or $1 cab ride from West End) and very peaceful, with beautiful greenery and quaint little cabins. Ton and Zilla were very helpful with information about the area and very accommodating. The breakfasts served every morning were incredible as well - we ended up skipping lunch most days!
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Kitchen available for guests to cook their own lunch and dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at Villagio Verde the first week of March. Ton and Zilla couldn't have been more amazing--helpful with advice, maps, arranging travel and diving. The property is a bit up the hill from the beach, nestled into a quiet area, which is perfect for escaping the hubbub and noise that can be in the West End at night. The breakfasts in the morning are a huge plus--it's nice to have a casual breakfast and be ready for your day and not have to worry about finding food every a.m. Highly recommended for anyone searching for a relaxing break in a charming property.

Room Tip: Only four rooms here in nice wood cabins. No way to go wrong. It also helps keep the property quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a great vacation so relaxing we have returned home so stress free made by our stay at the Villagio Verde.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just left VV after spending 2 restful weeks in Paradise. Owners Ton and Zilla made us feel right at home, except at home we don't have a full 2-course breakfast brought to us every morning!!

VV is mere minutes by taxi from the West End where most of the restaurants, diving and snorkle places etc are, but away from the noise. We never had to wait over 5 minutes for a taxi to come by, and only $2.00 US fare to West End.

Staying at VV is like being in the middle of a rain forest, except it did not rain while we were there.

My wife claimed the hammock on the porch of our bungalow and enjoyed reading her many books downloaded to her iPhone before leaving for Roatan.

I recommend taking a small flashlight for walking the stairs at night. They provide free WiFi but our suite was too far to get a signal. Just a short walk to the picnic table or swimming pool provided a great signal.

My wife and I highly recommend Villagio Verde and the personal, friendly added touch of owners Ton and Zilla. Oh yes, and the 3 beautiful dogs, especially our pal Missy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villagio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villagio Verde

Address: Calle Principal | West End, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the island of Roatan Honduras you find this exclusive and luxurious Bed and Breakfast. Just outside of West End so you are close to all the shops and restaurants but you can relax in a quiet surrounding. The spacious rooms are cooled by ceiling fans and screened, louvered windows and all come with hot water, king-size bed, refrigerator and coffee maker.AC possible at an additional fee per night (if available) We also have a nice swimmingpool and sundeck. Free wireless internet!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villagio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villagio Verde Hotel Roatan
Villagio Verde Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villagio Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.