We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

Save Saved
You added Hobbies Hideaway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hobbies Hideaway
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay | Turn Off Road, 600 Yards to Secluded Beach, 11011, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty lodging in Roatan
Lake George, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My husband and I wanted someplace unique to celebrate our 25th anniversary. What we found surpassed our expectations! We were John and Sue's guests for 3 weeks,so we had plenty of time to explore the island. The snorkling - just off the dock, was by far better than West Bay . Bonus - you will be the only ones out on the reef ! The food and drink at Hobbies is excellent and very reasonably priced. John and Sue were incredible -they went out of their way to assist us! I have to mention Hondo, such a lovable pooch, we looked forward to our morning greeting. No worries if you're not a dog person-he's very mellow and well behaved. Don't hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it. We can't wait to go back next year !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
64
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackstone, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

hobbies hideaway is fantastic . john and sue are excellent host
the sunshine cafe restaurant and bar have great food and ice cold
beer and drinks { also a top notch wine selection } if your like us you like an authentic
island experience . not some resort which look and feel all the same . not to mention
the inflated prices . the staff of john / sue and company really gave us the personalized
serviceu just can;t get at the resorts . hobbiies is located just far away enough from the masses . yet minutes away from anything you need { shopping / baeches nightlife ect . }
and world class snorkling / swiming and water sports right outside your door at hobbies
hideaway . this is how the carribean use to be . we hessitate to share this hidden gem
but really felt obligated to praise hobbies .
thank you so much we will be back soon
peter and family

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed at hobbies hideaway for more than a week and it was absolutely awesome!!!! John and Sue the owners were so Helpful and friendly!!! The accomadations were good. I stayed in the one bedroom which had a full size kitchen and living room, ac,cell phone, cable and internet...That's really good because alot of places do not include all of that. As soon as i arrived John and Sue made me feel like I was totally at home. The food in the restaurant in great and at really great prices as well!!! It sits directly ocean front, but if you want to swim you will need to walk out to the end of the dock, which I wasn't particularly fond of due to the sea weed..lol...You will definitely see beautiful sunsets and get great pics sitting at the end of the doc though!!!! I will definitely be back to see John and Sue and enjoy wonderful and beautiful Roatan!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We loved everything about Hobbies Hideaway. The location can't be beat. Steps away from the beach and wonderful snorkeling right off the pier. The apartment was spacious and had everything necessary to cook your own meals if you wished. We found we loved the food at the onsite restaurant, The Sunshine Cafe so much we ate most of our meals there. John and Sue were very accomodating for all our needs taking us to the bank and shopping. We love it so much we are headed back this summer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed at Hobbies Hideaway in Sandy Bay June 19-26, 2010.

Where to begin ?? John and Sue are the greatest hosts we have ever experienced on any of our vacations. As soon as we arrived at Hobbies, we were welcomed like family. We were also greeted by locals that frequent John and Sue's resturant called the Sunshine Cafe.

We rented the one bedroom and two bedroom apartment. Both apartments were spacious and had everything we needed for our stay such as a fully equipped kitchen, towels, linens, etc. The A/C worked great ! The apartments are well insulated and we were never disturbed by any outside noise. And when they say beachfront, they mean it! You can not get any closer to the water, beautiful sunsets and a awesome pier for snorkeling off of and also fishing.

The Sunshine Cafe that is on site is a terrific resturant and bar. Angie and Sue are great bartenders. We ate most of our meals at the cafe, and everything was great tasting, plentiful and very reasonably priced. You have to try the $5 three burger deal, it is a great deal, more than enough to eat and still have some left over. Steaks were really delicious also. The menu has a huge variety of items, it was tough to make a decision. We met alot of great people while enjoying afternoon cocktails at the fully stocked bar.

John is the man to talk to if you need to know anything about the island. Our last day on the island, John arranged for a van to take us to visit a local orphanage to see what they needed. He spent all day with us, taking us to a local grocery store and seafood/meat market to buy supplies for the kids. He also arranged for scuba tanks to be delivered to the hotel for diving, and scooters. John and Sue have the hookup on everything!

This was our first trip to Roatan, and hope to make many more. We really felt like we found paradise with all the great people on the island, and we could have not made a better choice when choosing to stay at Hobbies Hideaway. I am so glad we chose to stay in Sandy Bay vs. the more touristy West End/Bay area. You will not be dissapointed with Hobbies Hideaway. I was so sad when I had to leave....but there will be always more trips in the future!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed on the island from March 22nd to April 23rd and enjoyed every moment. While exploring the island we stumbled upon Sunshine Cafe at Hobbies. We probably ate at the resturant at least 4 times a week and enjoyed every meal. The food is prepared by local honduran cooks and is second to none. During our stay our 15th wedding anniversay was coming up so I asked Sue if she could set up something for our occasion and not let my wife know anything about this. She exceeded my expectations. When we arrived we she had a table set up just for us on a secluded part of the property on the beach. The table was set up with flowers, candles and was very romantic. We enjoyed a wonderful lobster meal with plantains and all the trimmings. Sue also had an anniversay card for me to give to Anita as I did not have one. This anniversary will always be special to us thanks to John & Sue. The seafood is always fresh and the prices are very reasonable. We look forward to seeing them again in the fall. Thanks again for a wonderful anniversary and vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed on Roatan for 5 weeks back in the spring and found this wonderful cafe on the beach in the Sandy Bay area. I know we ate there at least 4 or 5 times a week and enjoyed every meal. They have authentic honduran cooks and the food is second to none on the island. John and Sue are two of the nicest people you would want to meet and are very sensitive to your needs. While there our 15th wedding anniversay was coming up so I asked Sue if she could help me out and not let my wife in on the surprise. When we arrived on that evening Sue had moved a table out on the beach with candles, flowers and a beautiful setting. We had lobster and all the trimmings at a very reasonable price and will never forget this anniversary. She even had a anniversay card for me to give to Anita. The rooms are clean and well decorated and right on the beach. We look forward to our return this fall. Thanks again John & Sue for making our trip a trip to remember.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay | Turn Off Road, 600 Yards to Secluded Beach, 11011, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hobbies Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobbies Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.