We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Real" Fantasy Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Save
You added Hobbies Hideaway to your Saves list
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay | Turn Off Road, 600 Yards to Secluded Beach, 11011, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The "Real" Fantasy Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

For those of you who remember the TV show Fantasy Island, Ricardo Montablan as Mr Rourke has nothing on Mr Hobbie, the owner of this hidden getaway... even though he reminds me more of Tatu! :-)

If you are looking for a place to totally relax and be disconnected from everything... then this is the place for you!

Hobbie met us at the airport and is definately a known and respected 'Islander", as he had us, and our bags, on the ride to the "Hideaway" very quickly.

We arrived first thing in the morning at Hobbie's steps and were immediately greeted by the beautiful sound of the crashing morning surf... however, when we looked at the shoreline, it was calm as a drawn bath. What took our breath away was the view of the waves as they broke in a crescendo on the coral reef roughly 100 yards off the shore. To view mother nature in all her beauty, while its tranquilty was at our feet was awe inspiring and let us know that we had picked the right spot.

We later learned that this is the second largest reef system in the world...and it is beautiful!!!!

From there it was to our bungalow. A two room resident with a FULL kitchen. Hobbie was very informative about the local retail establishments and where to purchase any neccesary amenities. That being said, the cuisine at Hobbies' restaurant "Sunshine Cafe" is delicious. From a good ol' fashioned American Cheeseburger to what has to be the freshest local seafood. If you want some Conch (pronounced konk) Fritters that are more Conch than batter, you have to try these... and the prices will make you think you are paying for a value meal!

Getting back to the room, it is of ample size and comfort, including the bath. The kitchen was fully outfitted with all of the necessary utensils, cutlery and appliances. There was more than enough storage for our wardrobe, and the air condtioning was ice cold! While the island weather was pleasant, it was nice to walk into an island igloo! There is a quaint dining room set, a television and if you just can't get away from needing to get on-line, Hobbie's has internet capability! You may keep in touch with all current events back in "uncivilization" through Hobbie's broad spectrum of satellite TV stations, as well.

While the island of Roatan has a great deal of things to just relax in, the most relaxing was right outside the door of our room, the Caribbean Sea! We kayaked out to the reef everyday and tied off to buoys that allowed us dive the reef and take in its wonder. Hobbie has kayaks and snorkle gear that made this possible. It is best to take this in first thing in the morning, as the afternoon "trade winds" make for a challenging paddle back. The brillant colors, underwater sealife (seahorses!) and the gently swaying of fan coral with the current, while suspended in water that you can stand in at spots with your "tippy toes," is something that you must do!

After taking in a day on the island, you can simply kick back in one of Hobbies' hammocks, or take a stroll on the dock that seems to reach almost to the reef. This dock is two storied, with the view of the sky in the evening nothing short of spectacular! Away from the bright lights of the city, you can almost reach out and touch every star!

Sitting on the dock, you are still close enough to take in the sound of one of the local bands that plays at the "Sunshine Cafe."
Combine this with a Pina Colada and the gentle evening breeze and you will be swinging in a rythmic island beat that will make even the worst dancer forget they have two left feet!

While the night life and clubs of Roatan echo a South Beach- eseque vibe, the realxation with the "locals" and liquor is one I definately enjoyed moreso at Hobbie's Sunshine Cafe... the prices were better, as well! You could easily be sitting across from a millionare who has chosen this hidden gem Roatan to spend their retirement, as much as a local. Both of whom were full of vibrant stories about the island and their lives.

Roatan is definately a place I would recommend to anyone! If you are looking for a relaxing true island "Hideaway" for your stay, that is not commercialized, the aptly named Hobbie's Hideaway is the place I would recommend to stay on Roatan.

Hobbie, and his adorable wife Susie, who I believe is the real boss! :-), are the perfect hosts and will do their best to accomodate any of your needs and inquiries.

It was sad the day we departed, after our relaxing 5 days in paradise, however, as the plane banked away as it gained altitude, our last glimpse of Hobbie's Hideaway on the shore left us longing to return very soon!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
68
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Hobbies is the place to go if you want to stay in the peace and quiet of Sandy Bay. It is close enough to West End and West Bay (5 min. taxi ride @ $2) and is also close to Coxen Hole and towns on the east end. John and Sue are great people and will give you the do's and don'ts of the island. The bar and resturant at Hobbies (Sunshine Cafe) is wonderful as well, with great food, conch steaks, conch fritters, lobster, shrimp and alot more. The Sunshine also offers great drinks with wonderful bartenders (Sonya and Rosa), including mixed drinks, beer, wine and shots. There is alot to do as well, beach walking with wonderful scenery, swimming from the pier, snorkling to the reef about 100 yds. out from the pier and fishing and the best thing is relaxing on a picture perfect beach without the crowds. It is a great place to base your operations out of, as you are close to everything. I will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Hobbies Hideaway is a great place to relax and feel "at home!" Our two week stay there was one of the best experiences we've ever had! The owners, John and Sue, were so welcoming, and they went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The location of Hobbies was good, as is was a short (and inexpensive) taxi ride to West End and other spots on the island, The apartment we stayed in had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable, and the price was "unbeatable!" The location was right on the beach, and we had access to a beautiful dock that extended very close to the reef. Not only was the dock a convenient location for snorkeling, it was also a great place to "kick back" with a book and a cool drink! Hobbies beach and dock were "first class" viewing spots for the beautiful nightly sunsets! The afternoon Happy Hours at Hobbies bar provided many opportunities for great conversation and loads of fun! We had the chance to meet many great people there - locals and "imports" alike! For our short time there, we felt like we were a "real" part of their wonderful community! Most of our evening meals (and some lunches) were eaten at Hobbies restaurant - the Sunshine Cafe. Every meal we ate there was so good - especially the "country style steak!" Our experience in Roatan was unforgettable, and our stay at Hobbies Hideaway was one of the main reasons!

  • Liked — Location, People, and Price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

A perfect place for a relaxing getaway. Hobbies is located right on the eastern edge of Sandy Bay, which means miles of unspoiled reef to explore swimming distance (about 200 yards) from the guesthouse's dock. Snorkeling equipment is included. John was a great host, giving us plenty of good advise for the island and also booking accomodation for us in La Ceiba. There is an onsite bar/restaurant that is useful for a cold beer and dinner after a long day on the reef that is very popular with locals and tourists. Although our room was right next to the bar, things did quite down at night. Bring breakfast or stock up in West End on breakfast supplies, as the guesthouse is a good distance from the nearest store. Overall, an inexpensive option with friendly service and a perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

If you want peace and relaxation on the beautiful white beaches of Roatan Honduras, look no further than Hobbie's-Hideaway in Sandy Bay. Owners, John & Sue, are most accommodating and make you feel like family in their one or two bedroom apartments. The food in their Sunshine Cafe is delicious. Just steps from the Caribean and the second largest reef. Snorkeling gear is provided. Two thumbs up for Hobbie's-Hideaway!!

  • Liked — right on the beach
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

I arrived from Ireland on the Sunday, and what I found was a cosy little spot aptly named Hobbies Hideaway.
Hobbies Hideaway is a place where you can relax in peace. You are literally metres from the beach and the sea breeze is beautiful. John and Sue run the place and you could not meet nicer people. They made us feel at home straight away. The rooms are great value and have all modern conviences including plenty of air conditioning. What I found great was for such a small place, they had there own kitchen with an array of different foods especially the American beef burger which I found delicious. John will show you around the island and give u a shrewd analysis of the best parts of the island. Hobbies is located is on your way to the west end. You will not get tired of driving to and from Hobbies as the scenery is breathtaking. Check out Roatans Butterfly Garden and the Carambola Gardens nearby for Romantic walks. West Bay is beautiful too .As Arnie says” ill be back”

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

We are avid divers and love to fish. We researched Roatan as it had both to offer. We searched the internet and found what we thought would be a great vacation area. Hobbies Hideaway. We were pleasantly surprised by Sue and her husband John. Both were very informative about the different dive areas. They directed us to all the dive operators and really helped us explore the beautiful island. Our room turned out to be a beautiful apartment. Looking out at the beach and reef was very relaxing. We did serveral dives in the town of West End. John provided us with snorkeling equipment. and we were really surpised at the amount of Marine life just a short swim from the beach front. I will recommend Hobbies Hideaway to all. We had a great time. Nicole Rivero, Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay | Turn Off Road, 600 Yards to Secluded Beach, 11011, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobbies Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.