We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobbies Hideaway - Great Place, Even Better People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

Save Saved
You added Hobbies Hideaway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hobbies Hideaway
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay | Turn Off Road, 600 Yards to Secluded Beach, 11011, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty lodging in Roatan
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
“Hobbies Hideaway - Great Place, Even Better People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We spent the first two weeks of May as guests of Sue and John at Hobbies Hideaway in Sandy Bay, Roatan. The facilities and atmosphere are exactly as described in so many of the reviews. The setting is very relaxed and easy going. On the mornings we were not rushing off to go diving, we had a leisure coffee on the beach. Mornings are the best time to go snorkelling on the reef immediately in front of Hobbies. John took the time to take us out and give us a tour of some of his favourite spots on the reef.

Sue provides an unofficial concierge service. She ordered us a rental car, helped up plan an island tour, directed us to the best grocery store and told what the taxi fair should be (occasional you have to negotiate with the taxi drivers). Taxi's were inexpensive and passed by the end of Hobbies laneway at regular intervals. After a day touring the island, diving, or hanging out at West Bay, we'd come back to Hobbies, pick up a couple of cold brews (the local beer is excellent) and head out to the end of the pier where the steady breeze keeps the heat in check and the sand flies at bay.

In the afternoon and evening the activity at the bar and restaurant picks up with a mix of locals and expats. We met some of the regulars, who, like our hosts were great people, generous and fun. Other times, we sat by ourselves at the back of the restaurant, reading, or enjoying a leisure beverage while watching the sunset. John and Sue made a point of ensuring that we treated the restaurant like an extension of the apartment.

There are only two apartments, both off the bar/restaurant facing the beach. The apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen and we made many of our own meals. However, when we needed a break, or wanted something special, Hobbies Sunshine Cafe has great food. They have everything from burgers, to spaghetti, to lobster tails (we had that twice). They served a local Mothers Day supper that was excellent. Prices were very reasonable and portions are large. If you ask, Sue will match your meal with a nice wine.

Free internet allowed us to keep on top of things back home including the election and playoff hockey. John even put the hockey game on the big screen above the bar (This was certainly appreciated as I don't know that John is a big hockey fan).

We had a great vacation at Hobbies and Roatan in general. John and Sue are excellent hosts. I would have no problem recommending this place to others.

Regards,

Steve, Anne, Ben & Dave
Sudbury, Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
64
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Progreso, Guatemala
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had a great time at Hobbie’s Hideaway! The beach is practically private, the reef is beautiful and we had a nice day of snorkeling there. The service that John and Sue provide was excellent. He met us at the dock and took us to the hotel. He took us shopping and even provided us a cell phone during our stay there. We enjoyed the rooms which were clean and well kept. We really enjoyed the hospitality because we didn’t feel like their intention was to get our money (which it did seem to be with many others we came in contact with on the island). We felt that the service they gave was because they care about people and were genuinely interested in our comfort and enjoyment during our stay. I can honestly say that if ever we return to the island we will stay again at Hobbie’s Hideaway. Great place and great people! Thank-you so much.

Ed and Myrna Gunn
Guatemala

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Progreso, Guatemala
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had a great time at Hobbie’s Hideaway! The beach is practically private, the reef is beautiful and we had a nice day of snorkeling there. The service that John and Sue provide was excellent. He met us at the dock and took us to the hotel. He took us shopping and even provided us a cell phone during our stay there. We enjoyed the rooms which were clean and well kept. We really enjoyed the hospitality because we didn’t feel like their intention was to get our money (which it did seem to be with many others we came in contact with on the island). We felt that the service they gave was because they care about people and were genuinely interested in our comfort and enjoyment during our stay. I can honestly say that if ever we return to the island we will stay again at Hobbie’s Hideaway. Great place and great people! Thank-you so much.

Ed and Myrna Gunn
Guatemala

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed at Hobbies for a week and it was wonderful. Owner, John, met us at the airport and directed us to transportation. Our room was very clean, comfortable beds & chairs with A/C that worked, full kitchen, TV, internet, cell phone. One of the best part for us was when you opened your front door you steped right into the Sunshire Cafe and just a few steps further the beach. John and/or Sue, the owners/managers where always around to attend to our needs, give local advice, or just chit chat. Making this the friendless place we have ever stayed. We ate at the Sunshire Cafe many times, always had great food, good serviec at a very resonable price. We rented a car part of our stay and cab service is just a call away. Snorkling is just off the end or their pier. Sunsets where beautiful from the beach or the Sunshine. We did not see any personal safety issues in Roatan.
Highly Recommended!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

My wife & I stayed at Hobbies Hideaway for three nights, and hated that we had to come back to the states, and back to work! John & Sue (owners) are two of the best. They have created a little speck of paradise right on a beautiful, peaceful beach. The food at Sunshine Cafe - awesome! Their chefs, Jose & Inez, do a great job. Plus the servings are so big you can barely eat it all. Fresh seafood galore, and much more. Coldest beer on the island, and be careful with the rum & cokes, they will kick your butt! The perfect 'beach bum' type bar! John picked us up at the ferry & delivered us to the airport when we departed. He wanted to give us a tour of the island but was gone on business the days we were there. We really enjoyed the afternoon crowd of locals & expats that show up at the bar for happy hour and the most beatiful sunset ever. Lots of fun. The room was not fancy, but neither are we. It was comfortable & clean, plus a full kitchen if you want to fix your own meals (but why would you want to?) Great reef to snorkel, and we spent one whole day in hammocks on the pier drinking cold Imperials. Check it out, and tell John that Gordie sent you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

My wife and I were spending 2 weeks at an AI near La Ceiba and decided we wanted to spend a weekend away from the resort and we chose Hobbies Hideaway and we are so happy we did.
We booked online from home and the communication was excellent. They use Paypal when reserving and paying for the room, a feature we loved.
We took the ferry from La Ceiba which cost 55.00 USD return and took about 1.5 hrs to complete it's journey.
John met us at the ferry (an arrangement made before hand) and took us on a 15min ride and we were there.
We were introduced to Sue and were shown to our room promptly, the rooms are located just off of the Sunshine Cafe.
The room has a kitchenette and livingroom in a open concept. The bedroom has a full closet and dresser for storage and a double bed. The bathroom is quite large and plenty of clean towels are provided. Since drinking the tap water is not advised, Hobbie's provides purified water and ice. Since this hotel is located right on the beach, Hobbie's provide water basins to rinse your feet or you will have sand in your room.
The food was great and cooked to order and always hot. They have a pretty large menu and are open for lunch and dinner, hours of operation are noon to 9 or 10pm.
Since the rooms are located just off the bar and restaurant you can hear the bar's guests if you retire early but once in the bedroom no noise can be heard at all and the bar closes early anyways.
The beach is long and quiet. Even though the beach is public you get the feeling of privacy and seclusion, nobody around at all.
The hotel is located right in front of the flats and the fishing is excellent. Flat fishing tours which cost big money come here and fish. I caught a few Rockfish but the local fishing with me was a fishing machine, he caught everything from Horse-eyed Jack to Octupus, thanks for the lessons Derek.
The best memory we have though is about our hosts John and Sue. They were so attentive and knowlegable about the area. They provide such a relaxing atmosphere.
We hope to return soon but spend a little longer with these great people and at such a beautiful location.
Thanks for the great getaway John and Sue.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Sitting here with John, Sue, and a beautiful setting sun. This place has the bar and restaurant right on beach. The fish sandwhich is to die for and fajitas are top-notch. The service is fabulous and we have felt at home since we arrived here a week ago. A must see on your travel itinerary to sunny roatan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay | Turn Off Road, 600 Yards to Secluded Beach, 11011, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hobbies Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobbies Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.