We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Save
You added Hobbies Hideaway to your Saves list
Main Island road, Sandy Bay | Turn off main road, 600 Yards to Secluded Beach, 11011, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

My wife and I were spending 2 weeks at an AI near La Ceiba and decided we wanted to spend a weekend away from the resort and we chose Hobbies Hideaway and we are so happy we did.
We booked online from home and the communication was excellent. They use Paypal when reserving and paying for the room, a feature we loved.
We took the ferry from La Ceiba which cost 55.00 USD return and took about 1.5 hrs to complete it's journey.
John met us at the ferry (an arrangement made before hand) and took us on a 15min ride and we were there.
We were introduced to Sue and were shown to our room promptly, the rooms are located just off of the Sunshine Cafe.
The room has a kitchenette and livingroom in a open concept. The bedroom has a full closet and dresser for storage and a double bed. The bathroom is quite large and plenty of clean towels are provided. Since drinking the tap water is not advised, Hobbie's provides purified water and ice. Since this hotel is located right on the beach, Hobbie's provide water basins to rinse your feet or you will have sand in your room.
The food was great and cooked to order and always hot. They have a pretty large menu and are open for lunch and dinner, hours of operation are noon to 9 or 10pm.
Since the rooms are located just off the bar and restaurant you can hear the bar's guests if you retire early but once in the bedroom no noise can be heard at all and the bar closes early anyways.
The beach is long and quiet. Even though the beach is public you get the feeling of privacy and seclusion, nobody around at all.
The hotel is located right in front of the flats and the fishing is excellent. Flat fishing tours which cost big money come here and fish. I caught a few Rockfish but the local fishing with me was a fishing machine, he caught everything from Horse-eyed Jack to Octupus, thanks for the lessons Derek.
The best memory we have though is about our hosts John and Sue. They were so attentive and knowlegable about the area. They provide such a relaxing atmosphere.
We hope to return soon but spend a little longer with these great people and at such a beautiful location.
Thanks for the great getaway John and Sue.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
73
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Sitting here with John, Sue, and a beautiful setting sun. This place has the bar and restaurant right on beach. The fish sandwhich is to die for and fajitas are top-notch. The service is fabulous and we have felt at home since we arrived here a week ago. A must see on your travel itinerary to sunny roatan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I had a phenominal stay at Hobbies. The owners, John and Sue, took care of me so well that I never wanted to leave! And when my Continental flight got cancelled due to mechanical problems they gladly took me back in for a night.

The restaurant has incredible food at great prices and the beach is literally right there!

With regards to comments others have made: The two apartments they have are off the restaurant/bar, however they close down around 9pm and I was never bothered by anyone or any noise. You can choose to cook all of your own meals and never speak to a soul if you like OR if you need anything, anything - just ask they want you to enjoy your stay with them AND they want you to enjoy your visit to Roatan. Wireless internet is available, you can rent a Hondurian cell phone so you can call the states cheap, did I mention the food is great, the beach is less than 30 feet away, and the staff is friendly and helpful! It is not a 5 star hotel - it is a relaxing laid back place to go on vacation to relax . . . to just enjoy yourself and do as you please when and wherever you like with the safety and security of people who know the island.

Thank you John, Sue, and Inez - I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Back to Paradise for the third time. I love Hobbies Hideaway. Only 50 feet away from my efficiency are the best flats fishing on the island. Tailing bonefish and the occasional permit are here. The reef is only a short swim away. Hobbies Hideaway restaurant ,"The Sunshine Cafe," is excellent. The fresh lobster and conch ceviche are awesome. I love this place! I have excellent fishing, diving, bar, great food, internet, the best hospitality, with out the noise and congestion of West End. I'll be back AGAIN.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This is not your all-inclusive, sanitized very commercial resort but then we didn't want it to be. We wanted to live a little bit of the relaxed, quiet island life on our schedule. We loved being at Hobbies Hideaway. John and Sue were fantastic...and their food was out of this world, very reasonably priced too. I wish Sunshine Cafe was in our neighborhood--we'd be regulars. If you want to relax get away from the party-scene at West end and cruise ship turmoil, this is the place. They were always very helpful and wanted to know if something was amiss--it would be righted. They were a wealth of knowledge about anything and anyone on the island. The bar always closed about 9-ish and was not rowdy like other bars. We liked being able to take 15 steps out to the sand, ten steps to dinner. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to step out of the big resort box type of place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife and I spent a relaxing week with John, Sue, Hondo and Taboo. The room was ready, clean and well equipped with everything we needed. John and Sue were a wealth of information with regard to activities on Roatan. They were also very willing to help us with phone and internet access. Even though the Bar/restaurant was outside our door, the closing time usually coincided with our bedtime. Access to the beach is easy and the dock afforded wonderful views of sea, sand, surf, sunrises and sunsets. Snorkeling on the reef (~200 feet off the dock) is second to none. Eels, lobster, octopus, reef fish and the biggest school of parrot fish I have ever seen.
All in all it we spent a very enjoyable week at Hobbies and would highly recommend it as a place to stay while visiting Roatan.
As with all of Roatan.....don't forget something for the bugs.....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I am not quite sure how this place has gotten such positive reviews as it has. John and Sue are certainly nice, good natured people. There is

no question about that. And if the prices they charge are all you can afford, it is still a great way to get to such beautiful island without

breaking the bank.

But, put simply, here are my major grievances. First and foremost, the room was dirty. All the towels had stains and hair on them (they were

definitely cleaned -- but who wants to use a cleaned towel that looks 15 years old with rust stains and someone elses hair on it). The

bedsheets also had tons of hair on them.

Almost everything in the kitchen needed to be washed before it could be used. There was no soap in the kitchen and the sponge looked like it

was used to clean up grease, but then never washed off.

I am only saying this stuff so that other people know what they are getting themselves into.

Lastly, only other big negative has been mentioned before on TripAdvisor. Our room was literally 2 feet away from the edge of the Bar. On

one hand it was great to have a restaurant/bar right next to our room, but on the other hand I felt like we had to explain where we were going

each time we left. Another thing about the room -- Before getting there, I had the feeling that there were a bunch of different rooms. In fact, there were only two. We were the only guests. This is not a bad thing for everyone. Just a suprise to me and maybe why it felt strange coming and leaving from our room.

I know this review is harsh, but I have used TripAdvisor before and have never been so shocked at the difference between the reviews and the

reality.

Now on to the good stuff:

If you are trying to save money, don't worry that you are not in the "cool" part of town. West End (lots of restaurants/bars) is only a $3

taxi away, and then you can get to West Bay (the best beach) via $2.50 water taxi from west end.

John, Sue, both waitresses, and all of their staff are really nice. At least in person, they are trying to make your stay enjoyable. Maybe

we should have told them how gross the room was, but it was kind of awkward.

In the end, I personally wish John and Sue well, but I would not recommend this place to any of my friends. And that is what TripAdvisor is

for. Right?

Probably the best thing about Hobbies was the restaurant (Sunshine Cafe). Great, great, local food at really good prices. If you are staying

anywhere close to the area, I would highly recommend stopping by for a meal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
As owners of Hobbies Hideaway we do have to take exception to this review. We invite new guests to experience the ambiguity of this review, Obliviously this couple were not pleased at all with Hobbies Hideaway. As management is always on site we cannot even begin to justify any of these unfounded accusations. To refute previous quests comments is inconsistent and a anomaly totally divergent from all other reviews and past quests. In reality we serve our quests quite well to ensure their visit to Roatan ia a memorable one; this couple only had good things to say about the apartment and never informed us of any problems.
We do provide room service ,new clean towels and linens as requested. Hobbies had just been upgraded with all new items.
We do appreciate all reviews and personal constructive suggestions from our quests. It is a step forward for new arriving quests.
It is totally beyond our comprehension how you could step away from the beach side bar and not see the adjacent building with four more rooms??. Our quests were always informed of the right direction to take for activities and taxi service at reasonable prices.
In summary this review is subjective and is only serving to delude from reality.
As advised by trip Adviser this is a new member, We have read the 2 reviews posted and find a common thread in them.
The review is a good beginning and then turns to "BUT",then the critical negative superlatives follow. Objective reviews are always welcome, Falsifications are not !! Most people come to Roatan to relax,enjoy the beaches, the weather, diving ,beach and bar, restaurants kayaks , water charters, the culture plus so much more.. We make that happen .
We wish this couple the best and hope other accommodations in the future will meet their expectations. For those that we have meet and those we look forward to meeting. Your hosts in paradise John and sweet Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Address: Main Island road, Sandy Bay | Turn off main road, 600 Yards to Secluded Beach, 11011, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobbies Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.