We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surpizing jewel in the West End.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Paradise Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Paradise Inn
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal. West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Roatan B&B and Inns
Manhattan, KS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A surpizing jewel in the West End.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Neat, if simple, cottages set in white sand, and palm trees, next to the water. Very well kept. Considerate management-- 2 brothers who make you feel very welcome. For the west end a quiet refuge. Evenings on the porches with great sunset views.

James S. Jones guest January/February 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Carlos, Sanitago and the rest of thier staff helped make our week in Roatan amazing and unforgettable....just about everything we could have asked for in a destination. We spent the week here with about ten other couples for a destination wedding...everyone was welcoming and friendly, excited to make our vacation and our friend's wedding perfect.

Try and get a cabin on the beach side, as i can imagine the bugs could be bad on the forest side. You also have the Barking Monkey (which is the nearest bar to the Inn) likes to blare the country music and seem to have only a few lists to choose from, but isn't any louder than one can expect things while on vacation, and isn't a bad background noise if you are sitting on the deck outside your cabin enjoying a few cocktails.

WiFi cuts in and out, but so many places in town offer free wifi, so NEVER pay off site for it...and if you're looking for a good breakfast, check out C-Level (next to the Reef Gliders Dive Shop) or the restauarnt above the West End Dive shop....its a tie for the best breakfast on the West End....I cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: ***A small indoor/outdoor rug for the room would be a good idea...with the cabins right on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Lost Paradise Inn 7 times over the past few years. (same owner has been there for a long time).This is right on the beach, beautiful scenery, fantastic sunsets, a little rustic, but so relaxing. The access to the beach offers some privacy, and the water is clear and great for snorkeling or scuba diving. A kid friendly place as well. The Inn does not have any restaurant, so, I always take a small coffee maker so that I can enjoy my early morning coffee while sitting on the balcony, or while wading in the calm water. All the restaurants and shops are right there. Great place for some fantastic locally made souvenirs. Taxi service is readily available to other exciting places to visit. Lots to do on the island, but also a great place to relax. I love this place.

Room Tip: Close to ocean as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A peaceful place, nothing real fancy, but great! We had the whole beach and almost the whole hotel for ourselves. The bungalow was very nice. Crew very helpful and nice. The room and bathroom clean. I loved it. Great place to rent few bungalows and come with more friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Lost Paradise Inn. It was fantastic! We had a cabin right on the beach where we could swim out to the reef to snorkel. 99% of the staff speak very good to perfect English and they bent over backward to make sure we enjoyed our stay. It's true there is no TV in the cabins, but the lobby has wifi and if you bring a laptop, bootleg DVD's are readily available in the village. The room did have a refrigerator and a coffee maker. The only cons were that a nearby bar cranks their music until 2:30 AM on Fridays and Saturdays and the fact that the toilet paper in the rooms comes from a single sheet dispenser.
If you can put up with the music (as we did), and you prefer the good old rolls of TP (which can be bought in the village) you will have a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you're looking for a resort, and are used to all inclusive, don't go there! But if you like a little more privacey, and don't need cable TV, and room service, this is the spot....My girlfriend and I, went 2 years in a row, we very much enjoy the low key, funkiness of West End, and the cabins at Lost paradise.

The rooms are very clean, AC, small fridge, good showers and toilets, it's a tiny bit dated in interior design, but it is one of the first resorts on the island: kind of like tropical, meets The Ponderosa, with the wood paneled walls, and the light fixtures. We stayed in Pieces right on the water, with a private dock with small Cabana at the end to enjoy the Sunset, with a beer, or a Rum Punch. We made our own, as there is no bar at Lost Paradise.

On Saturdays, the bar down the way makes a little racket, but it stops promptly at 12:00 Midnite, there are many great little spot to eat down the way, one of our dinner spluges was the Argentine place that makes great steak, and sea food. The trick is learning the schedules at these various restaurants, because it's Island time, and a bit more laid back then West Bay.

Santiago (there are 3 of them) are very helpful, and very honest. A good family., and they will pick you up, and take you to the Airport, at no charge.

So, go, have a good time, tell Santiago Jose from San Fancisco said "Hello"

Next stop for us, is Peru!

Joe Perrault, San Francisco ca.

Room Tip: The 2 on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is a beachfront hotel, divided by cabins. Some of them are in front of the beautiful beach of West End, but the other, unfortunately mine, was across the street, inside ground and 2 min away from the beach. That was the worst of them. No outdoor light on the cabin, the shower was broken and you can barely take a shower with a little bit of water, A/C was just in one temperature (we couldn't regulate it), and we were a family of 5 adults and 2 children, that's why (they said) they put us together in 2 beds and ONE MATRESS on the floor. We paid equally than other people in the same tour and we felt like discrimination about that. They don't have a restaurant or cafeteria, maybe they have room service, but no one to serve you a cocktail or a plate of fries, just 2 nice people that helps you with some issues. Besides that, the location is awesome, (except for the mosquitoes and ants), but you actually can snorkel on the beach, the moment you enter on the sand you can see through the clear water a lot of fishes, sea urchins, even corals. The hotel has a pier where a boat can pick you up to take a ride for just $5 per person. Well, we haven't spend so much time at the hotel that's why I prefer not to complain about the cabin we stayed on, ad also, Lost Paradise has an excellent location, even if it is at West End, cause the noise of the nightlife of Roatán couldn't be heard from the rooms and the family can sleep very well. And, oh! You can't miss the sunset, from the private beach of this hotel you can watch it PERFECT!

Room Tip: Choose the beachfront cabins, they have a dock where you can sit and watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lost Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Paradise Inn

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal. West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Lost Paradise Hotel Roatan
Lost Paradise Inn Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Paradise Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lost Paradise Inn to your Saves list