We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in the sun..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Paradise Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Paradise Inn
Save
You added Lost Paradise Inn to your Saves list
Carretera Pavimentada Ppal. West End, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Roatan B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relax in the sun..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Lost Paradise Inn 7 times over the past few years. (same owner has been there for a long time).This is right on the beach, beautiful scenery, fantastic sunsets, a little rustic, but so relaxing. The access to the beach offers some privacy, and the water is clear and great for snorkeling or scuba diving. A kid friendly place as well. The Inn does not have any restaurant, so, I always take a small coffee maker so that I can enjoy my early morning coffee while sitting on the balcony, or while wading in the calm water. All the restaurants and shops are right there. Great place for some fantastic locally made souvenirs. Taxi service is readily available to other exciting places to visit. Lots to do on the island, but also a great place to relax. I love this place.

Room Tip: Close to ocean as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A peaceful place, nothing real fancy, but great! We had the whole beach and almost the whole hotel for ourselves. The bungalow was very nice. Crew very helpful and nice. The room and bathroom clean. I loved it. Great place to rent few bungalows and come with more friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Lost Paradise Inn. It was fantastic! We had a cabin right on the beach where we could swim out to the reef to snorkel. 99% of the staff speak very good to perfect English and they bent over backward to make sure we enjoyed our stay. It's true there is no TV in the cabins, but the lobby has wifi and if you bring a laptop, bootleg DVD's are readily available in the village. The room did have a refrigerator and a coffee maker. The only cons were that a nearby bar cranks their music until 2:30 AM on Fridays and Saturdays and the fact that the toilet paper in the rooms comes from a single sheet dispenser.
If you can put up with the music (as we did), and you prefer the good old rolls of TP (which can be bought in the village) you will have a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you're looking for a resort, and are used to all inclusive, don't go there! But if you like a little more privacey, and don't need cable TV, and room service, this is the spot....My girlfriend and I, went 2 years in a row, we very much enjoy the low key, funkiness of West End, and the cabins at Lost paradise.

The rooms are very clean, AC, small fridge, good showers and toilets, it's a tiny bit dated in interior design, but it is one of the first resorts on the island: kind of like tropical, meets The Ponderosa, with the wood paneled walls, and the light fixtures. We stayed in Pieces right on the water, with a private dock with small Cabana at the end to enjoy the Sunset, with a beer, or a Rum Punch. We made our own, as there is no bar at Lost Paradise.

On Saturdays, the bar down the way makes a little racket, but it stops promptly at 12:00 Midnite, there are many great little spot to eat down the way, one of our dinner spluges was the Argentine place that makes great steak, and sea food. The trick is learning the schedules at these various restaurants, because it's Island time, and a bit more laid back then West Bay.

Santiago (there are 3 of them) are very helpful, and very honest. A good family., and they will pick you up, and take you to the Airport, at no charge.

So, go, have a good time, tell Santiago Jose from San Fancisco said "Hello"

Next stop for us, is Peru!

Joe Perrault, San Francisco ca.

Room Tip: The 2 on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is a beachfront hotel, divided by cabins. Some of them are in front of the beautiful beach of West End, but the other, unfortunately mine, was across the street, inside ground and 2 min away from the beach. That was the worst of them. No outdoor light on the cabin, the shower was broken and you can barely take a shower with a little bit of water, A/C was just in one temperature (we couldn't regulate it), and we were a family of 5 adults and 2 children, that's why (they said) they put us together in 2 beds and ONE MATRESS on the floor. We paid equally than other people in the same tour and we felt like discrimination about that. They don't have a restaurant or cafeteria, maybe they have room service, but no one to serve you a cocktail or a plate of fries, just 2 nice people that helps you with some issues. Besides that, the location is awesome, (except for the mosquitoes and ants), but you actually can snorkel on the beach, the moment you enter on the sand you can see through the clear water a lot of fishes, sea urchins, even corals. The hotel has a pier where a boat can pick you up to take a ride for just $5 per person. Well, we haven't spend so much time at the hotel that's why I prefer not to complain about the cabin we stayed on, ad also, Lost Paradise has an excellent location, even if it is at West End, cause the noise of the nightlife of Roatán couldn't be heard from the rooms and the family can sleep very well. And, oh! You can't miss the sunset, from the private beach of this hotel you can watch it PERFECT!

Room Tip: Choose the beachfront cabins, they have a dock where you can sit and watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed five nights at Lost Paradise and found the accommodations quite charming. According to several ex-patriots that we met on the island Lost Paradise was one of the first resorts on the island. It is owned by a local family and Mr. Santiago met us himself and helped us with the luggage. We had the Pisces bungalow right on the sea. It was a wonderful place to watch the sun set. The resort is located right at the end of the main strip of the West End. There is an open air restaurant and bar next door and you will hear the music late into the night later in the week. This is a no frills place where you can enjoy the water and the night life of the west end. The setting is beautiful and the staff could not have been nicer. One word of caution, we left our beach shoes on the porch overnight to dry and they were gone the next morning. We found Roatan to be very safe and we got a little to comfortable toward the end of our two week stay. Overall it was a great visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Lost Paradise Inn has a lovely location right on the water. There are private cabins on the beach and a dock that overlooks the water. Our water taxis dropped us off right in front. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were clean, cool and adequate. Overall, we had a very good experience and I would recommend Lost Paradise Inn to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Paradise Inn

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal. West End, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Lost Paradise Hotel Roatan
Lost Paradise Inn Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Paradise Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.