We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An island off an island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barefoot Cay to your Saves list
Barefoot Cay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour & Brick Bay, 33126, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF THANKSGIVING WEEK
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An island off an island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is not the typical review since we were marina guests.
We sailed to Roatan from Miami with the marina of Barefoot Cay as our first port of call. After 5 days at sea, land arose, we turned right between Guanaja and Roatan and followed to the coast toward the marina. Realizing that none of the smaller channels are well marked, we called Barefoot Cay. Stephanie responded and sent out a boat to guide us in, which "Chalupa" did perfectly. When we entered the area of the property, two people were already on the dock to help us tie up.
We needed laundry service, and although it was in the middle of the afternoon, the "laundry ladies" as we called them brought everything back folded perfectly just a couple of hours later; they stayed extra time to finish the job.

That set the tone for a wonderful 8 days in a small but perfect marina with beautiful docks, a couple of very protected slips and great water and electric hookup. The service was impeccable: after morning outings/dives, we would spend most afternoons at the beautiful pool and were waited on hand and foot. While we stayed on our boat and did not use the villas, we did find that the bathrooms/showers by the pool were perfectly kept. We had dinner in the restaurant twice - very good food lovingly and beautifully prepared and presented. There are two seatings, and menu offers good variety and choice. One forgets easily that one is on a small island with limited agricultural resources. (We have done a lot of sailing in the various Caribbean island; hard to find this quality of food). They also have an excellent wine list.

To get off the Cay, one takes a little shuttle boat across the waterway to leads up into French Harbor. On the main island, there is the dive shop and above it, additional guest rooms. Although we did not use their diving equipment or tours (we have our own and used our own dinghi to get to any of the unbelievably near dive spots) we were all impressed with the facility. Whoever designed the place deserves an award. Aside from the esthetics, every dive boat returning home had a lot of happy and excited faces on it.
I had the chance to watch some diving classes by the gazebo that sits right ontop of an inner reef. Very thorough. Plus, the spot is perfect of easy snorkeling and the gazebo for total R&R.

The grounds - there are lovely little spots all over the couple of acres (more or less) where guests find a hammock, or some chaises, or a set up of Adirondack chairs with some tables under a trellis. If one wants to have dinner in one of those delightful little spots - the staff accommodates you with candles, firepots or anything you could possibly desire.

Since Barefoot Cay is separated from the main island by about 100 feet, there is a sense of closeness to the real life of the surrounding harbor. Just adjacent to the Diveshop is a dock with a couple of cargo vessels tied up by a beverage plant. However, they only leave periodically. The channel towards the east that leads to French Harbor is too shallow to accommodate the cargo ships, so the only traffic are leisure craft or small boats. In other words, it is very peaceful while still giving you the idea of being part of the real world.

Finally - the official greeter, Chacarron. He is a Yellownaped Amazon Parrot who charms everyone. We all miss his "Hello" and we all 7 of us want to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    20
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
61
215
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

As I had been to AKR in 2007 and loved the experience, I was looking forward to go back for my xmas 2012 vacation. Fortunately (yeah) they were full. That gave me the chance to discover Barefoot.

A few words are enough to describe Barefoot: high class boutique resort. I think it can accomodate no more than 30 guest or so at any time. Our room was actually on the main island, in the same building as the diving shop, overlooking the boats. Although we would have loved to have a cottage on the cay, that room did not disappoint us. On the contrary. Everything is crystal clean, the design of the room is awsome, no cheesy taste there. Very large room with kitchen. Ha! Kitchen. Useless, unless you want to save a few bucks. The food at the restaurant on the cay is sooooo good. Not your typical diving resort buffet style, even not comparable to the best of those. Made to order quality food. A menu designed a while ago by a real chef and staff trained to cook it perfectly. And flexible. My gf has some food restrictions and won't eat shrimps or pork for instance. "What would you like darling? Fish? Veggie lasagna? Name it".

The diving was very good although not the best I've had. But I'll go back in a beat and next time I dive with them I'll simply ask for more variety and will research my site before I go. *When I was there*, I though they had a tendancy to stay close to home and that somehow restricts the options. Mary's place is reaaally nice but not worth going three times in three days... However, the dive staff service is what's called "valet diving". They'll take super care of you. Don't look for you gear in your locker, it's already all setup and waiting for you on the boat when you signed up for the dive (of course). If you don't like others setting up your gear, just tell them and they'll adjust to your preferences. My girlfriend being a beginner and pretty anxious about her first boat dive, they paired up with our own DM and she loved the experience.

'Nough said. Just go.

Room Tip: When I go back, I'll try to get something on the cay facing the ocean. But even the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment you step foot on the little island paradise of Barefoot Cay, you feel safe and relaxed. The beach is beautiful and private, the pool area beautifully and thoughtfully designed with attentive bar tenders and restaurant near by and happy to serve. A most adorable mascot "Chacarron" is the most personable parrot you will ever have the delight to encounter and "talk" with. Those arriving by boat, enjoy a peaceful marina within steps of the pool area and beach, with a staff ready to give assistance in tying up to the dock, etc. Tiki hut at the end of the pier is a delightful place to sit, have coffee in the early morning or do yoga. However, you enjoy your relaxation time, this is a great place to do it. Have fun and tell Chacarron "hello" for me.

Room Tip: We stayed in the marina onboard our sailboat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Best for snurkling and scuba diving,clean beach pleasant sorrrounding and very private with good security, we docked our yatch there and left it unlocked whenever we left the island.

Many places to eat outside the resort also like sport bars restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Barefoot Cay (aboard a yacht - docked at Barefoot Cay). I must say that I loved it there! Beautiful resort. You can walk down the pier to the tiki hut, jump in the water & go snorkeling or diving. The water is crystal clear, great reef right there at the pier with tons of fish.
Loved spending the afternoon at the pool. Very private/exclusive. The staff is excellent! Perfect combination of attentive customer service & privacy. An added bonus is the resident parrot Chaccaron. I fell in love with this bird :) The food is great, the bloody mary's are even better...if you get the chance to visit this little slice of heaven, do it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

After several years of keep going to Roatan and travel to many other places in the world, I never have found any other place that combines the harmony, good taste, and quality in everything you may ask for, Since Food, Service, Hospitality and Design, They are all find right here, at the same exact place.
Barefoot Cay, It's small enough to get to be know by your name for almost each one of the persons that work there,and at the end of your stay, you feel like you went to your dream beach house, nor to another big hotel, where you become one more of the many thousands guests that may arrive everyday, and that makes this place a dream, to be in,
Everything that you may ask you will find it right there, since snorkeling, diving, swimming kayaking, games, movies, dining, music, it's all in here, and if you are up for a little bit more shaking night and want to do some dancing, well, guess what, the place is so well located, that very quickly you can either get a taxi or if you have decided to rent a car, very soon you can be in either one of the east or west side of the island.
This place was build thinking in the love cay, everything that is nice can happen over here, since wedding, nice moon light with a bottle of wine by the beach outside of your bedroom, or in the palapa, or competing with your friend to see who jumps further, or just have a quiet time listening to music. reading a book, having a conversation, or if he plays the guitar, hear he playing, which was awesome in my last trip, a few weeks ago.

I will highly recommend this place with blind eyes, always
The very best one in Roatan

Room Tip: If you can, please stay at the bungalows, having morning coffees and walk in barefoot around the cay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back from a relaxing week with family at Barefoot Cay. The resort met and exceeded the needs of all of us, from grandmother to teenager. The staff were all friendly, attentive and helpful. We did the meal plan, and the food was good and included lots of options. Accommodations were happily made for a vegetarian and an onion allergy. Our 15-year old also ate very well. We stayed in the 2-BR ocean-front villa, which had amazing views, comfortable bedrooms, balinese showers, a full kitchen, and a living room that opened onto the patio where we spent most of our waking hours. I am very sensitive to bug bites and did get one or two during the week, but most of the family was not bothered at all. The staff works very hard to keep the sand flies in check. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool and enjoyed spa treatments when we were not diving. (See our separate review for Barefoot Divers.) The resort is small and we enjoyed interacting with other guests, all of whom also seemed to be very pleased with the level of service. Transportation to/from the airport was seamless, as staff picked us up personally and took care of everything, including taking us to the grocery store for a few items at the end of our first afternoon. We will definitely return to Barefoot Cay in the years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Cay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour & Brick Bay, 33126, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Roatan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Roatan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barefoot Cay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort includes a private cay and 9 luxury accommodations with your choice of beachfront or ocean views. This unique Caribbean retreat pampers guests with first-class amenities and absolutely outstanding service. Onsite PADI 5 Star Dive Center spoils divers with valet diving, customized itineraries, patient & friendly instructors, and incredible dive sites just minutes away. The resort features a swimming pool, gourmet dining, and spa services. All accommodations have air conditioning, high-speed internet, TV/CD/DVD, Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barefoot Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Cay Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands
Barefoot Cay Hotel Roatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.