We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Barefoot Cay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Cay

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Cay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barefoot Cay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour & Brick Bay, 33126, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOGO 50
Ranked #4 of 41 hotels in Roatan
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Love Barefoot Cay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Barefoot Cay (aboard a yacht - docked at Barefoot Cay). I must say that I loved it there! Beautiful resort. You can walk down the pier to the tiki hut, jump in the water & go snorkeling or diving. The water is crystal clear, great reef right there at the pier with tons of fish.
Loved spending the afternoon at the pool. Very private/exclusive. The staff is excellent! Perfect combination of attentive customer service & privacy. An added bonus is the resident parrot Chaccaron. I fell in love with this bird :) The food is great, the bloody mary's are even better...if you get the chance to visit this little slice of heaven, do it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    19
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
61
210
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

After several years of keep going to Roatan and travel to many other places in the world, I never have found any other place that combines the harmony, good taste, and quality in everything you may ask for, Since Food, Service, Hospitality and Design, They are all find right here, at the same exact place.
Barefoot Cay, It's small enough to get to be know by your name for almost each one of the persons that work there,and at the end of your stay, you feel like you went to your dream beach house, nor to another big hotel, where you become one more of the many thousands guests that may arrive everyday, and that makes this place a dream, to be in,
Everything that you may ask you will find it right there, since snorkeling, diving, swimming kayaking, games, movies, dining, music, it's all in here, and if you are up for a little bit more shaking night and want to do some dancing, well, guess what, the place is so well located, that very quickly you can either get a taxi or if you have decided to rent a car, very soon you can be in either one of the east or west side of the island.
This place was build thinking in the love cay, everything that is nice can happen over here, since wedding, nice moon light with a bottle of wine by the beach outside of your bedroom, or in the palapa, or competing with your friend to see who jumps further, or just have a quiet time listening to music. reading a book, having a conversation, or if he plays the guitar, hear he playing, which was awesome in my last trip, a few weeks ago.

I will highly recommend this place with blind eyes, always
The very best one in Roatan

Room Tip: If you can, please stay at the bungalows, having morning coffees and walk in barefoot around the cay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back from a relaxing week with family at Barefoot Cay. The resort met and exceeded the needs of all of us, from grandmother to teenager. The staff were all friendly, attentive and helpful. We did the meal plan, and the food was good and included lots of options. Accommodations were happily made for a vegetarian and an onion allergy. Our 15-year old also ate very well. We stayed in the 2-BR ocean-front villa, which had amazing views, comfortable bedrooms, balinese showers, a full kitchen, and a living room that opened onto the patio where we spent most of our waking hours. I am very sensitive to bug bites and did get one or two during the week, but most of the family was not bothered at all. The staff works very hard to keep the sand flies in check. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool and enjoyed spa treatments when we were not diving. (See our separate review for Barefoot Divers.) The resort is small and we enjoyed interacting with other guests, all of whom also seemed to be very pleased with the level of service. Transportation to/from the airport was seamless, as staff picked us up personally and took care of everything, including taking us to the grocery store for a few items at the end of our first afternoon. We will definitely return to Barefoot Cay in the years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Barefoot Cay is the crown jewel dive/vacation resort on the island of Roatan. It is a beautiful resort, private and very romantic. We spent most of our time in the spa, at the pool and beach combing. The staff is very kind and helpful; the villas are gorgeous. My husband likes to dive so he signed up for several dives offered by the resort. The dive shop is separated from the resort by a small canal, which is perfect. A small private ferry is there 24/7 to take you across the canal. Barefoot is well known for the best dive operation on Roatan. The dive shop is well stocked with safe/high end dive equipment and Padi certified instructors are available to take you out diving in the neatest dive boats. The food in the restaurant was excellent - I am picky so was always changing it up and found that the chef/kitchen was very accommodating. I celebrated my birthday while we were there and will always remember that special night. Barefoot Cay was everything we hoped it would be plus much, much more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Barefoot Cay resort really delivered a wonderful experience for two of us this past Memorial Day weekend; we just got certified for diving a month ago and wanted to explore our new Scuba privileges immediately. The resort is small and there are plenty of staff members attending to all manner of hospitality; they address you by name and are always friendly and accommodating. The dive shop, which functions as part of the resort, was also first rate. Organized, friendly, helpful, and respectful of all levels of diving ability they will 'valet' all your equipment for you so all you have to do is show up, put it on, and go under the water! It is definitely a nice 'luxury' when you are limited for time and would rather not deal with lugging, setting up, cleaning, and monitoring your equipment (this is vacation, after all). I highly recommend this hotel/resort/dive shop (they also log your dives for you so you dont have to fill out that paperwork yourself!). the food was delicious, and the beds very comfortable. Its the small things that count (as well as the big things), and Barefoot Cay has it all covered. You dont be disappointed!

Room Tip: The 'lofts' above the dive shop are cheaper than the bungalows on the Cay (25m off shore). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the minute we book this trip the staff at Barefoot Cay were extremely helpful and attentive to our requests and questions. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa on the cay. Private beach with exceptionally kept grounds. Each unit has a full kitchen if you wish to cook yourself, but for the price of the meal plan it is worth every penny to let them cook for you. Home made delicious meals. Stephanie from guest services was always available to make sure all was well and to answer questions or make suggestions of things to do or places to see. There were many times that it was just the 2 of us having dinner or at the pool, it was like having the resort to ourselves. The dive centre was one of the best I have experienced. Full "valet diving" Dropped my gear off at the beginning of the week. Simply marked the dives I wished to do on the board and when I got tho the centre my gear was on the boat ready for me. Very knowledgable of all the dive sites and small groups so it's not like diver soup when you dive. Oh and got a personal email after we got home from the owner thanking us and looking for our input on our stay. If you are looking for an intimate private resort experience at a very reasonable price, look no further.

Room Tip: All the villas on the cay are excellent with the ocean steps from your deck. Beautiful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

In reality I'd like to rate this place somewhere between Average and Very Good. We stayed in one of the lofts above the dive school, and I think we'd have a more favourable opinion if we were staying in one of the villas on the cay itself.

The accommodation itself was very nice, and the beds were extremely comfortable - maybe the most comfortable of any hotel we've ever stayed at. However you don't feel like you're part of the exclusive resort as you're on the other side of the channel from the island. From the loft terraces if you look straight out in front you have the cay and the beautiful turquoise sea, but unfortunately the view of the ugly shipyard next door is pretty obvious and not something you expect at this price.

The cay has a nice pool area with comfortable loungers, and the palapa is a lovely spot with great swimming in the clear water. However the cay does not really have a beach, and if you're not staying in one of the beachfront villas you're restricted to a smaller section of waterfront at the end of the island.

One huge positive was the staff who were friendly, welcoming and helpful at all times. We also enjoyed the food which was reasonably priced, and very good.

Overall we would rate this hotel as Good But Not Great, and we'd find it hard to justify spending the same amount of money to stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barefootcay, Public Relations Manager at Barefoot Cay, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I'm sorry that the resort didn't measure up to your expectations. From your commentary, the accommodations were very nice and the beds super comfortable (they're the Heavenly brand- we've had several people end up getting one for themselves when they get home!), the staff was great and the food was very good, so it looks like it was just the beach/location that wasn't your ideal spot. These are not things that we can change, however as our beach is private and we have a maximum of 26 guests, most of our guests find that its size is adequate- there's never a crowd on it, often you have the beach to yourself. Our location mid-island means that it's not far in either direction to head out exploring: either to the east to check out the great views and undeveloped side of the island, or to the west side to check out West End and West Bay.
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I hope you find a spot that's your perfect match for your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Cay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour & Brick Bay, 33126, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Roatan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Roatan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barefoot Cay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort includes a private cay and 9 luxury accommodations with your choice of beachfront or ocean views. This unique Caribbean retreat pampers guests with first-class amenities and absolutely outstanding service. Onsite PADI 5 Star Dive Center spoils divers with valet diving, customized itineraries, patient & friendly instructors, and incredible dive sites just minutes away. The resort features a swimming pool, gourmet dining, and spa services. All accommodations have air conditioning, high-speed internet, TV/CD/DVD, Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barefoot Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Cay Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands
Barefoot Cay Hotel Roatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;