We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Cay

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Cay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barefoot Cay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour & Brick Bay, 33126, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 hotels in Roatan
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back from a relaxing week with family at Barefoot Cay. The resort met and exceeded the needs of all of us, from grandmother to teenager. The staff were all friendly, attentive and helpful. We did the meal plan, and the food was good and included lots of options. Accommodations were happily made for a vegetarian and an onion allergy. Our 15-year old also ate very well. We stayed in the 2-BR ocean-front villa, which had amazing views, comfortable bedrooms, balinese showers, a full kitchen, and a living room that opened onto the patio where we spent most of our waking hours. I am very sensitive to bug bites and did get one or two during the week, but most of the family was not bothered at all. The staff works very hard to keep the sand flies in check. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool and enjoyed spa treatments when we were not diving. (See our separate review for Barefoot Divers.) The resort is small and we enjoyed interacting with other guests, all of whom also seemed to be very pleased with the level of service. Transportation to/from the airport was seamless, as staff picked us up personally and took care of everything, including taking us to the grocery store for a few items at the end of our first afternoon. We will definitely return to Barefoot Cay in the years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    19
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
61
210
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Barefoot Cay is the crown jewel dive/vacation resort on the island of Roatan. It is a beautiful resort, private and very romantic. We spent most of our time in the spa, at the pool and beach combing. The staff is very kind and helpful; the villas are gorgeous. My husband likes to dive so he signed up for several dives offered by the resort. The dive shop is separated from the resort by a small canal, which is perfect. A small private ferry is there 24/7 to take you across the canal. Barefoot is well known for the best dive operation on Roatan. The dive shop is well stocked with safe/high end dive equipment and Padi certified instructors are available to take you out diving in the neatest dive boats. The food in the restaurant was excellent - I am picky so was always changing it up and found that the chef/kitchen was very accommodating. I celebrated my birthday while we were there and will always remember that special night. Barefoot Cay was everything we hoped it would be plus much, much more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Barefoot Cay resort really delivered a wonderful experience for two of us this past Memorial Day weekend; we just got certified for diving a month ago and wanted to explore our new Scuba privileges immediately. The resort is small and there are plenty of staff members attending to all manner of hospitality; they address you by name and are always friendly and accommodating. The dive shop, which functions as part of the resort, was also first rate. Organized, friendly, helpful, and respectful of all levels of diving ability they will 'valet' all your equipment for you so all you have to do is show up, put it on, and go under the water! It is definitely a nice 'luxury' when you are limited for time and would rather not deal with lugging, setting up, cleaning, and monitoring your equipment (this is vacation, after all). I highly recommend this hotel/resort/dive shop (they also log your dives for you so you dont have to fill out that paperwork yourself!). the food was delicious, and the beds very comfortable. Its the small things that count (as well as the big things), and Barefoot Cay has it all covered. You dont be disappointed!

Room Tip: The 'lofts' above the dive shop are cheaper than the bungalows on the Cay (25m off shore). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the minute we book this trip the staff at Barefoot Cay were extremely helpful and attentive to our requests and questions. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa on the cay. Private beach with exceptionally kept grounds. Each unit has a full kitchen if you wish to cook yourself, but for the price of the meal plan it is worth every penny to let them cook for you. Home made delicious meals. Stephanie from guest services was always available to make sure all was well and to answer questions or make suggestions of things to do or places to see. There were many times that it was just the 2 of us having dinner or at the pool, it was like having the resort to ourselves. The dive centre was one of the best I have experienced. Full "valet diving" Dropped my gear off at the beginning of the week. Simply marked the dives I wished to do on the board and when I got tho the centre my gear was on the boat ready for me. Very knowledgable of all the dive sites and small groups so it's not like diver soup when you dive. Oh and got a personal email after we got home from the owner thanking us and looking for our input on our stay. If you are looking for an intimate private resort experience at a very reasonable price, look no further.

Room Tip: All the villas on the cay are excellent with the ocean steps from your deck. Beautiful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

In reality I'd like to rate this place somewhere between Average and Very Good. We stayed in one of the lofts above the dive school, and I think we'd have a more favourable opinion if we were staying in one of the villas on the cay itself.

The accommodation itself was very nice, and the beds were extremely comfortable - maybe the most comfortable of any hotel we've ever stayed at. However you don't feel like you're part of the exclusive resort as you're on the other side of the channel from the island. From the loft terraces if you look straight out in front you have the cay and the beautiful turquoise sea, but unfortunately the view of the ugly shipyard next door is pretty obvious and not something you expect at this price.

The cay has a nice pool area with comfortable loungers, and the palapa is a lovely spot with great swimming in the clear water. However the cay does not really have a beach, and if you're not staying in one of the beachfront villas you're restricted to a smaller section of waterfront at the end of the island.

One huge positive was the staff who were friendly, welcoming and helpful at all times. We also enjoyed the food which was reasonably priced, and very good.

Overall we would rate this hotel as Good But Not Great, and we'd find it hard to justify spending the same amount of money to stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barefootcay, Public Relations Manager at Barefoot Cay, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I'm sorry that the resort didn't measure up to your expectations. From your commentary, the accommodations were very nice and the beds super comfortable (they're the Heavenly brand- we've had several people end up getting one for themselves when they get home!), the staff was great and the food was very good, so it looks like it was just the beach/location that wasn't your ideal spot. These are not things that we can change, however as our beach is private and we have a maximum of 26 guests, most of our guests find that its size is adequate- there's never a crowd on it, often you have the beach to yourself. Our location mid-island means that it's not far in either direction to head out exploring: either to the east to check out the great views and undeveloped side of the island, or to the west side to check out West End and West Bay.
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I hope you find a spot that's your perfect match for your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Both my wife and I thought we should not give a review, lest we let others know what a fabulous time we had at Barefoot Cay. But that would not be fair to the family at the resort. I say family because they work and act like a family. Everyone works together for one goal. To make you feel special, anticipate your every need and yes, indeed make you feel like part of their family from the moment you arrive until you leave. Don't read anymore if you don't want me to spoil your discovery, but WE HAD the BEST TIME!
We both saw the bug, no see-um issue up front. We got shots, took malaria drugs, B1, garlic and had tons of repellant sprays, gizmos. We used only no-seeum spray purchased on line at NoNoSeeum.com. It has a pleasant smell and is an easy spray. And by the way, we probably didn't need any of it. The resort staff has the sand racked at least once a day, the foliage and beach is sprayed like three times a day. We relaxed in the hammock or sat on our lounges with no issue. The few bites I got reddened, but not much more. Bugs were not an issue.
We originally had a place booked over the dive shop. Those looked nice, but a day before we flew, there was an upgrade to a beach bungalow. SPEND THE MONEY if you can. I appreciate my wife so much for making that call. We stayed in Fuscia, a one bedroom bungalow. It was very spacious, very clean and neat. We had a welcome fruit plate waiting for us. Our kitchen was well supplied and a 5 panel piano door opened to a very nice raised patio where we spent much time with books and drinks, and the ocean. With the doors opened, our place opened to our pretty much private beach. Incredible.
The staff kept the rooms immaculate and gave fresh flowers daily.
Dining was a pleasure. We had the meal plan and there was lots to choose from. The staff went out of their way to know you, to know what you wanted, to be friendly and make you and your belly happy. We had a nice bottle of wine (good general selection) with dinner each evening and they have top shelf liquours. A word of advice - you aren't going to the Carribean for steak. I had seafood or chicken and it was great. Dining with an amazing view of the pool and cabana. Padded lounges with cotton covers topped it off. You had sun or shade. Awesome.
We went diving most every day. The dive staff was very friendly, very knowledgable, did everything for you (you walk on the boat - your gear is set up, weights and all). The guides were very personal, protective and friendly. Just about everyone was qualified dive instructor or dive master or working on their quals. We hadn't dove in over a year, so at our request, they delivered us and our gear to the Palupa. Good to get reaquainted with our gear and bouyancy. We also snorkeled there and saw a vibrant array of just about everything you see out diving. When we went on the dives, there were not alot of large fish. Lots of reef fish, but not like the schools we saw in the FL. Keys or Cozumel. But the reefs are in great shape, the colors exquisite. We dove wall drift dives from depths around 80 ft and up. Saw three octopus, crabs, lobster, lion fish, coral banded shrimp and the normal reef fish. Very pleasant diving. Night dives you need to be careful of jellyfish. I wore a 1mm skin and 3 mm shorty and had no issues at 82F water temp. My wife and two others only had the shorty and each too a sting - which didn't give much long lasting effect - more of the initial scare.
We went to West End for the day. Two hours is all you need really, depending on what you want to do. They have local shops (not the diamond/emerald shops) and bars.
The resort has a west end excursion where the diving on the west side of the island is better visibility, turtles and larger fish. We didn't go and were satisfied to be pampered and do dives at the resort.
I could go on and on. We met the owners who were delightful. One actually took us into town so we could grab some items from the grocery, some wine and liquor for the room.
If you want to be happier than you expected, go to Barefoot Cay. And tell our "family" we miss them very much.

Room Tip: I think they are all nice, but the people we met who were staying in the dive shop studios wished th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My Husband and I spent a week at Barefoot Cay, it is romantic, quiet, cozy, beautiful, modern, and sophisticated. The Diving facilities, rinse area, boats, etc. were modern, spacious, and clean. The diving instructors were so AWESOME! We made new dive friends and I got Certified!! I conquered some of my biggest fears earning my diving certification training with an amazing Instructor at Barefoot Cay. I got one-on-one training, in the beautiful blue-green waters of the Caribbean.
The Honeymoon Bungalow was fabulous with a kitchen and spacious, comfortable room.
I definetly recommend a stay here and great diving, great food, quaint- small boats, amazing Dive Masters!
(The sand fleas were a little annoying, but they give you special Catus juice to put on to prevent bites...)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Cay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour & Brick Bay, 33126, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Roatan
#1 Spa Hotel in Roatan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barefoot Cay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort includes a private cay and 9 luxury accommodations with your choice of beachfront or ocean views. This unique Caribbean retreat pampers guests with first-class amenities and absolutely outstanding service. Onsite PADI 5 Star Dive Center spoils divers with valet diving, customized itineraries, patient & friendly instructors, and incredible dive sites just minutes away. The resort features a swimming pool, gourmet dining, and spa services. All accommodations have air conditioning, high-speed internet, TV/CD/DVD, Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Barefoot Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Cay Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands
Barefoot Cay Hotel Roatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.