We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Jewel, though remote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Paya Bay Resort to your Saves list
Paya Bay Resort
Main Highway, East End, 00000, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Jewel, though remote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

We go to Roatan quiet frequently.... actually as much as possible. Its a dumpy little island, but if you like adventure and can look beyond the third world aspects of it you can see why it is such a wonderful place. The local people are wonderful... its the tourists and americans who seem to ruin it.

For years we heard about Paya Bay, and finally we stayed there this year. Paya Bay is absolutely wonderful- but very, very remote. I would have rated it excellent but for the location.

If you want isolation, privacy and quiet, then this is your spot. If you want to be more in the action, stay out in West Bay or West End. West Bay has major resorts, and West End is a little more bohemian.

Again, let me reiterate- people, facitilies, food all A+++ at Paya Bay, but isolation factor a C+ for someone like me who wants to be in the thick of it.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    49
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
188
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MDUSA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

wife and I spent one week at Payabay. Snorkeling and diving in the top 10% around the world. Also the location on the East end of the North shore and views are great. We stayed in one of the rooms right on a cliff almost overtop the water. More hummingbirds than we imagined exist just outside the dining room. We enjoyed the isolation and remoteness of the place away from hub bub of West Bay and West End Roatan. But the remoteness may not be for everyone. Not the place to go for nightlife unless you bring it yourself (there was a dive club there our week that entertained themselves pretty well) We took one day to see the rest of the island. The operation is family run by Mom Lurlene McNab and her adult children Davinci, Sharlene & Tom. Tom took us out to the nearby reef for snorkeling. The facilities are not "new" . Give the management an "a" for effort but a way to go meet our expectations for places with similar rates. Food OK but buffet style. We lost power for hours at a time and once for 24 hours. That was a night not soon to be forgotten without AC. They say their backup generator is in the shop soon to be ready to kick in when the loc

  • Liked — view from bedroom and snorkeling and sound of waves at night
  • Disliked — food, multiple power outs and bugs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

Are you looking for paradise on earth? Do you need to get away from it all and recharge your battery? Is there someone special in your life with whom you want to get away, relax, and renew? Paya Bay is the perfect destination. My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at Paya Bay and it was beyond perfect. The tropical breeze washed away all our cares. The Caribbean sun cleansed our souls. The beaches are great. The snorkeling was a blast. The staff was helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive. The food was to die for -- if you love seafood this is your destination. The accomodations are simply wonderful. This is the genuine island experience, not corporate America transplanted into a remote destination, and, we felt, the price is very reasonable. Our week on Paya Bay is one we will remember forever. We can't stop talking about it. We give it a two thumbs up -- way up!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

Paya Bay is a wonderful option for a relaxing vacation ...especially if diving and/or snorkeling is an important vacation activity. My wife and I knew up front that we were going to a small resort located in a fairly undeveloped part of the island. For some folks that would be a recipe for boredom but for us it was perfect. The McNabb family, who own and operate the resort, do an outstanding job of attending to the needs of the guests. Being a small resort, it cannot provide the level of amenities found at larger hotels but by the same token the larger resorts cannot compete with the level of personal attention that the McNabbs gave to us. I felt a genuine effort was made by all family members (and many of the staff) to get to know us and authentically be interested in how we were enjoying our vacation....this personal touch was most welcome. The resort itself is clean, comfortable and picturesque. It has a great location (that is, if you enjoy relative solitude and the beauty of the surrounding countryside). Again, if you require non-stop activities or access to immediate shopping, this is not a good choice. But if you like nice beaches, terrific access to a healthy reef system, and the opportunity to chill out, it is a superb vacation option. Development on Roatan will undoubtedly change the character of the island considerably over the next 10-20 years. One can only hope that this little vacation oasis remains mainly undisturbed. Signed- Libby and Tony from Greensboro, NC.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, great snorkeling, the feel of a small inn, the staff and other guests.
  • Disliked — No screens in room windows.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Outstanding,

If you are looking for an out of the way place without the crowds, loud music, and bright lights this is the place. Expecetional rooms with all the nice touches, great food, and a location to die for. Just returned from a 10th Anniversery trip with my wife from a week long visit. This family run resort is spacious, clean, friendly, and accomidating. It seems that everyone goes to Roatan for the diving and you always read about the west end and the big resorts.......no comparison. The east end diving is superior in all respects. We dove all week and never saw another boat. Dive sites were unique and varied, the staff was professional and knowledgeable, and groups were small and personable. Access to remote dive locations rarely visited are only a request away (Morat Wall is a must). Food included lobster, conch, fresh fish, pork, chicken and lots of salad and vegetables.... if you want anything special just ask up front. The resort is located on its own 23 acres with two private beaches, private snorkel boat (no cost), onsite dive operation, and much more. Explore the longest beach in Roatan just a mile down the coast or site on the deck and have a drink or two. The McNab family have a long history on Roatain and are outstanding hosts that can arrange anything. Don't miss this special place.

Best Regards,

Derek Lerma
Ojai, CA

  • Liked — Personal service, beautiful setting, access to great diving
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

The property and location are nice- over all our stay was good. But issues we ran into.

1. Missing jewelry from the room- it has been on the night stand, but disappeared, two days later it was located, but there was some questions.
2. Hotel staff are friendly- but it is island time.
3. Dive staff- I wasn't terribly impressed with how dives were handled, they were not flexible on the diving.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Creek
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a quiet relaxing vacation, and we certainly found it at Paya Bay. We have been to Roatan twice previously on dive vacations, but this trip we wanted to stay above water, and selected Paya Bay because of its advertised beaches.

The location is spectacular. Yes, it's on the far end of the island at the end of a dusty, dirt road (about 45 minutes from the airport). A taxi driver happily whisked us to Paya Bay (the resort paid the taxi). We didn't budge for the entire vacation.

Lurleen and her daughter Sharlene greeted us warmly with hugs. We were given a choice of rooms (we opted for a Cliff Room, and were not sorry). We listened to the crashing waves, and sat on our balcony overlooking the water. No, the rooms are not glitzy, rather rustic, but immaculately kept, and we loved them. There were charming touches like fresh flowers, beach towels. Our mini-fridge was filled daily with bottled water. There is a coffee pot in the room, and we made Honduran coffee every morning, sipping on our balcony. There were several short power outages during our stay, once while we were dining, but hurricane lamps were whisked out, and we soon forgot about it. It was very hot during our trip, and we turned on the air conditioning for several days, and it was quite functional. Overhead fans were fine for the other days. The showers were fine (remember this isn't the USA, but a place where water is precious).

There are two beaches; there is no such thing as a private beach in Roatan, but Paya Bay owns all the access to Lil Beach, so in effect is private. On several days, we had it completely to ourselves! We sat under coconut trees, basked in the 82 degree waters. Once, while snorkeling off the beach, a Honduran sailed by in his fishing boat, exclaiming hellos, and telling us that we had found a great place for lobster and grouper. One day a group of school children materialized, and we chatted while they swam.

Roatan is not a wealthy island. But the people are genuinely warm, loving, welcoming. I can't think of a friendlier place in the Caribbean. The grounds are lovely, beautiful paths, plants, flowers. The grounds crew and gardeners were busy creating little nooks, including a sunset pavilion, that I hope will be completed when we return. There are hammocks and Adirondack chairs scattered around.

Charles, the chef, is fantastic. We had the most wonderful Key Lime Pie for dessert every day. He invited a guest into his kitchen, Corina from Canada (she and her young son Eric were getting scuba certification), and he showed her how to make these great pies. She's emailing me the recipe, too. We had wonderful lobster, redfish, coconut shrimp, grouper. The food was all around wonderful. Often accompanied by native red beans and rice.

We did venture out on the boat twice to snorkel, and several times off the beach. The reefs are in nice shape, and we're planning a return trip to dive. From what we could tell, the dive operation is well-thought-out, and expertly run. The dive facilities looked top-notch, and the boats were in good shape. Chuck, the instructor, seemed to be a good instructor, based on what the other guests told us.

The guests are multinational: we visited around Easter, and there were Honduran families, a couple from Spain, mother/son from Canada, a bloke from England on holiday. A nice break from US dive bums.

Thursday is Massage Day--Bert is fantastic--he fixed a bum shoulder that has confounded doctors, chiropractors, physical therapists and other massage therapists for over a year! Thank you, Bert!

Tom was often our bartender, fetching us drinks and making concoctions. The wait staff, all in all, were nice, nice people. Often warning me HOT!!! when I liberally doused my eggs with tabasco.

The hummingbirds! They are fantastic, dozens zipping around. We'd sit at our breakfast table, watching them congregate around the sugar feeder. Also, the resort dog, Togo, was my special pal.

Definitely take insect protection (although they do sell it there). The no-see-ums can be ferocious. We were glad we brought a beach blanket, because the beach chairs were rather unforgiving.

This is NOT your place if you require entertainment. If you want great diving, or a quiet relaxing vacation with great food, look no further.

Bobbie and John, New Jersey

  • Liked — Gorgeous location
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
20.3 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
21.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
21.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, 00000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paya Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.