We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful Naturism but Tasteless food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Paya Bay Resort to your Saves list
Paya Bay Resort
Main Highway, East End, 00000, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Washington DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasteful Naturism but Tasteless food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I just came back from an eight day stay at Paya Bay, from November 10th to the 18th, taking advantage of their two for one off season special. There were many things we liked and some things we did not like.

What we liked:

Number one was our fellow guests: We met the most delightful people! We immediately became a close-knit circle and their presence made our stay really memorable. We really hope to keep in touch with them. We also like the overall friendliness of the staff. The resort was absolutely stunning in its natural beauty and we fell asleep every night to the sounds of the waves. I also immensely enjoyed the twice daily snorkeling trips. We could never decide which we liked more: the soft sands of Bliss beach or the tranquility of Buccaneers cove. Even though we did not do yoga the view from the Yoga pavilion was breathtaking and we enjoyed the reception for the new guests. The beach towels were of very high quality: large and super absorbent (not your typical resort towel). Finally we enjoyed the clothing-optional freedom without the Hedonism-type vulgarity and unsavory feeling you get in some resorts.

What we did not like:

Number one was the food. It was mediocre at best (with the exception of one night when they served a more local cuisine). The fish was usually overcooked and most meals were very salty. The breakfast and lunch menu get old very quickly. The cheeseburgers were surprisingly good, as well as the onion rings. The alcoholic drinks where expensive and weak. We also did not appreciate the children (who were not guests) running around the dining room and patio while we were trying to relax. Nor did my wife appreciate the children present during both of her massage sessions (so much for a relaxing massage!). The cleaning of the room left a lot to be desired: on the second night of our stay we killed a large cockroach in the bathroom (which is normal in a tropical environment) but its corpse stayed on the bathroom floor for the duration of our stay and it is probably still there! Also, many times they forgot to provide us with shampoo. Finally, a word of caution: on their web page they say “and for our Naturist Good Energy Experience the Pigeon Cay trip is clothing optional!”; this might be difficult because it is not a private cay and there may be other tourists around, who may not appreciate the nudity (and may have cameras).

In summary if another two for one special is offered during the dry season we would strongly consider going back (and we would definitely go back if our newfound friends also join us) :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roatanguy, General Manager at Paya Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us here at Paya Bay Resort. The issues raised by this client are being investigated and steps will be taken to rectify procedures as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    49
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
188
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here in a cliff room one night of our trip to Roatan. Thursday nights the Garifuna perform, it was entertaining and fun. The breezes here seemed to be the best on the island, great views as well.

Room Tip: Stay on a Thursday night, also ask for a cliff room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

To begin with, let me say that Paya Bay is probably one of the prettiest resorts on the island and offers many options for all types of people. We went to Roatan to look for property and knew that spending the whole week there would be wasteful this time, so decided to just book one night as we didnt want to miss the experience of staying there. We drove up there on Sunday and booked for Thursday at the recommendation of the proprietor Lurlene, as there were dancers coming then. (We were going to book for Wedsnesday night). We were showed by Marie the room we were going to get, Room 1....right over the ocean...beautiful room with a balcony over the sea. THE reason we wanted to book there in the first place. We were so excited as it was also Naturist week and we wanted to share that experience as well. We left our names and local phone number as requested.
On Thursday we drove up (gravel road into the area BTW) and checked in. Was given a welcome drink which was a nice touch BUT when we were taken to our room...it was NOT what we booked. It did not have the same view, same atmosphere, same balcony etc...it just was inferior to what we RESERVED. We went back to the desk and told them we were not happy with the switch and wanted our reservation honored. We were told that a HONDURAN couple walked in the day before and was given our reserved room, "so sorry.".
WELL.....we were so disappointed and quite upset with their cavalier attitude, I stated that any room on that line was not acceptable (they offered a room further down next to the local help quarters and with an obstucted view of the sea. I said that those rooms should not cost the same but was told "well they are all the same price"....I was quite upset that they did not offer any discount for the inferior room as they clearly admitted to making the mistake of giving the room away to someone else. They did not offer for us to stay the day at least to use the facilities, nor even a discount on dinner that we would be buying...nothing to make up for the mistake manangement made. It was just an "oh well" take it or leave it......so we left it .
Do not book rooms 5-8 at least...the only rooms to book are 1-4....and even if they confirm a room, be ready for the Im sorry at check in..........was it a case of mismanagement or just taking care of their own.....I dont know....but if this is the way tourists are dealt with there, I do not recommend you to stay there as its way out on its own and you definitely need a car to get off the premises to anywhere else.

We were so very disappointed in Paya Bay management.

Room Tip: only rooms 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roatanguy, General Manager at Paya Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us here at Paya Bay Resort. The issues raised by this client are being investigated and steps will be taken to rectify procedures as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The previous 2 reviews are 'right on'---a great resort with clean rooms, awesome views, excellant food, reasonably priced drinks, CO areas, and snorkel trips to the nearby reef! A few ideas that might help you plan your trip there:

--If you want to save a few bucks, have the driver stop at a grocery store after they pick you up at the airport. He won't mind a bit. We bought beer, wine, cheeze, some extra sunscreen. We didn't buy enough beer and yes, it's cheaper at the store than at the resort.

--Take bug spray and use it. Products with Deet work best but harms the fish so if you're going to snorkel, etc, use something without Deet

--There is some discrepancy on a couple of things. First, soft drinks are included at the resort for the all inclusive option, so no need to buy soft drinks. In the rooms are large refrigerators and they don't mind you using them for your beer, wine, etc. also, --While they DO offer to take you out for snorkeling up to twice a day--9:30 and 2:30 while we were there--the trip to Pigeon Cay is NOT included. I think I'm right in saying that it costs $300 a boat load or $75 per person. Even if you have 6 people, I think it would have been $75 each to do it---still worth the money in my opinion even tho we didn't get to go. We didn't go because either the weather wasn't good enough or we had no one to split the cost of the $300.


--Especially if you go during the rainy season, take books to read. They have some books and a large selection of DVDs, but bring your own if you have some you especially want to read or watch. We spent THREE DAYS TOTALLY INSIDE DUE TO RAIN. No problem, but we expected this might happen and brought things to help pass the time. They do have sat. TV but only couple stations in English

--The Yoga pavillion is awesome as will be the beach bar/palapa on Bliss beach once finished. If you like excersize, it's a great place to do it and you can take foot atire to run the beach trails which I was smart enough to begin doing only the last day.

--If you want to try a clothing optional area, this is a good place as there are enough areas to be in that you can be by yourself at least during their low season. I know they fill up and can handle up to 50 people or so, so if privacy is an issue, check with them. While we were there, we had no more than 6 other people staying at the resort. The owners are quite happy to assist you in whatever way to make your stay enjoyable. Great place to vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful week! We traveled with another couple and really enjoyed the stay. We did go in the off season to get a really great rate (half price) and the days are not always sunny. But, it did not prevent us from doing about anything we wanted. The staff is fabulous, so friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent... and you must try the Monkey La La. The ladies fell in love with this. Charlotte even allowed us to watch her make one so we could try them at home. Mirna was our waitress until the evening and then Evelyn stepped in. We would have liked to take them home with us! Tom and any of the family did everything to make the stay everything we wanted. DaVinci designed the website and is also re-designing the grounds and he has such great ideas. They are rebuilding the Tiki hut down on Bliss Beach and it will be great. It should be finished soon since a crew was working on it. We can't wait to go back and have a drink there looking out over the ocean... plus it will be great place to hide in a splash and dash rain shower.

The rooms were kept really clean. A good test is to walk around barefooted and then step into a wet shower... there were never any dirty foot prints... a first for us at any beach resort. We like the beach view rooms but the cliff rooms were also great. We considered changing but like the larger bathroom in our room.

We definitely will go back. BTW, if you like to dive this is a great place for divers. We don't dive but other new friends we met did almost every day. The snorkeling is great and they take you out (for free) twice a day to the reef for this. You could swim out or take a kayak out but we did not try that due to the waves while we were there.

Their website is very accurate... another plus since often you find the place is different than what you see on the web.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beach view rooms and they are large and great. The Cliff Rooms are smaller but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week at PayaBay. First visit. And what a pleasure! Set on a beaufiful and isolated site, the resort provides a casual and relaxing atmosphere with good food and the most friendly staff I've ever seen. You felt like family! Stayed in a Cliffside room overlooking the water with crashing waves below you. Great breeze and never turned on the AC--slept with door and windows open and had no bugs at all (did encounter some occasionally walking on the property). Room not large but adequate--some of the non-cliff rooms are larger and still have great views. Menu very varied, especially with the fact there were only a total of 4 couples there this week. This was a "naturist" week, so beaches and trails were mostly CO--a real Garden of Eden! There are many look outs and chairs in secluded areas that were perfect for reading, enjoying the magnificent views, etc.. The resort is very much eco friendly and blends into the enviroment. Of all the Caribbean places we have visited, the views here are unsurpassed! Hope to be able to return again soon!! Couldn't give a higher rating! Even has friendly resort dogs! It was the rainy season and we did have more rain than desired, but still a fantastic week.

Room Tip: Cliffside rooms overlook water and have fantastic breeze and view--somewhat smaller with queensize b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I enjoyed everything about Paya Bay. I stayed 10 days and had a blast enjoying nature, the sea, snorkeling, the fabulous people who own and run Paya Bay and their dogs. Rooms, food and activities - all excellent. If you enjoy a get away and low key place Paya Bay is it. Gail

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
20.3 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
21.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
21.7 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, 00000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paya Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.