We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for peace quiet and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Paya Bay Resort to your Saves list
Paya Bay Resort
Main Highway, East End, 00000, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
bay area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place for peace quiet and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I enjoyed everything about Paya Bay. I stayed 10 days and had a blast enjoying nature, the sea, snorkeling, the fabulous people who own and run Paya Bay and their dogs. Rooms, food and activities - all excellent. If you enjoy a get away and low key place Paya Bay is it. Gail

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    42
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
167
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's been many years since I last had the opportunity to visit Roatan unfortunately, so I cannot speak to the many very apealling looking updates have been made here. What I can speak to though is the amazing location, attentive and willing service by the owners and the sense of being in a place un spoiled by external influences.
I was on the first cruise that called in Roatan and then spent another 10 days at Paya Bay. All I can say is what an amazing place and one that everyone should experience....if only once.
My best to the McNab family

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent an R and R week during this recent off season and found the spot to be quite lovely with nice beach front and grounds. The recent addition of the yoga studio perched up above the trees overlooking the sea and sunset is awesome.

The resort is out on the East end which is very undeveloped and isolated. So be prepared for a long trip to access the West end if that strikes your fancy. Food and service was good and we felt special as it was off season, so Paya Bay was totally to ourselves. The no see -ums are pretty voracious and be prepared to deal with them. Bring ammo for these biting critters.

Our room perched on the sea edge was small but adequate with a balcony. The A/C kept the bugs out for night which was a blessing.

You need to be a bit creative if it rains as there is a limit to local options due to distance to town. Excursions available especially to Pidgeon Cays...are good. Pidgeon Cay was awesome!!!!!!!! Very hot and steamy all our trip so be prepared for this!

Room Tip: bring own toiletries as I am unsure about the quality of ones offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A group of us just returned from Roatan on a class trip. We were lucky to stay at Paya Bay for the duration of our time there. The people there were very friendly and eager to help us and answer our questions. We participated in yoga most nights at sunset with Davi, Tom took us snorkeling many times, and Charlotte served us with a smile every night - just to name a few of the amazing accommodations. The dogs, Foxy, Lucky and Butters, were friendly too! It was the perfect place to come back to after a day of meetings and touring. I would recommend this place for anyone.

Room Tip: They have rooms that overlook the ocean.. I didn't stay in them, but I imagine the views are pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I cannot find a better word to describe here, because everything is just wonderful.
I spent one week here during September. When I got off the van, I was surprised about what I saw, I didn't believe that was real-- the sea was so beautiful and the hotel was just by the sea. Everthing was like in a painting.
The bedrooms are very charming and clean. They are not modern, but unique.
People are very friendly, when I was walking in the resort, everyone was smiling to me and saying hi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I notice some negative reviews on here but they are from years ago. NOTHING could be farther from the truth presently.
This place is SO beautiful. The color scheme, SO bright and vibrant. The cottages are clean and inviting; the views are incredible. The food is delicious.
You've GOT to take the hiking trails ! The wildlife, the seclusion - TRULY a lover's paradise. And that freshwater pool where surf meets sand - amazing !
Great place for couples, whether you take advantage of the private (clothing optional) beaches or not.
The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.
We LOVED this place !

Room Tip: They only have 4 ocean view rooms, so book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

CAN'T say enough about this place.
The rooms are charming, brightly colored and clean.
The . restaurant is beautiful, the exterior, the motif, the layout...just wonderful.
The beaches ? They have multiple beaches, from the main family beach, to another more private beach (it's the only resort on the island with both European and clothing optional beaches. The freshwater pool at the edge of the surf is a most calming and serene experience.
DON'T FORGET to take the hiking trails, of which there are several, leading to yet more private beaches, a wonderful lagoon, the Yoga trail, all the while joined by a wide variety of wildlife.
Book early because they only have 4 ocean view rooms

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, 00000, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paya Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.