We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety, quality and great taste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Harbor View Grill

Jack's Harbor View Grill
French Cay | Caye Harbour Lodge Hotel, 011 RYC, Honduras
+504 3253-9732
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 148 Restaurants in Roatan
Price range: $8 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Variety, quality and great taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I´ve had dinner here three times now and have ordered three different entrees, main dish and dessert and all have been spectacular. It's great to have a place close to my home with this quality. Waiters are friendly and the ambience is nice (needs more lighting though) and for the last two times there has been a talent show going on and that makes it even more original. Congrats Chef Mitchell, you are doing a great job!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We enjoyed several visits while we stayed at French Cay Harbour on our sailboat. First visit was for the Sunday brunch with Gospel music and it was a great hit. Wonderful variety of delicious food and good music. They fed a huge number of people very efficiently. We returned for lionfish - two different ways - we especially liked it grilled with a yummy salsa. And we also enjoyed granola and coffee after yoga one morning. We can recommend the service, food and view ( and also Johnny's music) without hesitation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikiandmia, Manager at Jack's Harbor View Grill, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank You for a lovely review!!! We certainly are enjoying the Sunday Gospel Lunches. Lionfish is our signature dish, I am glad you got to enjoy it more than once, It is fast becoming a staple food here on Roatan. Jon continues to be with us every Thursday afternoon, and is a valued member of the team, I can't wait to show him the mention in the review-Thanks again.
Jack, Niki & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yacht traveling south
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Do not miss the Jack's experience!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I are living on a sailboat in Roatan. We are currently docked at the Yacht Club. We eat at Jack's at least three times a week. It is absolutely wonderful. Jack and Nicki, the general manager are great!!! The staff is great. The food is the best in Roatan. All the ingredients are fresh. The prices are reasonable especially given the high quality of the food. There are daily food and drink specials.

There is a wide range of food to meet everyone's tastes. The lion fish, ribs, burgers, shrimp, chicken are all great. Jack is a very creative cook. His sauces are amazing.

In addition to the wonderful food, there is entertainment as well. A great folk guitarist, Jon Fritz, plays on Thursday for the lunch crowd. He is fantastic. We always make sure to come to Jack's when Jon plays.

They also have a Sunday lunch with excellent live gospel music. The lunch on Sundays is an excellent and varied buffet. Dessert is included.

You have it all at Jack's including a drop dead gorgeous view of the harbor.We love this place and think of it as home. Don't miss it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikiandmia, General Manager at Jack's Harbor View Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Wow what a delightful review, Thank you for taking the time to write us up.
Jack is 100% committed to service & the finer details in the kitchen. I am so happy that you're enjoying the whole experience we have to offer, and yes, the view is a HUGE plus. I am happy also that Jon got a mention, he is a great asset to the business.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again,
Jack, Niki & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gastronomical Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Treat yourself to a meal that will titillate the palate and visit Jack at Jack's Harbor View Grill. Jack has done a superb job of rejuvenating the Yacht Club and is offering great culinary delights. I especially love what he does with the lion fish, and his shrimp dishes are beyond expectation. I will say whatever you order, I'm certain you won't be disappointed. Thanks Jack for providing us a beautiful location, with an awesome view, and food that is exceptional.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
382jack382, General Manager at Jack's Harbor View Grill, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
It warms my heart to hear reviews like this. I have really surpassed all expectations I had and am so happy with the positive response from the guests. The lionfish, as many people here know, is something I am very passionate about, not only because of the reef impact, but the delicious sweet flavor and the many ways of cooking such a delicate fish. i am so happy you came and enjoyed the experience, My goal is to bring people together with happiness, laughter & good food.

Thanks again Jack, Niki & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All around great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The View is fantastic, the Chef is the real deal, the staff excellent and I've had a number of terrific meals there. They also offer great entertainment.... so an all around great experience. Cant go wrong with a visit here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
382jack382, General Manager at Jack's Harbor View Grill, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for the review... It has been said again & again, you just can't beat the view!! the entertainment is an important part of what we do here, with live music now 4 times a week. Be sure to join us for our Sunday Gospel Brunch. Look Forward to seeing you soon.

Jack & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Harbor View Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Harbor View Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Harbor View Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.