We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Intimate Setting with Diverse Aquatic Activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mango Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Mango Creek Lodge
N/A | Port Royal, 3100, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An Intimate Setting with Diverse Aquatic Activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My 21-year-old daughter and I had an unsurpassed week of fun and true relaxation here. We occupied the purple cabana and were mesmerized by its unspoiled views of crystal clear sea water, shimmering horizon and tranquil sunsets. Hard to rise from the hammock but well worth it for three truly delicious home-cooked meals served each day to the accompaniment of two parrots who greatly amuse. We were novice snorkelers but thanks to the expertise and patience of Terry and Patrice, owners of the lodge, we are novice no more. I'd never sailed but Terry had me tacking the Hobe within no time. Kayaks are also available and, for an extra charge, there's fishing even for those of us who don't want to touch a hook (me); I hauled in three tuna-- another first! I feel very lucky to have discovered this via an internet search and have been recommending it to all our cold-weather friends.

Room Tip: All the cabanas seem identical. I don't think you can go wrong. There are also a couple of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Mango Creek is as charming as are the hosts Terry and Patrice. The cottages with decks are built over the water and are painted bright caribbean colors. A walk around the property reveals Terry and Patrice's hidden dream home, walking paths, bridges and is beautifully landscaped. The surrounding landscape is steep with thick tropical vegetation, duppies (ghosts) and possible pirate treasure.

Ask Patrice if you can read her copy of Anne Jennings book, "Roatan Odyssey" or pick up a copy at BJ's bar in Oak Ridge when Terry picks you up. It will give you a flavor of the area you are to visit.

We enjoyed our daily adventures: kayaking to the reef in front of the lodge and seeing a magnificent eagle ray, a boat adventure to the mangroves looking for sea crocodiles, a boat trip to Pigeon Key where we snorkeled and saw pristine coral, sea fans and fish. We stopped to snorkel at a ship wreak. Scuba diving with our instructor Leif was fun. We sailed around the tiny Cow and Calf cayes.

We enjoyed the informal meal times and lengthy conversations with Terry and Patrice and other guests and neighbors who stopped by. We were treated to a very romantic candlelight lobster dinner on top of the boat house one evening!

The week went by too fast. We hope to visit again sometime and encourage anyone who wants to "unplug', enjoy nature, and have some adventure to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

What a breath taking and relaxing vacation after we got married. We loved the food, accommodations and the adventures. We would love to bring friends back to such a beautiful place! Our favorite day was a trip to Pigeon Key to snorkel, on the way there we fished a bit and had the chance to swim with a pod of dolphins-amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a wonderful week at Mango Creek. Terry and Patrice are excellent hosts, the cabanas are beautiful and very, very clean. Food was great and plentiful. Snorkeling was outstanding! Trip to Pigeon Key was like a great way to end the week, a remote island with beautful white sand beach, great snorkeling, fishing even a novice can do (Michael and Walter are great guides) and no one else around. Most relaxing vacation we've had in years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Mango Creek is a truly amazing place and a great adventure starting with BJ's Bar in Oak Ridge where we waited to be picked up. We had a few beers and a great time there visiting with the ex pats and locals and BJ herself. We traveled by boat to the lodge, colorful cabanas over the water with lovely wooden interiors and furniture. Beautiful setting , beautiful property , lovely people who own it. We did not come to fish, although they do a lot of that there, but we did snorkle and one day went to Pigeon Cay for swimming and snorkling with lunch prepared and served on the beach by Dalia the most amazing cook. Seriously, some of the best food we experienced on the island. French toast made with bread she had made the night before, coconut shrimp with the coconut fresh off the tree, I could go on and on about the food it was that good. Terry and Patrice are great hosts and such interesting people. They really make you feel like part of the family. The few days we spent there were so relaxing. Eastern Roatan is so beautiful. If you get the chance don't miss Mango creek. Well worth it .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This place is amazing! We visited in the middle of january and the weather was perfect. Terry picks you up at the airport personally. You then have a scenic drive to the town of Oakridge where you can grab a beer at BJ's for your boat ride to Mango Creek. As you arrive via boat at MC all your troubles seem to disappear instantly. This place takes your breath away. The pictures online do not do it justice. As we walked into our over-the-water bungalow all we could do was shake our heads and keep say "amazing". The bungalow was handcrafted, clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. The view from the deck is simply increadible. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are prepared with local fresh food. Guest staying at MC eat together which really turned out to be cool. We met some fascinating people from all over the world. MC has ample supplies of beer, wine and mixed drinks. For fun we went spin fishing with Michael. We caught a lot of fish including barracuda, tuna, mackerel and needlefish. It is obvious Michael is passionate about fishing and making sure we have have a good time (which we did). Definitely see Pigeon Beach for some snorkeling..its outstanding. Also, make time to take out the kayaks and do some snorkeling on your own. Our last day was spent on a private beach (just the two of us) snorkeling, swimming, hanging out and drinking beer. Prior to heading out on the kayaks we told Terry we would not be back for lunch. To our surpirse he had a boat deliver lunch to us! The amount of care Terry and Patrice put into their guests, environment and treatment of their staff (and families) is truly rare. There is no place in the world that would treat you better. From the staff to the scenic view (day and night), this place is worth every dollar. We have a rule to never visit the same place twice - to many places to see in the world. However, since visiting MC we decided this rule does not apply to them... We actually HAVE to go back to!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the over-the-water bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

"Mi casa es su casa." This phrase cannot ring any truer than at Mango Creek Lodge. Owners, Terry & Patrice, make you feel like part of the family as soon as you get picked up by boat to head over to Mango Creek Lodge. Their eco-friendly lodge sits on 26 acres of land - full of exotic fruit trees and flowers, which Terry will personally lead you through and educate you on everything. The cabanas were designed by Terry himself, and built with the help of locals to maximize ventilation for Roatan's climate. They are thoughtfully designed with beautifully carved wooden doors and decorated in laminated furniture all of which was made locally. All linens were clean and beds comfortable.
Terry and Patrice employ an extended Roatan family, all of whom are friendly and overly accomodating. Michael took my husband and I over to the mangroves one day for some kayaking. Joevy boated us to the west end of the island for another tour. We had the privilege (all included) of taking Hobie kayaks out at ANY time: Lime Key has one of the best reefs we've been to and it was only 5 min away! We snorkeled over to Calf and Cow - 2 small islands surrounded by more beautiful reefs. Terry and Patrice welcomed us everyday for a mid-afternoon boat trip where we would all get into their boat along with their 2 dogs and head out to one of many small islands for a guided snorkle trip - it was such a treat!
My husband and I paid for a full-day's fishing trip with Michael, who went out early fly fishing with my husband, came back for breakfast and to pick me up, fished for a few hours before heading over to Pigeon Cay for lunch, and then fished for as long as the sun would let us. We caught 9 different species of fish - 9! (bonefish, snook, tarpon, Spanish mackeral, bluefin tuna, red snapper, barracuda, triggerfish, horse eyed jack). Where else can you do that?!?!
Trust me - you will eat better at Mango Creek than you will in your own home. The fruit is fresh, the vegetables are wonderfully seasoned, and the meats/fish are of the highest quality! Their cook, Dahlia, has many helpers to make your vacation's menu delicious. The fridge is always packed with sodas, beers, wines, and vanilla-flavored ice tea or lemonade. All of the male employees are more than happy to accomodate your request for a fresh coconut.
Although they employ excellent staff, Terry and Patrice are always around and accessible for questions or just to talk. They stayed up late one night teaching my husband and I how to play Frackle, a game they used to play on their sailboat. We were lucky to be there when Patrice's sister, Kathy, also came for a week's visit. Kathy is down-to-earth with great people skills and made us feel very much at home. She was happy to share her sister with us despite only seeing her a couple times every year.
So book a flight; fly to Roatan, and stay Mango Creek Lodge. Just go!

Room Tip: Overwater cabanas are such a unique way to spend you vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Creek Lodge

Address: N/A | Port Royal, 3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Creek Lodge is the premier eco resort of Roatan. Located in secluded Port Royal, Mango Creek Lodge offers superb saltwater fly-fishing, angling, diving, snorkeling, hiking and kayaking in Roatan’s East End. Our over-the-water cabanas offer guests a private piece of paradise. Each cabana is furnished with a queen sized and single bed and opens up onto a private dock overlooking the Caribbean. We offer all inclusive packages and nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Mango Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Creek Hotel Roatan
Mango Creek Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.