We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Dive Trip to CoCo View Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CoCo View Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CoCo View Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   French Harbour, Roatan | Bay Islands, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early LOW Fall Rates
Ranked #10 of 40 hotels in Roatan
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Group Dive Trip to CoCo View Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my 7th visit to CoCoView and my 12th visit to Roatan. CoCoView is the best organized resort that I have been to. The dive operation enables you to dive as much as you like, including boat dives and shore dives. The food is always buffet sytle and is excellent. They serve a lot of good shrimp and one night unlimited lobster tails. The location of the resort is on the south side of the island which is protected from storms. We have never missed a dive at this resort due to weather, but every time we have stayed at a resort on the north side (3 times) we have not been able to dive at times due to the weather.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. Make your reservation early to reserve a cabana over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    58
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
55
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The diving is wonderful - lots of critters and interesting formations. Additionally, there were terrific lectures about the area (history, geography, culture, etc.) and the opportunity to take a seminar in buoyancy control which was the best we have had. The head of the dive operation is a nurse but there is also a volunteer nurse who arrives daily during core hours - both were great additions as many people had ear problems and one had a lung issue while we were there. The no see ums were horrid - we jokingly referred to them as the Roatan measles. Remedies were available at the resort but the little bugs were still very annoying!

Room Tip: Ask for an alarm clock and a coffee maker! Our - bungalow had a refrigerator - quite useful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were told that Coco View was the best place to go and take PADI dive classes. After a 45 minute cab ride we arrived at a very understated dock. Our driver asked them to call Alejandra our contact person for the dive. Less than a minute later here came a small boat with a young lady with a wonderful smile. She pulled up and said "Hi, I'm Alejandra are you Lynn?" and so that set the tone for the next 4 hours of fun at Coco view.
After arriving on the dock she introduced us to Patty Grier the owner of the dive shop at CCV. Also greeting us was Dino the Chiquaqua. It felt so home like. I then filled out my paper work and started the process of getting my Discover Scuba Class. Alejandra was calm, caring and a great teacher. Patty talked to my husband who had been medically disqualified to dive. Patty is a Paramedic and printed out some forms for him to bring home and have a DR. go over with him. Can you say service with a smile.
After my training Alejandra took me out to the "Front Yard" and I dove the wall and shipwreck. I have found my sport! Couldn't have found nicer people to help me Discover Scuba : )
After my dive we went to the bar for a celabratory drink. Very nice area all screened in with a pool table, gift shop, bathrooms and friendly staff.
Thanks Alejandra and Patty : )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The dive operation is excellent. The boats, gear lockers, and schedule is set up for easy diving and opportunities to conveniently complete multiple dives per day. Can't say enought about the quality of the dive masters and captains. Great crew who really are dedicated to making your dive experience top notch. The food was better then I expected.....the quality of the food was good and the variety of offerings at each meal made was excellent. The rooms are nothing fancy but are well maintained and comfortable. We stayed in the over the water cabanas and they had plenty of space. The hammocks are awesome! Would definitely come back to CoCoView.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

CocoView is a small, isolated resort. When we first arrived, we knew right away that we would not be bothered with cruise ships or the like. The road stops short of the resort as we need to get on a small boat to cross some waters.
I have not seen a place with such an efficient process to get us registered. When leaving the boat, we leave our luggages on the dock and walk to the dining area. Food is waiting for us and we get some briefings on the resort. We are also handed the required paperwork for the diving activities. Our room key is hanging off a wall. No line up, no waiting to get registered… much pleasant. The service is great all around the resort (bar, administration, diving, etc.).
Our gear is stored in very convenient areas that are accessible around the clock. Nitrox analyzers are suspended over a table in the middle of our area. We were assigned a locker, actually, an open space, for the week that is directly on the dock and is very convenient. All we have to do is put a tag showing our intention to dive and the crew will prepare and load our gear on the boat. This cannot be easier. That area belong to us and the group with who we spend the week on the boat (we always use the same boat).
One of the things I enjoyed with the dive operation is that we are treated as “adult”, while we get a safety briefing before each dive and a dive master will accompany us, the resort will allow for various gear configuration and dive styles. I used sidemount rig on several dives (single sidemount and double sidemount). Some weeks prior to our trip, a group of technical rebreather divers we also able to do their technical and deep stuff. Dive sites are beautiful, but I would have liked to see some bigger species. We saw some turtles during the week.
The rooms are comfortable and nice. We used an over the water bungalow. In August, air conditioning is a must and was functioning well. We did notice a damaged pipe outside our room. We mentioned it at the administration office and this was resolved within an hour (was resolved when we came back from breakfast). Quite impressive! The lock box in the room is minimal (in size and in its ability to keep things safe). But being on an isolated resort, we do not feel much risk for anything bad to occur.
The only downside is the quality of the food. While we had enough to get energized, this is in no way a luxury restaurant. This is cafeteria style and the quality of the food is nothing extravagant. Since the resort is so much isolated, it is not possible to get to a restaurant except for the Thursday night when a tour is planned for this purpose.
Non divers may think twice before using this resort… unless they have a lot of books to read and like lying down on chairs. There are not many activities outside of scuba diving and there is no beach (no sandy beach). What they call the beach is a 8-foot wide entry point for a shore dive on leading to the shipwreck and two nice walls.
Overall, we are very satisfied of our week and we would definitively go back to this place. On our boat was a woman that was receiving a bonus stay for being there eight times. There is some sort of a member community for those who go regularly and there are many of those people! May be we will become Coconut members one day.

Room Tip: Wireless internet does not work from every room. Make sure to mention it if this is a criteria for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Coco View is perfect for hardcore divers, and pretty great for the less hardcore diver too. As a dive resort its pretty structured, but it all works together to give you maximum ease, and maximum dive time.

Reservations are easy as are transfers from and too the Roatan airport. The transportation staff is great and they make certain you (and all your gear) get on the shuttle, then on the boat, and then to your room. The staff will mail you bright CoCo View tags for your luggage...use them. The porters at the airport are great and make certain you have a dollar or two per bag for the tip.

Rooms are comfortable with private bath and water views from the balcony. The over the water bungalows are a nice option and have a little more space. You are provided with ample bottled water for the week. The food is good and filling. Each meal has a couple of options and while the food isn't gourmet its generally well prepared, filling, and pretty easy on the tummy, They have a salad bar at dinner which is a nice touch. The bar is quiet and you won't have a problem getting your drink promptly. No worries about money as they run a tab for you.

The diving. On your first visit you need to do an orientation dive before joining the boats. Don't complain about it...you'll get a chance to get wet plus you'll get a tour of the "front yard" which orients you the two house walls and the Prince Albert wreck as well as a DC-10. On your return visit to CCV you won't need to do the orientation.

The diving couldn't be easier. So many great dive sites within 10-15 minutes and no current. The dive boats are my favorite as they offer 100% shade with tons of fresh air. They have four exit points for divers to facilitate getting everyone in the water, as well as a well and ladder in the center of the hull which can act as an easy exist during rough seas. These boats aren't fast but you're so close to the sites it doesn't matter. No heads or hot showers but I didn't miss it. If you are a photographer they have large tables and tanks for your gear. The DMs and Captains are generally really great and they are happy to give a helping hand if you need to hand up gear etc. As others have noted, as long as they know you are going out they will set up all your gear on board,

Dockside Dive Center, the independent PADI shop at Coco VIew, is great for rental gear and technical help. I highly recommend the free discussion with the owner that happens every Monday on peak Performance buoyancy--I took off an additional 2 pounds.

Hardcore divers can easily get in 4 dives a day, and we had several divers who were doing 5. Most of our dives were 50-65 minutes long and they treat diver like grownups who can manage their own profile and ascent when needed.

Outside of diving, snorkeling, and chilling there really isn't much to do. The resort is water locked, so leaving the resort is possible but a production. If you want an affordable dive vacation where you can easily get in 22-26 dives in a week...then you've found your place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having been to Coco View multiple times, I have to say that it just keeps getting better. My dive buddy this time was a new diver and I was just amazed at how everyone looked out for her--from the other divers to Jesse, our Divemaster, to the dock staff. Thanks to Hurricane Ernesto passing by, the water was rough with lots of whitecaps and the vis was not as good as it usually is. But that only made for more shore diving, which I enjoy a great deal. We saw, among other sea life, an octopus on a night dive, lobsters, scorpionfish and the barracuda that was hanging out under the platform. Marys Place was an oustanding dive and my new diver buddy had a great time there, as she did on every dive. It was truely refreshing to see the oceans wonders through the eyes of a beginner. I had the opportunity to spend some time with Doc, who is one of the interesting people I know. The staff goes out of their way to accomodate you and make you feel at home. Whether you are an experienced diver or a novice, I can't recommend Coco View enough and can't wait to go "Home" again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the bungalows and the cabanas. Have not had a problem with any of the rooms. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CoCo View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CoCo View Resort

Also Known As:
Coco View Hotel Roatan
Coco View Hotel
Coco View Roatan
CoCo View Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands
Address: French Harbour, Roatan | Bay Islands, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CoCo View Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CoCo View dive and snorkel resort on Roatan is perfectly situated for the ocean lover - tucked behind extensive shallow coral formations and spectacular open water drop-offs. 29 air-conditioned over-water bungalows, over-water cabanas, and oceanfront rooms. Oceanfront clubhouse with dining areas, briefing room and game room, free wireless internet, PADI 5Star dive shop, 50 foot dive / snorkel boats, retail boutique and a private cay for picnics, barbecues, and entertainment. Spectacular snorkeling and scuba diving is right out the front door and accessible 24 hours a day. Access to the resort is by short boat ride from the main road. Meals are included with all CoCo View packages. All Roatan attractions are easily accessible. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CoCo View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added CoCo View Resort to your Saves list