We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cabins. Understaffed place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Bay Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palmetto Bay Plantation to your Saves list
Palmetto Bay Plantation
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Ms Vecinal, Palmetto Bay, Crawfish Rock, IB3100, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice cabins. Understaffed place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The cabins in this place are really nice, some even have a private pool, they should be cleaned up more often though, we found ours with a bat inside and cockroaches in the kitchen counter + ghecko poop near the beds. The administration needs to hire more personnel. The beach looks awful and is plagued with 'seaflies'. The food choices were really poor. To make the best out of the trip, we ended up renting a car driving all the way to west bay where they have great beaches and good food.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    78
    29
    21
    31
See reviews for
114
151
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I held our wedding in Roatan on West End beach in February 2012. We rented houses on West End for our family and friends - so we decided to just do our wedding on the beach next to the houses. Since we picked our location and were not staying at a resort - we didn't know where to start planning!

The company we rented the houses from suggested Cecilia Mendez Chamer - the wedding planner at Palmetto Bay Plantation, since she does weddings on other parts of the island as well. I contacted Cecilia and she responded immedately, agreed to help us (on pretty short notice) and started planning our special day! I was so relieved to have her in charge! Our wedding was pretty low-key and we didn't want to spend a lot of money but she got us a TON of bang for our buck!

I sent her a long list of items I wanted to for the wedding and she made all of my dreams come true! She immediately started sending back information and lots of pictures so I would know as many details as possible. Cecilia was amazingly fast with her responses to my emails and took care of everything I needed. I felt totally at east with the planning process - even though I'd never been to Roatan and had never even spoken to her on the phone before we arrived on the island! A couple of her staff members met us when we arrived in Roatan and helped us figure out the details of where everything would take place. On the day of the wedding we we completely stress free - she arranged for someone to come to the house to do my hair, delivered the cake and champagne I'd requested to the vistas and everything was on time. I watched my wedding set up taking place from the balcony of our house while I got ready!

We walked over to our ceremony,(which was perfectly timed with the sunset since Cecilia had our meeting the day before at the exact time when the wedding would happen so we could gauge how the sunset would look for our pictures). We completed our ceremony and then walked back to the houses - no clean up - so stress free! - and our families enjoyed that a lot! The only bad thing about the wedding was that since we chose to have it on a public beach, there was quite a bit of road noise and other people around, but Cecilia had given me very fair warning of these things when we chose our site. We decided to do it there anyway and knew there would be some peripheral noise. We were so happy to be getting married that it didn't matter to us!

After the ceremony Cecilia had set up a wonderful dinner at a local restaurant (Besos) and we arrived to find a special table decorated for us and our family - added bonus! The dinner was romantic and the food was great so it was a great suggestion from Cecilia as well.

Overall, I would definitely recommend Cecilia as a wedding planner to anyone who would like to have their wedding in Roatan. The photographer she recommeded, Darren with Roatan Photography, did an AMAZING job also. We were super impressed with his work and we adore our pictures! They turned out so beautifully!!! We had a great experience and are so grateful to Cecilia for all her hard work and careful planning. Thanks Cecilia!! We hope to visit Roatan again very soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tegusigalpa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

fantastic would be the best way to express our stay at palmetto. the staff go out the way to make your stay completely satisfying . my family and I am very pleased to say that we had best vacation ever . Thanks to ll the staff at Palmetto

Room Tip: cabaña on the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A piece of paradise!!! The resort and staff serve personalized attention with great attention to detail and customer service. You get to know all the staff by name and cannot express how thoughful, genuine and special they all are. (you all were great!) Angie, Melissa, Erick, Mario, Ivan the Chef and entire staff make your stay extra special. The Chef - AWESOME!! The anniversary dinner FANTASTIC!!! Some of the best dinners I have ever had. KUDOS!! The house we stayed at was wonderful (A6). We where able to rent a vehicle and plan any and all activities right there on site. We have been to Roatan a few times and have always stayed more towards West Bay / West End. Palmetto has outshined all the rest. I would highly recommend you consider this a place to stay if your planning a trip to Roatan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wow what a great experience my wife and I had at Palmetto Bay Plantation and on the island of Roatan! We have traveled extensively in the Western and Southern Caribbean and the time we had a Palmetto Bay may have been our best vacation every. Granted the pool and beach are not the tops in the region but the people at this resort more than make up for the minor inconvenience of having a small pool and a weedy beach. Yeah Roatan has bugs and I highly recommend you take precautions as we are still itchy but this place is worth it! Just use lots of spray and heed their warnings. Also, the resort will arrange transport for you anywhere you want to go on the island. We swam with dolphins, visited French Key, West End and West Bay all arranged by the staff at Palmetto.
I highly recommend the resort for special occasions. We had the place nearly to ourselves, got to know the friendly staff and other guest. I can't express enough how wonderful they are. We happen to be at the resort over my birthday and Erick made us a special meal on the beach and baked me a birthday cake without us even asking for that type of service. He also arranged a bonfire on the beach and a heart in the sand for my wife and my 25th anniversary that was unexpected. We were on the all-inclusive and both the food and the drinks were very very good. Lobster and shrimp dishes were both good as was the fish and chicken. Breakfast was also wonderful although I’m not a huge fan of the coffee here.
We also used Subway divers who office at the resort and were VERY pleased with the instruction we were given on our first two dives of our lives (they will not be our last). Darren and co were wonderful and the instruction couldn't have been better. What the resort may lack in beach it MORE than makes up for in reef less than 100 yards off that beach. I've never seen a healthier reef and we have snorkeled all over the Caribbean and Hawaii.
Bottom line...what a trip...from Cecilia to Erick the entire staff made our stay a great experience. It's a big world and I rarely go somewhere twice but this is a resort we might just have to get a second visit from my family.

Room Tip: Scuba is wonderful off this resort ...saw turtles, moray eels, tons of tiny and large reef life all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed @ Palmetto for our honeymoon and it was all we could ever imagine a honeymoon to be and more! We wanted to stay somewhere that was different and unique for our honeymoon not at the typical hotel atmosphere which we usually would stay and Palmetto Bay definitely had that unique atmosphere we were seeking! Cecilia was very accommodating and attentive to all our needs and her staff was excellent and very friendly! We stayed in Casa Sunburst and we had our own pool which was very private and we had beautiful views of the ocean. The pool was also very clean. They set up a private candlelight dinner for us on the beach with our own bonfire one night which was awesome! Another night we had a candlelight dinner on the palapa which was also very romantic. We did lots of activities during our stay outside of the resort such as ziplining and snorkeling and they set up transportation for us anytime we wanted to explore the west end or west bay. We had such an amazing time on our honeymoon that we are going back next year for our 1st anniversary! We might try out the other Villa coconut grove this time! ;)
I would HIGHLY recommend this resort for anyone looking for a more private personal and rustic feel.
<3 Karla & Evan :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Please disregard any bad reviews...your vacation is what YOU make it. Yes, there were a few things that went wrong, but nothing so bad that it couldn't be fixed. Bug bites, wear some bug repellent. Out of soda for a few hours, drink something else. As i said above your vacation is what you make it.

Onto my review... Palmetto Bay Plantation is a piece of paradise that you will not want to miss. It is a smallish resort with very personalized attention. There were maybe 15-20 guests the entire time we were there. We knew all of the staff by name and they knew us.(Everyone there, you were great!) Want something different from the menu? Ask away, they will accomodate you if they can. Whatever you desire they will bend over backwards to get you. Emily the resort manager was such a sweet and wonderful person. I sat with her and the night manager, Melissa, many nights rocking away chit chatting about our lives. Yes, it was that kind of resort. The food was phenominal and the chef to die for. Her creations were wonderful each and every night! The dive shop on sight, I cannot say enough good things about. I reviewed them too. Check it out: Subway watersports. Overall our week was fabulaous and I can't wait to return :)

PS- They even made us lunch to take with us when we left to go home. Now that is great treatment!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmetto Bay Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Bay Plantation

Address: Carretera Ms Vecinal, Palmetto Bay, Crawfish Rock, IB3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmetto Bay Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmetto Bay Plantation is a natural paradise situated on a sparkling bay, surrounded by a coral reef. Pristine beaches friendly faces and rhythm that allow you to appreciate the natural beauty are your constant companions. From our white sand beach, you can walk for miles and not encounter "modern civilization". See why so many people have chosen to make Palmetto Bay Plantation their vacation destination and why seven major television shows have filmed programs at our resort including "Temptation Island" on Fox TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Palmetto Bay Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Bay Plantation Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Bay Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.