We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant on Roatan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Boutique Restaurant

Frangipani Boutique Restaurant
Mayoka Lodge | Sandy Bay Road, 00000, Honduras (Formerly Frangipani)
+504 9796-1760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 153 Restaurants in Roatan
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Private Dining
Description: Intimate Italian boutique Restaurant with private Chef at Mayoka Lodge on Roatan. Very limited sitting. Advanced reservation required at least 24 hours before.
Oxford, MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on Roatan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

By far the best restaurant that we tried on Roatan! We stayed at Las Verandas, loved it, but wanted to venture out for dinner. I was blown away by how good it was! Food on Roatan was good, not great, for the most part - but we had GREAT food at Frangipani.

The calamari appetizer was awesome, and all of the fish specials that we tried were perfect (oh, yeah - we ended up going to dinner twice:).

I did not think the atmosphere was pretentious at all - in fact, I thought it was super warm and inviting, like dining at a friend's house. The bartender was a sweetie - talked to us for an hour while we waited on our table (we arrived 2hrs early for cocktail hour - they graciously agreed to seat us early).

Finally, the desserts were incredible. The kitchen is open-air, and the smell of those cookies, ah! Still dreaming. You should go to this place for sure if you visit Roatan and want a great meal in a super inviting setting! Yes, it is expensive, but it's vacation and it's worth it! They put time, effort, and the best ingredients they can find into their food and the overall dining experience! it is obvious the entire staff cares a great deal about what they are doing!

Thanks guys!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food with a great atmosphere and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

While staying at Mayoka Lodge for our honeymoon last week we ate at Frangipani twice. While more expensive than some on the island, the food and service are well worth it here.

Both sushi menu and regular menu had flavors that were unique and incredibly delicious. I recommend the Sunshine Roll as it had the right amount of heat.

Each night we sat on the uncovered deck which gave us a great view of the stars and we could hear the waves crashing in the background. The staff was helpful in explaining dishes and recommending items.

On sushi night Chef Ben came out to see how we liked the rolls and Friday he prepared a delicious appetizer of fish we'd caught on our morning fishing trip! Ben delivered it to our table himself and gave us an explanation of what he'd created. He had great energy and obviously loves what he does.

The restaurant is intimate and relaxed - I suggest showing up a bit early for reservations to grab a drink at the bar and take some time to watch the Chef work in their open kitchen.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OK but not outstanding.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We arrived and were expecting the best.
Facilities are ok in a pretentious way.
Flower arrangements were beautiful.
Our table was not ready, even though there were only three other tables occupied.
Ordered a beer from the bar.
It was frozen and exploded when our server opened it.
The freezer, it was stored in, was almost solid ice.
Server wiped the bottle and gave what remained to us without offering a glass.
After 20 minutes, out table was ready.

Menu was huge with paragraphs about each item.
When asked questions, our server had to go and ask someone for the answers.
It seemed the other three tables were repeat diners as they called servers by name.
Gushing about the extraordinary food as it was served..
My dining companion was a native Honduran.
We overheard a rather plump guest comment on that fact.
We felt like intruders in a very snobbish private club.

To top off the evening, my rack of lamb turned out to be a filet of beef.
Not wanting to get the Honduran server fired, I ate a mediocre piece of beef.

If you like gushing, pretentious people, this is the place for you.
Rotan has MUCH better food in local venues!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayokaLodge, General Manager at Frangipani Boutique Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Frangipani restaurant. We are sorry your experience here was not as expected. Regarding your table not being ready, please remember you arrived 40 minutes prior to your reservation thus were guided to the bar until your table was ready. Though you saw open tables, they were reserved for other arriving guests. The reason we space reservations is to ensure the best possible service with minimal waiting. We would like to explain that your server was a substitute as our regular server was called away on a personal emergency thus the lack of complete knowledge of the menu and possibly the mistake on your order. We only can wish that you pointed out the mistake at the time so we could have rectified the situation immediately. We try very hard to promote a laid back luxury here at the restaurant and welcome reservations from anyone who calls. Obviously, we cannot control comments from other guests and apologize if any offense was taken on your part.. We hope that you will consider us again for your dining pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Frangipani- An Unexpected Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Fantastic restaurant at the Mayoka Lodge. Chef Ben creates his masterpieces in an open kitchen. Specials are delicious and change nightly. A variety of choices keeps it entertaining. Sushi night on Wed is amazing. (Having lived in Japan for several years we are very picky about our sushi!) Just another reason to stay at the Mayoka Lodge!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“5 Star Restaurant in Roatan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Amazing views, incredible food, and first class service. They only take 30 reservations a night. Do not miss this gem in Roatan. Be warned, if you go you will regret not staying on one of the 5 rooms on their property. See my review on Mayoka Lodge for more details.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frangipani Boutique Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Frangipani Boutique Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Boutique Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.