We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frangipani Boutique Restaurant

Frangipani Boutique Restaurant
Mayoka Lodge | Sandy Bay Road, 00000, Honduras (Formerly Frangipani)
+504 9796-1760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 167 Restaurants in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Intimate Italian boutique Restaurant with private Chef at Mayoka Lodge on Roatan. Very limited sitting. Advanced reservation required at least 24 hours before.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Mayoka Lodge and ate at the Frangipani Restaurant there three times that week- loved it- definitely the best restaurant we experienced on Roatan.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    7
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best dinner we ate on Roatan!!! during our two week stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We recently spent two weeks on Roatan (one week at West Bay Beach and one week at Sandy Bay) and ate out everyday. For the last part of our stay (at Sandy Bay) we were told by Dave our property manager to eat at this restaurant and boy was it great! I called to make a reservation and was told it was sushi night and both my husband and I are not fans, so the manager phoned me back and told me the specials for the night besides Sushi were chicken or filet mignon. We both selected the filet mignon. My husband loved the wusabi potatoes that came with it. For me it was a bit too strong, but the filet mignon was outstanding. The homemade caramel cheescake after melted in our mouths and just topped this meal off perfect. It was the best meal we ate on the island! The view and ambiance of the restaurant was very memorable. My only complaint would be the long, overflowing tablecloths seemed to hold small bugs (sand fleas?) that were bitting us endlessly towards the end of our meal while it was getting dark. We would of gone back to this restaurant but unfortunately they were closed for a few days for kitchen renovations, closed Sunday and we left Monday. I would highly recommend this restaurant while staying in Roatan! Spray before you go and you should be ok!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite dinner on the Sunset Deck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were fortunate to celebrate Valentine's Day with a beautiful dinner on the sunset deck. The five course meal was accompanied by wine and champagne and was truly outstanding. We feel Chef Ben really outdid himself. The service offered by Terry and his team was friendly and personal. We definitely will be back on our next visit to the island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful change of pace from West Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This restaurant has wonderful food, friendly service and is a welcome change to the frantic pace of West Bay. The atmosphere and view are to die for! Only complaint is the wine list is mediocre at best. But I am told that they are trying to improve it, if not bring your own bottle (wish someone had suggested that to us). Otherwise, we will return on our next trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had dinner here three times during our stay in Roatan, and every meal was outstanding. I was pleasantly surprised at the fresh ingredients and quality food, wine, and service at a place as remote as Honduras. This place is comparable to any big-city restaurant anywhere in the world. The sushi was fantastic, and you cannot ask for a better views of the ocean. By far our best dining experience on the island. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frangipani Boutique Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Frangipani Boutique Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangipani Boutique Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.