We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOLPHIN SWIM (not encounter) - AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Encounter

Dolphin Encounter
1 Sandy Bay | At Anthony's Key Resort, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 178 Activities in Roatan
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Calgary AB Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“DOLPHIN SWIM (not encounter) - AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This review applies to the Dolphin Swim - the fee is for the Dolphin Encounter + a 30 min snorkel with the dolphins.

Simply put - Amazing, amazing, amazing.

The dolphin encounter is nice, but nothing to write home about. You do get up close and personal, however the interaction was limited to a few petting sessions and that was all. Very informative, fun to see the dolphins perform their tricks up close... but for the money not worth it.

The next 30 minutes of snorkelling with the dolphins was nothing short of amazing. There were 3 of us plus a trainer, and lots and lots of interaction. We had up to 7 dolphins with us at any one time, each one or pair interacting with each individual participant. Lots of opportunity to touch, play and really have some fun with the dolphins. Follow the instructors recommendation on the seaweed front - dive down and grab some, the dolphins will play catch with you for the full encounter.

It was better than expected - an activity we would do again in a heartbeat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    4
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dolphin Encounter and Snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was fantastic. My wife and I enjoyed interacting with the trainers and dolphins. One of the only encounters that are not held in a concrete pin. This was in a lagoon and they had a great school of dolphins. After touching and rubbing and watching them do tricks, we got to snorkel with them. Play with the dolphins with sea grass and touch them while they swim around.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“swim and snorkel with the dolphins!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we booked this excursion through carnival (2 couples)l. we had a bus of about 15 people (there were 2 buses). once we got there we took a short boat ride to the dolphins. we were divided into groups of 10 and we went into the water and had to line up in a line shoulder to shoulder. our first dolphin was Cortez. he swam away and didn't come back. then we got Polly. she was another young dolphin who loved the belly rubs. she didn't do as many tricks as her trainer wanted but Polly was a little nervous because another dolphin (Mr French) kept chasing her. one time she came back with bad scratches. poor girl! then we put on our snorkel gear and got to swim with the dolphins for about 30 minutes. after the excursion you are able to buy the pictures when you pose with the dolphins. I knew the resort did this so I was prepared. It was $50 for a couple. I was actually expecting to pay more. since we did the swim and snorkel, we got to use our camera for the first part. Loved the dolphins!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My new best friend is a dolphin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a wonderful experience my grandkids had with the dolphins. A once in a lifetime event, and it was all made possible by the great staff and facilities and dolphins at Anthony Key Resort. These folks are so caring with the animals, and they not only entertain, but they educate. Our grandkids touched, petted, and kissed the dolphins. A super experience on the paradise island of Roatan.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Kiss the Dolphin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We all had fun touching the Dolphins, Swimming with them and have photos taken. Too bad my camera broke

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Encounter also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Dolphin Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Encounter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.